X

Metroid: Other M Review

Posted: August 27, 2010
Metroid: Other M Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/48319/metroid-other-m-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/190892_LGST/metroid-other-m.jpg
Video_48319
X-Play's Morgan Webb review the Nintendo Wii exclusive Metroid: Other M. Will the decision to characterize Samus as a mushy emo girl kill the game play? Find out in this X-Play Review of Metroid: Other M.

Comments are Closed

  • Joey H

    now im scared too get the game :(

    Posted: August 29, 2010 9:27 PM
    Joey+H
  • OMFGROFLMAO

    Average user score 5/5, feminist man wannabe 2/5

    /nuffsaid.

    Posted: August 29, 2010 8:12 PM
    OMFGROFLMAO
  • SteveReder

    Just because Morgon Web says this game is bad doesn't mean it is bad.
    X-play aren't the best reviewers!
    Play this game for yourself!
    Plenty of other reviewers liked this game.

    Posted: August 29, 2010 7:45 PM
    SteveReder
  • GHETOyeti

    i dont get this review. i haven't played the game but ign said everything u said was bad is good. Apparentley there's good orchestral pieces and the story is better than usual and the game is overall good. they didn't complain about the whole girl crying-sexism thing and they said it really dove into samus' personality abd it was good. they also said the story was good. i dont know who's right but i think there"s one thing you should know: this doesn't take place after Prime or Echoes or anything. it;s a direct sequel to the NES game super metroid. maybe that clears things up, i dont know who to believe anymore. ign gave it a 8.5 out of 10 so....

    Posted: August 29, 2010 2:37 PM
    GHETOyeti
  • DarthHerter

    i think the heavens up above that i don't own a wii. there is absolutely nothing on this console worth playing...and when ps move come out there will no reason to own a wii. they may as well stick to handhelds. you guys should have known this game would suck any way. Team Ninja is doing it should be the obvious reason. Team Ninja game are a gorgeous mess.

    Posted: August 29, 2010 11:54 AM
    DarthHerter
  • Kingrex32

    Everyone else gave this game better scores than G4. I would hope people who want to buy this game would watch a few more reviews before making up your mind about this game. G4 tends to be biased.

    Posted: August 29, 2010 9:14 AM
  • Man_Hands

    I was gonna buy my wii back for this...thanks for saving my money.

    Posted: August 29, 2010 6:08 AM
    Man_Hands
  • jokerprincevegeta

    The script should have been written better cuz samus sounds like an annoying little girl. and whats with the love story, nobody cares about that. but her dealing with her past that makes a good story. people say shes suppose to be strong and not be scared but even the strongest people have fear. and thats what they were going for, to show a personal side. but like i said the wording in the script should have been different. but i dont get it. people complain that they dont like games that look and feel the same as the previos game in a series, they want something different. but when developers decide to do something different people complain even more. if anything the wii's hardware held them back. they couldnt do everything they wanted to because the wii couldnt handle the graphics. nintendo needs a new console that can compete with xbox 360 or ps3. that combined with a wii remote would be great.

    Posted: August 29, 2010 5:47 AM
    jokerprincevegeta
  • Jinlakura

    shes freaking awesome in brawl, lawl!

    Posted: August 29, 2010 5:02 AM
  • Zua231

    Hah the person who is reviewing honestly if you knew team ninja is in it of course there gonna make samus look like a female not a freakin man. I've played the demo and so far i love the game, the switch between first person and third person is unbeleivbly smooth, its how you perceive the game and you are pointing out all of the flaws, the chozo's gave her that suit so of course theres a back up plan if she runs out of ammo, how do u get ammo and energy from killing monsters? that doesnt entirley make sense but no one criticzed any of the other metroid games for that. So seriously play the game and enjoy it for its good values, i for one cannot wait ive been a hardcore metroid fan for 10 years of my life super metroid being my favourite!

    Posted: August 29, 2010 1:27 AM
    Zua231
  • Pillowfire

    I am amazed at the feminist bias here. From what I can gather you guys are pissed because Samus showed emotions and....gasp....behaved submissively to a man. Oh God.

    Wait. She's a woman! She has a vagina! She is a human female and has the same instincts, desires, and emotions as any other woman. How dare someone attempt to portray this woman we know as Samus as a woman. How dare they not treat her just as any guy character.

