X

Metroid: Other M Review

Posted: August 27, 2010
Metroid: Other M Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/48319/metroid-other-m-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/190892_LGST/metroid-other-m.jpg
Video_48319
X-Play's Morgan Webb review the Nintendo Wii exclusive Metroid: Other M. Will the decision to characterize Samus as a mushy emo girl kill the game play? Find out in this X-Play Review of Metroid: Other M.

Comments are Closed

  • sephiroth_592

    I really only found two problems with this game, 1. The music wasn't really as memorable as other Metroid games. and 2. it was a little too short. It could have been a lot longer. Other than that this game is great I give it a solid 4/5

    Posted: September 2, 2010 4:55 AM
    sephiroth_592
  • Dunbar

    I hate to say it, but here it comes...

    I couldn't finish this game. I really wanted to. I hoped against hope that the bad things I'd heard and read were blown out of proportion. That was not the case.

    First off, a few caveats:

    -I'm a guy
    -I'm on the wrong side of 25
    -I've been a huge fan of all the major Nintendo IP's since childhood, and a huge fan of Metroid in particular.

    That being said, I can't remember the last time I was this disappointed in a game (the end of Halo 3 comes to mind, but pales in comparison). The clunky perspective-switching and quirky control scheme I can forgive as a (failed) attempt at innovation. The bizarre sexist undertones of the character interactions are, frankly, creepy, and should disgust just about anyone with a modern concept of women's roles in society. I can't say I'm surprised (it's Team Ninja, after all), but I like to think the gaming community is better than this sort of thing, in spite of the near constant barrage of evidence to the contrary. The child-like voice and demeanor make a little sense in the flashbacks, but the present day unquestioning deference she shows is insulting to anyone who's come to respect this character at all. This woman is an independent military force, not to mention an effing PROFESSIONAL and should act like one.

    What killed me, though, is something I haven't seen mentioned much in any review: the God-awful writing and voice acting. Samus' (loooooong) monologues are the main culprit. These come off like some of the worst Japanese-to-English translations in recent memory, worse even than the last few Final Fantasy games. The tone, word choices, and often sentence structure are just plain wrong, and her eternally cold delivery reminds me more of one of the Virtual Intelligence computers from Mass Effect than any flesh and blood Human.

    Many thanks to Morgan for lending her particularly vicious wit and voice talent to this review. It was the perfect response to this sort of unmitigated crap. Also thanks to Abbey and the rest of the X-Play editorial staff for holding games to a higher standard than most fans are willing to do. Unfortunately, this game is a missed opportunity on every level, and I would have rather gone another console generation between Metroid games than play this one. The 2 may seem brutal, but if it were up to me, I'd be tempted to go with "1 gratuitous zero-suit ass-shot... out of 5"

    Posted: September 1, 2010 11:49 PM
    Dunbar
  • TrueDesknight

    I wish I could go back in time and tell myself DON'T GET THE WII, NINTENDO WILL SCREW UP ITS GAMES! Only a small handful of games are actually good, about only 10.
    Really hoping they could bump up the number with this one, but hey, it's Nintendo we're dealing with here.

    Posted: September 1, 2010 2:17 PM
    TrueDesknight
  • stealthbob

    Morgan Webb SCREW YOU. The moment Xplay became a microsoft and sony touting show while saying most everything that Nintendo puts out you lost ANY AND ALL RESPECT AS A game reviewer.. so please just p!ss off and go back to playin your sh@tt fps.. b!tch.

    Posted: September 1, 2010 1:15 PM
  • Mikbanin

    If morgan is that pissed about this game I can't wait for ZeroPunctuation

    Posted: September 1, 2010 12:55 PM
    Mikbanin
  • Ariellog

    So much for the tough kick a s s image Samus had :(

    Posted: August 31, 2010 8:14 PM
    Ariellog
  • Xaldin87

    So, I got this game at midnight and I am in love. Morgan you are a stupid sell out whore. I doubt you even played the game. Im sure some stupid young kid intern who has never played metroid before wrote the review.

    Dont listen to this tramp. The game is fun, challenging, and it makes sense that Samus has respect for this man who might as well be her father and is cooperating with him to help the cause. Team Ninja did an excellent job on this game. It is not perfect, but it in noway deserves 2 stars. It is without a doubt a 4 star game and should be played by any metroid fan or nintendo fan in general.

    Morgan, you use to be all over my wall, lockers, ect. now your a sell out.

    Im glad I dont watch your show anymore.

    and tell adam to sit on his thumb and rotate for doing gamestop Tv.

    kthnxbai

    Posted: August 31, 2010 1:14 PM
  • marioeasie

    now everybody go buy this game and enjoy it who cares the other metroid games are not as good as this one anyways.

    Posted: August 31, 2010 7:05 AM
  • marioeasie

    now everybody go buy this game you know u will and u will enjoy it just like me lol

    Posted: August 31, 2010 7:04 AM
  • BroodofEvil

    Om nom nom, delicious fanboy tears.

    Posted: August 31, 2010 3:13 AM
    BroodofEvil
  • BroodofEvil

    Om nom nom, delicious fanboy tears.

    Posted: August 31, 2010 3:10 AM
    BroodofEvil
  • Infinity's_End

    Hah. This is Infinity's End. I run a little site, called the Metroid Database, you may have possibly heard of it?

    Anyway, I thought it was both a blessing and a curse for Morgan's Other M review. A curse in the sense that it might actually sway some of the gullible and impressionable children that frequent this site from being interested or possibly purchasing Other M, and a blessing in that it showed everyone Morgan's utter lack of professionalism, writing skills, and knowledge of anything when it comes to video games.

