X

New iPod Nano Review

Posted: September 10, 2010
New iPod Nano Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/48574/new-ipod-nano-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/250470_LGST/as20100909_gadgetpron.jpg
Video_48574

The new iPod Nano is now available in stores, but are the prices worth the new features? Kevin Pereira and Alison Haislip take a look at the portable medial player, like its new multi-touch screen, built-in FM radio and more.

What You Need To know

  • It measure 1.5" across and about as thin as an iPod Touch.
  • It weighs under an ounce.
  • It has a 1.5" multi-touch screen but is not too small to use.
  • It works like an iPhone with swiping and tapping, and you can rotate the screen.
  • Since there's no home button, you just swipe right or tap and hold to go back.
  • One minor gripe is when you're swiping through home screens, it doesn’t cycle around so you have to swipe back and forth a lot.
  • They've kept a lot of features like FM radio, pedometer, Nike Plus capability and photo viewer, which work just as well on a device half the size of the original.
  • The FM radio is cool, especially because you can still pause it for up to 15 minutes or rewind to hear what you've missed.
  • The fitness apps like the pedometer, Nike Plus and the stop watch all work like they should.
  • Starting and stopping timers might get a little wonky since it's so small.
  • Looking at photos may seem useless since it's on such a tiny screen, but the resolution isn't bad.
  • There is no pinch and zoom on photos.
  • The sound quality is good but you should probably buy better ear buds.
  • They took away some features, like video camera, mic, speaker, watching videos, calendar, games or alarm clock.

Price

  • 8 GB for $150
  • 16 GB for $180

Rating

  • 4 Seals of Approval out of 5 (How do we rate gadgets?)
  • Even though they've taken away a lot of features and kept the price high, the design and performance are some of the best for a device this size.

Want something reviewed on Gadget Pr0n? Email us your suggestions to gadgetpron@g4tv.com.

Interested in the new iPod Touch? Check out our review here!

...

Comments are Closed

  • sketchykev

    So, I purchased this for my wife, and we found one glaring thing missing from the review. This model of the ipod nano does not shut off. no matter what you do. I do not know if this is a standard feature on the touchscreen ipods but it is assinine.

    Posted: October 5, 2010 4:27 PM
    sketchykev
  • emutke11

    i think you guys are missing the big picture. WHo cares if it doesn't have video..anyone who watches video on there phones or ipods needs to get a life anyway. I use my ipod to listen to music. What this ipod really does is position apple to replace the ipod shuffle (which is the worst design i have ever seen). My girlfriend bought this nano for me and i can't even charge it. It already broke. Not to mention itunes ten doesn't work either. I tried downloading it on three different computers and still nothing. Apple is coming out with more and more terrible products and im sick and tired of having to buy accessories for something every time. I am pretty sure Im done with apple.

    Posted: September 30, 2010 12:01 PM
    emutke11
  • CancerousStarlight

    that last comment was hilarious.

    Posted: September 15, 2010 10:54 PM
    CancerousStarlight
  • debasisg

    I have less respect now on Apple's Product Management team. How do they think that people will like a portable player that does not play the video podcasts? They are sp common these days. I would not play a regular video on such a device. But podcasts should surely play. They missed the whole point that even if people do not watch the video podcasts that often, taking the ability out of the device surely makes it a very unattractive buy.

    Posted: September 12, 2010 6:05 AM
    debasisg
  • Arm3g3don

    melts in Allison's mouth, not in her hand ;D

    Posted: September 12, 2010 3:57 AM
    Arm3g3don
  • Red1337

    @JustTheBeginning

    You obviously know nothing about Economics, spending helps the Economy and makes the country richer.

    Posted: September 11, 2010 6:44 PM
    Red1337
  • applebook

    PASS. The Sandisk Clip sounds noticeably better, is much cheaper, and does what it's supposed to, PLAY MUSIC!!!

    Posted: September 10, 2010 6:15 PM
    applebook
  • MaelStrom_

    "put it in her hands and she'll put it in her mouth" -Kevin
    "it's kinda true" - Alison

    so friggn' hawt

    Posted: September 10, 2010 3:27 PM
    MaelStrom_
  • J_Boolihans

    i would buy it if i ran to music. when you are running the smaller the device the better

    Posted: September 10, 2010 3:25 PM
    J_Boolihans
  • Blue_Vortex

    I would go with the zune hd instead of this, for 200 dollars you get 16 gigs and more features.

    Posted: September 10, 2010 3:14 PM
    Blue_Vortex
  • Silentwolfrt

    it kinda reminds me of the digital blue mini cube mp3 player, it had a radio and recordings and such but it was like a 1gb.

    Posted: September 10, 2010 2:35 PM
    Silentwolfrt
  • osamaismyhomeboy

    Can someone explain to me what the hell the purpose of MULTITOUCH on this thing is?

    Posted: September 10, 2010 2:27 PM
    osamaismyhomeboy
  • clubf00t

    this just proves how stupid Isheep r, this thing is usless but they'll sell 10 million of um. does Apple realy need to make tech this small...is this there main goal just to make crap smaller and smaller but make it cost more and more? YES, cuz smelly hipsters will buy it.

    Posted: September 10, 2010 1:51 PM
    clubf00t
  • Canid117

    I'm going to take a wild guess and say that Alison's parents don't watch the show anymore.

    Posted: September 10, 2010 1:03 PM
    Canid117
  • darkspectre

    I agree with you guys. The omission of video playback and the BARE ESSENTIALS of an ALARM CLOCK & calendar are a HUGE drawback for me. I'm just gonna wait for the next generation in 2011. I have a second generation iPod Touch anyway. This new iPod Nano is an upgraded & EXPENSIVE iPod shuffle with Multi-touch.

    Posted: September 10, 2010 12:49 PM
    darkspectre
  • JustTheBeginning

    What is the point of this? They have had mp3 watches for a few years now, big whoop. But wait it has a touch screen!!!! Gosh, no wonder America is so poor, we buy anything that is shiny no matter how useful it is.

    Posted: September 10, 2010 12:44 PM
    JustTheBeginning
  • Onikinou

    I'm not getting this. My older gen Nano has more features, bigger screen. touch screen is nice but I don't really think its necessary. Why didn't they make this the new Shuffle?

    Posted: September 10, 2010 12:33 PM
    Onikinou
  • avavysion

    @DestructiveHades I have to agree, if I'm going to spent over $100. I want it to be at least bigger then my hand.

    Posted: September 10, 2010 10:59 AM
    avavysion
  • DestructiveHades

    Why does everything new has to be freaking small?! Its so pointless to having an item you pay over 100 dollars to buy and you can lose it within the first day you own it... its pointless.

    Posted: September 10, 2010 10:55 AM
    DestructiveHades
  • Moye

    Videos are live!

    Posted: September 10, 2010 9:37 AM
    Moye
AdChoices