X

DmC First Look Preview

Posted: September 29, 2010
DmC First Look Preview
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/48974/dmc-first-look-preview/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/251811_LGST/xp20100929_firstlookdmc_pre.jpg
Video_48974
Capcom made a splash at TGS announcing Ninja Theory's coming Devil May Cry reboot DmC, and here Abbie Heppe sits with Prod. Alex Jones and Creative Dir. Tameem Antoniades to talk over Dante's new look, origins storyline, and combat and boss battles.

Comments are Closed

  • killerwaffles93

    its not the fact that he looks different its the fact that he looks too different I mean he is so different how is he supposed to be dante when he couldnt pass off as dantes relative when I look at him I dont say hay its a younger dante instead I say who the hell are you use your brains people let capcom takeover.

    Posted: October 4, 2010 8:34 AM
    killerwaffles93
  • th1s_dud3

    this game looks so &%$^ bad that its making Jesus cry, turned my friend gay and my eyes bleed and got me wondering how Capcom ever allowed this to happen in the first place

    Posted: October 3, 2010 4:46 PM
    th1s_dud3
  • DanteLuver

    I will forever hate this game, Dante's not even Dante anymore, just an emo phyco pathic teenager who looks like a poles been shoved up his ass.

    Posted: October 3, 2010 1:30 PM
    DanteLuver
  • 1234____

    Look, the problem isn't what he looks like, per se. It's that they are trying to change what is supposed to be a well established brand, seemingly just because they can. I mean, jesus, there was a full anime series based on this game. This isn't just 4 games(which is a lot) that people think are being retconned with a *ty new look. It's 4 games, a tv show, and a *ing ton of preexisting merchandising. The reaction is utterly unsurprising to me even not having played any of these games. This might sound overly dramatic, but this is like Coca Cola changing their formula and calling it "New Coke." All they did was make it slightly sweeter, but the people who loved Coca Cola freaked right the * out.

    (all *'s can be replaced with your choice of four-letter word.)

    Posted: October 3, 2010 12:13 AM
    1234____
  • 1234____

    the guy in the leotard talking about what is and isn't cool is amusing

    Posted: October 2, 2010 11:35 PM
    1234____
  • ShdwFox

    correction: I wouldn't say Danate's personality so much as his overall character in general.

    Posted: October 2, 2010 10:10 PM
    ShdwFox
  • ShdwFox

    @ibetheelmo - First, they aren't showing Danate "growing up" or anything like that. They are completely "rebooting" the series. Basically meaning they are taking this series back to square one and changing the entire image. The implications are various. Aside from the new look, he'll probably have a new background story to go with it. If this -was- a story about him in his teens; then it would basically be DMC3 all over again.

    I'm not sure if I agree that all previous DMC games were amazing. DMC1 and DMC3 are generally received as excellent games. While DMC4 is seen as an average game. But DMC2 on the other hand, is accepted as the worse of the series. Which, by the way, is largely due in part to the fact that they altered Danate's character so much from DMC1. Does this happen to sound familiar?

    Finally, one of the things that made the DMC series great was Danate's unique and badass personality. If you screw that up, your loosing a lot of possible entertainment value. Danate isn't a silent protagonist like Mario or Link. You can alter those characters without dramatically affecting the rest of game (like Link in Zelda: The Wind Waker). While I'm not going to completely dismiss this game simply because they altered his look. But I will certainly wait for the review.

    Posted: October 2, 2010 10:06 PM
    ShdwFox
  • ibetheelmo

    What is with everyone complaining about how 'awful' this game will be and how much of 'idiots' the creators are for simply showing what the character looked like when a teen. It's THEIR game. and their previous entries were amazing! You all are defending their previous games yet are throwing this one out to the dogs simply because of the character model? What if this game has a revolutionary story, or game changing game play? Have faith in the damn creators! They've done amazing before, give them a chance to prove themselves! Don't shoot them down off of one simple thing. GROW UP!

