X

Metroid: Other M Review

Posted: August 27, 2010
Metroid: Other M Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/48319/metroid-other-m-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/190892_LGST/metroid-other-m.jpg
Video_48319
X-Play's Morgan Webb review the Nintendo Wii exclusive Metroid: Other M. Will the decision to characterize Samus as a mushy emo girl kill the game play? Find out in this X-Play Review of Metroid: Other M.

Comments are Closed

  • tai0

    I have a feeling that X-Play could design a better Metroid game than Team Ninja.

    In fact, I dare them to do it! Remake Other M in an older engine, DO IT RIGHT! We can't forget this bad game, and it's scarred the franchise forever... but maybe you can help. There's plenty of utilities for hacking old school Metroid games, Super Metroid especially. http://metroidconstruction.com /tools.php?x=top

    And if that's not the case... try contacting this guy who's built an absolutely amazing Metroid engine: http://metroid2remake.blogspot .com/

    Posted: April 10, 2011 3:40 PM
    tai0
  • superfish_01

    "Holy crap it sucks for so many reasons". When critiqueing it is best to provide arguements for and against the article in question, before offereing a final summation based on the aforementioned evidence.

    The story is a big part of the problem? I disagree. We know hardly anything about Samus Aran, I fail to see how more back story, particularly in this case, is a bad thing. Fans the world around have been yearning to know more about their favourite bounty hunter.

    "Less of a badass" This game is far more physical and violent than any previous in the series. To say that she appears to be any less amazing quite simply because she has emotions (albiet deadened due to a traumatic past) is quite rediculous. You make it seem as though she is the only character that has been portayed this way. There are a host of male characters that are moody/broody about their past from both anime and video game contexts.

    "Duck you!" was your response to the imagery of sci-fi overlayed with country music. It is said that profane language is used by those who lack the english skills to propely express themselves. I agree that it was not the correct choice, but you should have said just that. There is a plethora of of examples where video and audio just don't match, so it's not the first and not the last. It doesn't even support you undercurrent theme of sexism through the review.

    Let's examine that underlying theme now. "Submissive to him". Hardly, she was little more than a civillian that was given authorisation to tag along in a restricted area, based solely on her ability, therefore it is reasonable that she listen to his commands. I would like to point out that in that boss battle where the male in question gives Samus the ok to use missiles, he soes the same to his squadron to use higher powered weaponry as well. I would ask if each command came from a female, whould it then be sexist against the males?

    "Inconsistent auto-aim" The clip shows Samus directly under her targets, what fool aims up and wanders into the unknown while firing a weapon? Knowing how the auto-aim works is a simple matter of logic as well as undertanding game mechanics.

    "Boss battles basically consist of finding the time to switch to first person and fire off a missle without being creamed." Yes, that's correct, is there a point in a game that allows you to do what ever you need to do with zero resistance? Even if you switch and find that you don't have to fire, you revert and 'sensemove' will allow you to dodge the incoming strike.

    Perhaps the one thing that I might agree on is the 'concentration' aspect of the game. While it is not the most outrageous game mechanic, I still find the Metroid Prime option more plausible. That said, this mechanic works far better with the game, making it feel more frantic, finding time to either heal or fire missiles, and the tough decision between each.

    Perhaps most irksome aspect of this review the way you have described her relationship with Adam Malkovich. Your review leaves the distinct impression that she is pining over a lost lover when infact she is recounting their history together and her struggle to gain the approval of a father like figure.

    Based on the above, I conclude that your review was terrible and that anyone seeking advice on whether to buy Metroid: Other M disregard your review and listen to the hoards of fans that adore this addition ot the Metroid series.

    Posted: February 21, 2011 12:46 AM
    superfish_01
  • OMFGROFLMAO

    Alright, I've played the game and Samus don't use her entire arsenal from the beginning because she is under the command of a federation army squad, and she fully acknowledge that. I don't see any problem with that, in fact that's the way it should be. Since the moment SHE AGREED to be a subordinate she's under the command of the captain, she can't go around shooting missiles as she pleases.