    Frankly, I am disappointed with the storyline rant. If your problem is Samus being emotional, then have I got bad news for you about the nature of women. Women are driven by emotions, they derive their sense of being and self worth from external factors. Even an independent woman will base her reality off of external feedback. A man on the other hand is the anchor. He draws validation from within himself. It doesn't matter if someone else doesn't like him, or if people disagree with him, or if he is ugly, short, bald, has no money, is trying to find a job but can't. If he is on his path, external factors are irrelevant when it comes to his self-esteem. Therein lies the reason why Men and Women cannot be equal. We are different, not necessary better or worse. We need each other other. We are two polar opposites. Two parts of a whole. Ying and Yang. If Samus is portrayed as a woman in this game and this is your issue, then it's a ridiculous reason to take stars away. Who the hell cares if this game is not the same as the other metroid games. The first few metroid games were released on crappy outdated hardware with five pixels to represent Samus. There was no room for a compelling, immersive story back then. Now we finally have the hardware and software to realistically portray human beings, to capture the subtleties and nuances of our behavior, our emotions, our eyes and our
    feelings, and rather than being happy that Samus finally get's fleshed out, you guys are pissed off.

    I for one have always wanted to know more about the character of Samus. Every game in which she didn't speak and showed little of her emotions built anticipation for the moment when she would open up. If you build anticipation, you must at some point deliver, or else you will simply frustrate your audience. It's like telling a gripping narrative and then stopping just before the climax.

    In any case, I haven't played the game and am simply responding to the complaints voiced in the video. As far as game-play goes, I can't really comment, and you guys probably have legitimate concerns. But when you are in first person view the game looks a lot like Metroid Prime doesn't it? I guess they didn't want to make another Prime game, and so tried to build a hybrid. Even if the controls are not the best, if there is exploration, storyline, good graphics, and over-all good game play, then I personally can over look it and get immersed in the game.

    Posted: August 28, 2010 11:22 PM
    Pillowfire
  • OMFGROFLMAO

    @Morgan

    Are you fu$%ing kidding me? This review was completely biased simple because you're a woman and "wommie isn't baddy ass buuu buuu"? cry me a rive and STFU please...

    If this game were reviewed by a male staff member it would've got 4/5, just look at the fu$%ing average user rating FFS. You call yourself a reviewer and let your fu$%ing frustrations as a woman take over the review? I bet you wanted at some point of your life to be a man...

    AND YES I LIKE TO SEE SAMUS ASS, now go back to watch Tomb Raider movies

    Posted: August 28, 2010 10:20 PM
    OMFGROFLMAO
  • luro16

    1 minute, 50 seconds before you mention the gameplay in the review, nice too see the people who gave Final Fantasy 13 4 stars continue to not actually play the games they review.
    Keep up the faux feminism morgan, it almost hides how much you don't get paid for reviews.

    Posted: August 28, 2010 8:56 PM
    luro16
  • Catfish27

    Wouldn't five massive thumbs down have been worse than two?

    Posted: August 28, 2010 7:47 PM
    Catfish27
  • roymaster

    I haven't played the game yet and I doubt many other people have, but I would recommend checking out some of the other reviews of this before deciding it's horrible. Morgan does say some things about the gameplay that had me worried when I saw the trailer, but it seems like she's overreacting to the decision to give Samus a personality and everything. Running into a room and killing every living thing inside of it without a second thought does not automatically mean you're some kind of badass super-soldier who goes through life without emotionally reacting to anything, including the death of your parents, the death of several of your best friends, the death of the thing that's been your nemesis for years, and the death of something that befriended you and saw you as a mother figure.

    Posted: August 28, 2010 11:22 AM
    roymaster
  • Mooninite4life

    Wtf team ninja!!!!!!! you turned a great concept and blew it up! why did you make samus sooooo mooody? i hate the story, the gameplay looks good but of course failed, her vouce is so damn annoying and bad, i dont see ryu being so moody and sad! the only real good thing is how the crazy things she does to take out enemys, i swear link better not be like that too! team ninja SHAME ON YOU! hahah morgan was sooo pissed of in her review its funny( like adam sessler in his for turnament of champions) but i get what she is saying

    Posted: August 28, 2010 10:28 AM
  • CheddarBBQ

    WAAAAH.

    I was excited for this, and now apparently it's not even worth it. I guess that makes the reviewer an idiot.

    Boo freaking hoo.

    Posted: August 28, 2010 9:18 AM
    CheddarBBQ
  • Rute7

    why do they even let morgan review wii games?

    Posted: August 28, 2010 2:42 AM
    Rute7
  • godzy69

    Boba Fett is the most bad a$$ bounty hunter

    Posted: August 28, 2010 12:24 AM
    godzy69
  • SpaceMonkey1

    She doesen't use her powerups because that guy slaps her butt hard when she gets out of line. He's all like, "MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM MM, I got you good!!!", then he tells her to get back to work.

    Posted: August 27, 2010 10:55 PM
    SpaceMonkey1
AdChoices