    Posted: October 2, 2010 9:29 PM
    ibetheelmo
  • maniacsolstice

    _|_ (-.-) _|_ to whoever chose his new looks

    Posted: October 2, 2010 7:16 PM
  • RedDevilKing

    I'm a huge DMC fan and I'm willing to give the new look a chance as long as the gameplay and Dante's smart mouth attitude are in tact and hopefully there will be some unlockable costumes to change Dante back into one of his previous outfits from the orginal to DMC 4

    Posted: October 2, 2010 4:53 PM
    RedDevilKing
  • Dapunkedrob

    It Looks Good Graphic wise, and mybe a back drop on how vergil and Dante Faught 2 years before DMC3.... I rather continue the story first then back to prequals The one thing that bothers me the most Why Neros Coat " I know its not but It Looks Like it"

    Posted: October 2, 2010 2:57 PM
  • Digimortal87

    You can't completely change the way a main character looks and still keep the same name!!!!!! It's like a band changing the lead singer and keeping the same name.

    Posted: October 2, 2010 2:01 PM
  • Digimortal87

    Screw this I'm way too pissed to refrain from using profanity in my post. FAIL!!!! This guy has no idea what's "cool" or not, look at what he's wearing. Don't screw with one of the coolest characters I've ever seen.. You fail Tameen, go jump off a bridge...

    Posted: October 2, 2010 1:58 PM
  • Digimortal87

    Screw this, I'm too pissed to refrain from using profanity in my post so all I'm going to say is, FAIL!

    Posted: October 2, 2010 1:54 PM
  • osamaismyhomeboy

    Why is the "M" lowercase?

    Posted: October 1, 2010 6:33 PM
    osamaismyhomeboy
  • AvaricE_6390

    If this is a Prequel like their saying I'm not interested Dante looks like a meth addict ontop of which smokes now? Yes smoking is so totally cool in 2010 opposed to fact first 3 Devil May Cry's were Amazing without constant swearing or the sterotypical "Cool Guy" persona Seems like your abusing that now, yeah your saying this is a younger Dante but still doesn't make up for your killing the character. Only way your gonna get most of us Hardcore fans to be Okay with this Excuse for Devil May Cry is if throughout the game He takes on more of the traits of the Original Dante (White Hair, Long Leather Coat(Red), His Sword "Rebellion") Bringing those back will bring alot of the Negativity away from the game. Another thing is that Weapon from the Trailer at TGS Looks like an excuse to make up for poor Combat or lack of Weapons within the game to have it go from a Sword to a Lance/Spear to a Whip. Well I'm gonna stop my ranting on my opinion to this game But Keep us up to date with trailers reguarding the game and Pray this game won't Destroy the series like Dynasty Warriors does to itself.

    Posted: October 1, 2010 4:56 PM
    AvaricE_6390
  • Studski_23

    These guys are 100% the biggest morons in gaming I have ever seen. They have no idea on what has made this game nor care to use any of it to help make it. I really think that if we complain enough, they will change the game. They would have been way better off with a Nero or Vergil origin story. And to the quote "what was cool isn't cool anymore" is complete b/s.

    Posted: October 1, 2010 12:15 PM
    Studski_23
  • thesecks

    The way Dante looks makes me sad. I love DMC. My son's name is Dante for Christ's sake. They took him from the only bad ass albino to a malnourished emo with a 40 year old lesbian's hair cut :(.

    Posted: October 1, 2010 11:48 AM
    thesecks
  • Dresayda

    he looks awesomely ROCKER kool, its not much of a change he was always slim, just more muscular.

    Posted: October 1, 2010 9:47 AM
  • vaajtswv

    Ninja Theory's forum
    http://www.ninja theory.com/forums/

    Capcom's forum
    http://www.cap com-unity.com/go/network/forum

    Love the change or not, those should be better places to voice your opinion. Have fun. :)

    Posted: October 1, 2010 9:41 AM
    vaajtswv
AdChoices