    Now, for the drama, do people realize that she's human? I think people, including the reviewer, think Samu's just a troll runing like crazy shooting stuff out of her arm and going all like "LOLOLOLOL!". No, she's a woman and she's telling her story.

    Get over it silly feminist, be a professional and let you brain do your job, not your hormones.

    Posted: October 2, 2010 1:29 PM
    OMFGROFLMAO
  • Zua231

    this game is beautiful, this review is horrible

    Posted: October 1, 2010 1:58 AM
    Zua231
  • PhixedAice

    I'm sorry but this review sucks horribly.
    "Samus keeps showing off her ass to Adam" Samus sees Adam Malkovich as a father figure, as family. Not her lover.
    "Adam authorizes weapon use which is stupid" Adam literally tells Samus if she wanted to cooperate with him and his troops, she haves to follow his orders. And since Adam is like a father to her, she didn't want to lose his respect. Plus you can't get all of your items in the beginning of the game. It would be too easy.
    "she's a 12 year old girl" Samus has ALWAYS been emotional. She suffers from PTSD (Post Traumatic Stress Disorder) They show clues of it in the game. She was scared when she saw Ridley because Ridley was supposed to die in Planet Zebes. Normally when Ridley dies, he would usually get revived by the Space Pirates, but they also died along with Ridley and the chances of him survivng that kind collateral damage is very slim. And Ridley destroyed her planet when she was only 3 years old. She's always been afraid of Ridley. She's not a robot like Master Chief. It's called "Character Development"
    "FPS Mode is hard" No it's not. You lock on with B, and then you shoot with A. And it's not that hard to dodge while in FPS Mode. All you have to do is shake the WiiMote. Pretty simple.
    "You regain missiles and health by concentrating which doesn't make sense" If this is the case then Super Mario Galaxy is not the highest rated game this gen is it? N one likes running out of ammo. Especially me. And you can only regain health when you're on the verge of dying. It's called "Second Wind" and if that's such a problem why did Halo Reach get 5/5 stars?
    "She's less badass" Even though she puts monsters on headlocks to headshot them, rip creatures out of their shells, and rip off the wings of giant insects with her hands.
    "Other M is a morass of bad decisions" This review is a morass of bad decisions.
    Overall, Other M is a great game. It's not the best but whoever heard of a Metroid game that sucks? To me the game deserves 4/5 Stars.

    Posted: September 25, 2010 11:38 AM
    PhixedAice
  • Antiruth

    I am a woman, and a very outspoken one when it comes to females being weak and submissive. After playing through Other M, I can safely say there is nothing sexist about other M. Apparently Morgan Webb has never taken the time to get to know Samus s back story. Adam isn t some guy Samus is mooning over ; he is the one human she felt a connection with and basically her father. She had a falling out with him and is now trying to gain his trust and approval again. She respects that he is the commanding officer, and she is in fact an outsider.
    Usually, Samus is the only human in the game, but this time she has other people s safety to worry about. Using highly dangerous weapons while the Galactic Federation is trying to complete a mission puts said mission and all of their lives at risk.
    And Adam knows Samus is the most capable person on the ship, but he has to be the one in charge in order to complete the mission. There is one part of the game when Adam basically tells everyone to leave the enemy to Samus because he knows that she is the only one that can defeat it. Samus is obviously the hero of the story, but people are upset because she actually works with someone who she knows and trusts? Had Adam's character been a female, I guarantee there would be no problem with this.

    Samus is almost NEVER in her zero suit. She spent more time in her zero suit in zero mission, but because it wasn t in 3d no one complained. In 3d, her curves are very noticeable because Samus is curvy! She has always had a very feminine figure and it would be frustrating if they downplayed that just to appease the feminists. And Morgan Webb has posed half-naked for the gaming crowd so I don t think she should be complaining about anti-feminism in video games.
    There are no scenes where Samus shows off her ass . Yes, there are scenes angled from behind where you see Samus s ass because it would be a hassle to avoid her big shiny ass at all costs.
    And this is team ninja we are talking about. Less than 30 seconds of an angle where Samus s ass is close to the camera makes me thrilled compared to what I was worried they would do.