    The IRONY of all this is (as someone mentioned) an ex-FHM model bitching about "sexism" and complaining about Samus showing her ass too much in the game (She shows it probably about twice the whole game, honest) is about the equivalent of a 500lb. man calling someone else "fat." Well all know Ms. Webb's nothing more than a pretty face and body when compared to Mr. Sessler, anyway.

    Long story short: She doesn't need your ears, your eyes, or your time. I bid thee farewell.

    Posted: August 30, 2010 11:57 PM
    Infinity's_End
  • Infinity's_End

    Hah. This is Infinity's End. I run a little site, called the Metroid Database, you may have possibly heard of it?

    Anyway, I thought it was both a blessing and a curse for Morgan's Other M review. A curse in the sense that it might actually sway some of the gullible and impressionable children that frequent this site from being interested or possibly purchasing Other M, and a blessing in that it showed everyone Morgan's utter lack of professionalism, writing skills, and knowledge of anything when it comes to video games.

    The IRONY of all this is (as someone mentioned) an ex-FHM model bitching about "sexism" and complaining about Samus showing her ass too much in the game (She shows it probably about twice the whole game, honest) is about the equivalent of a 500lb. man calling someone else "fat." Well all know Ms. Webb's nothing more than a pretty face and body when compared to Mr. Sessler, anyway.

    Long story short: She doesn't need your ears, your eyes, or your time. I bid thee farewell.

    Posted: August 30, 2010 11:56 PM
    Infinity's_End
  • OJtheLION

    I agree with some comments on the gameplay, but I would appreciate Morgan keeping her views on sexism out of her reviews, as it doesn't reflect well on her. I didn't notice it as much before, but recently seeing her comments on gears 3 female characters (which implied that she's glad the female characters are pretty butch), the rather large amount of time spent in the Starcraft II review (and on Feedback) pointing out a night elf hologram that is really just a shout out to WoW as a (paraphrase) "distracting sexist eyesore", and this review, I'm wondering when Morgan became such a prude. I'm all for feminism, but taking up so much time and effort needling at a game just because their characters don't meet your narrow standards for what an acceptable female character is isn't what I'd call professional. Abbie's review is a bit less obviously biased but still problematic as well. For reference, look at the metacritic score of this game currently-an 8.2. Agreeing with the majority doesn't make you right or wrong, but the content of these reviews does worry me.

    Of course, this isn't the first time X-Play's score is much lower than the average, take the infamous Crisis Core review for example. I like to believe that X-play tries to keep bias out of their reviews, but I think for credibility's sake some of you need to re-examine your reviews before they go out to make sure nothing seething with this much hatred comes out again unless the game truly justifies it. X-Play also seems not to like games that are very Japanese like this one is as much as they did a few years ago, I'm not sure if this is related or not--I hope you guys aren't pushing your hatred of some fans onto the games themselves, because that's just not giving the game a fair shake.

    Posted: August 30, 2010 4:19 PM
    OJtheLION
  • gamemaster1988

    Wait a minute. This game got the same rating as Two Worlds? Umm...so this game sucks because there is a feminine side to...wait for it...a female? Please. I agree the control system was the stupidest decision ever, especially after the fluidity demonstrated by Prime 3 in a 3D and FPS view, but come on Morgan! This game was designed to give story and information that was revealed only in manga for Metroid. Are you going to say the manga sucked because it showed Samus' feminine side? This game is designed as more of a narrative. And yes, it is absolutely absurd that you have to get clearance from Adam to use your weapons (that would be my biggest complaint), however that does not make this game sexist. If you think it is sexist, then maybe they should have never made Samus a female back in 1986, and your review would be higher because of it. That's not biased at all....

    Posted: August 30, 2010 3:09 PM
    gamemaster1988
  • WIDEANGLE

    What this all comes down to is sensibilities. Specifically Japanese sensibilities Vs. American sensibilities. I am not a fan of manga, anime or japanese games. I can't stand all the melodrama in Japanese media. Japan is archaic in the way they portray women and exploit racial stereotypes. Nintendo should do a better job localizing their products for a western audience. No matter how great the gameplay is I just can't get past how utterly ridiculous the story lines are. Abbie and Morgan should be offended and honestly I don't know why Nintendo of America isn't...

    Posted: August 30, 2010 11:58 AM
    WIDEANGLE
  • RPGCrazied

    Lol.

    This is just for controversy. The new G4 likes it, more drama, the better? Like I care what Morgan thinks. I don't think she needed to rip into the game as badly as she did. Re-Review the game. How about someone else do it? Apparently Morgan hates metroid, and decides to bash the game.

    Whatever, still buying it, whatever you call this video(I do, trash)didn't work.

    Posted: August 30, 2010 11:57 AM
    RPGCrazied
  • mistermarz

    Sry dead link above... Naked Samus tee by high score is awesome... http://www.highscoresociety.co m/catalog/tee-shirts

    Posted: August 30, 2010 6:44 AM
    mistermarz
  • mistermarz

    Naked Samus tee by high score is awesome... http://www.highscoresociety.co m/catalog/tee-shirts/shirt/ful l-tanks/

    Posted: August 30, 2010 6:43 AM
    mistermarz
  • Jeffmoocow

    This is the exact reason why I don't watch X-Play anymore. Webb is a very unprofessional reviewer and this was just about her whining about what she wanted.

    I do still enjoy Sessler though.

    Posted: August 29, 2010 10:43 PM
    Jeffmoocow
AdChoices