X

Castlevania: Lords of Shadow Review

Posted: September 28, 2010
Castlevania: Lords of Shadow Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/48948/castlevania-lords-of-shadow-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/251673_LGST/xp20100928_castlevanialordshad_rev.jpg
Video_48948
Attempts at Castlevania 3-D have yet to deliver, but here developer Hideo Kojima thinks he's cracked it with hero Gabriel Belmont and an End of Days storyline, and Kevin Pereira lets you know if he's correct in this Castlevania: Lords of Shadow review.

Comments are Closed

  • aaronGN

    Lords of Shadow is NOT a God of War rip-off.
    If you know anything about gaming you'd know that.

    I've noticed all the stupid GOW comparisons.

    If you've played the old CV games, before IGA ran Metroid-Vania into the ground, you'd know that usually there's a ton of stuff outside the castle before getting into the castle portion of the game.

    Also, Before Symphony of the Night, CV heroes used to be big burly barbarians with chain whips.
    So this game is friggin perfect.

    People who keep calling games GOW ripoffs, obviously fail to see that GOW rips off so many games it's not even funny.

    This new CV game plays exactly like it should.
    It's a combination of all of the best parts of the early CV games (before SoTN) put into 3D.
    For God's sake man! It's practically Castlevania II: Simon's Quest in full 3D, as far as gaming goes.

    Castlevania was doing the BADASS whip-chain attacking, giant monster slaying TWO DECADES before God of War was even thought of.

    Besides, if you actually THINK about it, this game has more smilarity to Uncharted, Devil May Cry, and Shadow of Collossus than God of War.

    People need to educate themselves before they speak.

    This CV is one of the best CV games in a long long time.

    Posted: October 14, 2010 8:02 AM
    aaronGN
  • Spybreak

    Tell you the truth that's higher than I thought a 3D Castlevania game would get. Nice

    Posted: September 30, 2010 10:43 AM
    Spybreak
  • Zerby

    In the original Castlevania before SotN you didn't start in the castle either. Remember that this is kinda of a re-imagination of Castlevania 4 which was one of those games that didn't start in the castle. They're just going back to their roots.

    Posted: September 30, 2010 4:09 AM
    Zerby
  • gantz-love

    This is awesome cant wait to get my hands on it. GOW was not the first action game ever.Sure I liked the fist ones story oh the drama but the other two didnt live up to the story set in it. The gameplay in GOW 1 was awesome but the other two only changed it a bit. The best thing about GOW was Kratos and if he is dead whats the point of another GOW game? Aleast castlevania is different even if it plays like GOW uncharted devil may cry.It is a different story and setting and to me that is what drives a game. Oh yeah Kratos is not dead is he? Every game is a clone in some way right?

    Posted: September 29, 2010 10:55 PM
  • lowkevmic

    Wait just one flipping minute here. When the review for Dante's inferno came out, they ripped that game a new one for taking elements from God of War. But Castlevania get praised for it?? Just because a game has large open maps, a signature weapon, stylish combo system, and upgradable weapons and powers, does not mean it's a God of War ripoff. Hello?? Has anyone heard of Devil May Cry or even the Onimusha series?? Those games came out 4 years before the first God of War, and all of those elements was in DMC before we even knew who Kratos was. I'm finding it a little hard to take stock in the reviews anymore, when one game is punished for the same offense another game is praised for. Not to mention how every single action adventure game is compared to God of War! Every FPS isn't constantly compared to COD or Halo. Every RPG isn't compared to Final Fantasy. Every racing game isn't compared to Gran Turismo. So why does G4 constantly compare every action adventure game to God of War??

    But even with that being said, I'm happy that this game was reviewed harshly because of that, and it still walked away with a 4/5. This and Vanquish are the two games I'm looking foward to buying in October!!

    Posted: September 29, 2010 9:35 AM
    lowkevmic
  • verge109

    Excellent review.
    It's good to see that Castlevania has succeded despite the similarities to other tittles, but that was not a surprise seing that all hack n slash tittles have borrowed from, let's say, Devil May Cry!
    The point is that Castlevania is a really fun and full of diversity game when it comes to fighting, plattaforming and puzzle solving, which are the core elements which stablished this tittle.
    I just don't agree with kevin when he says that it doesn't feel like a Castlevania tittle for not putting you in claustrophobic environments such as castles.
    One may argue that those castles were huge environments open to exploration, but the question is, How would they represent in a such rich and diversified way the Castlevania universe if they had to stick to the same old environments from those Castley.
    Please don't get me wrong, but this a reboot for the series and I believe that when peolpe start to look at things in a more open-mind way, this new Castlevania will start to feel more like a Castlevania game.

    Posted: September 29, 2010 6:50 AM
    verge109
  • 2ply

    That's better news than expected. It may be a clone mechanic-wise and pretty generic story-wise, but hey looks fun and fluid enough for me.

    Posted: September 28, 2010 11:54 PM
    2ply
  • buri_03

    Strange, Hideo Kojima didn't make this game, but who needs proper references.

    Posted: September 28, 2010 10:07 PM
    buri_03
  • Lawrence123

    As much as I like Adam , Kevin is my favorite at G4

    Posted: September 28, 2010 5:46 PM
    Lawrence123
  • Jiofreed

    Nice puns with the god of War
    but yeah if you play Castlevaina 2 & 3 and all the 3D titles you start outside the castle so that is kinda of a bogus complaint

    Posted: September 28, 2010 5:26 PM
    Jiofreed
  • tylerstravis

    Nice! Kevin rocking a review!

    Posted: September 28, 2010 4:35 PM
    tylerstravis
AdChoices