    Now about the actual game-play which Morgan should have focused on instead of her ideal butch Samus. I had no problem with the auto-aim. Judging by how outraged she was by it, Morgan Webb apparently can t aim well even though she s a supposed gamer . It's not Nintendo's fault Morgan sucks at video games.
    And damn she has NO IDEA how Samus s suit works. It s not something she can just throw on. It is part of her body. She needs to maintain concentration in order to maintain control over her suit. That is why she can replenish her health and missiles with concentration. I like this feature because it makes sense that Samus would be able to control health and missiles as they are essentially a part of her. It makes way more sense than lol the missiles and health are INSIDE random creatures .

    So to summarize, Other M is a good game and Morgan Webb is a biased cry-baby who sucks at video games.

    Posted: September 9, 2010 11:43 AM
    Antiruth
  • kfd056

    I give this video review 0 stars out of 5. This whole video review sounds like babies crying. Everyone this game is awesome. Might not turn out to be your favorite Metroid, but still an awesome game.

    Posted: September 8, 2010 7:09 PM
    kfd056
  • TheComposer17

    i can't say i completely agree with them, because in fusion and/or zero mission, samus is taking orders from this adam guy, and it was obvious they had a history, and i was always wondering what her history with adam and the galactic federation was.
    though it is disappointing to see her going soft, keep in mind this is her back story and very likely before she became the hardcore badass bounty hunter she is now. though it does add an aspect of disappointment to the series since it strays soo far from the usual style of badassery and just saving planets left and right, her back story was long overdue.

    Posted: September 8, 2010 2:44 PM
  • TheComposer17

    i can't say i completely agree with them, because in fusion and/or zero mission, samus is taking orders from this adam guy, and it was obvious they had a history, and i was always curious as to her background with the galactic federation, though it may cloud up the games' initial styles themselves, i think that it'll finally answer some question that i have been asking for quite some time

    Posted: September 8, 2010 2:36 PM
  • darthansum

    2 out of 5 seemily high.

    Posted: September 7, 2010 2:06 PM
    darthansum
  • somanymods

    i haven't actually received my copy yet so I'll judge the game itself when actually play it, but a couple things. First off I know its standard to be able to run and fire at the same time in video games but if you had ever fired a real gun (or arm cannon as the case may be) you would know its almost impossible to aim while moving...especially if you are firing missiles out of your arm, I mean can you imagine running with missiles launching out of your arm? Maybe its annoying in the game but its probably more realistic if anything. As for following orders that make no sense, that happens all the time in the military I would imagine. Also all people have some level of insecurity no matter how bad ass I would imagine.

    As for them showing samus' butt or w/e..wasn't the reward for beating all the old metroid games in under a certain amount of time seeing samus in a bikini? Seems like that was more sexist if anything.

    Posted: September 7, 2010 12:18 PM
    somanymods
  • JediMaster501

    Sorry for the double post, computer was slow.

    Posted: September 6, 2010 7:02 PM
  • JediMaster501

    I've beat this game twice and am on another play-through, and I even go back to my first file and just run around and shoot stuff, and I don't feel like there's all that much wrong with the game. I think that they didn't even play the game, because I compared what they said to when I was playing and it was all bogus. This is how it went for me:

    - Cut-scenes are skip-able, at least after the 1st play-through.

    - Switching between 1st/3rd person is perfect; I have never had a problem. Switching to 1st gives the player a brief (approximate) two seconds of slow motion, then when a missile is fired, more slo-mo. I have never had a moment of "wait, where's my reticule?", because it's always there when I need.

    - Samus shows her butt, what, two, three times?

    - Adam Malkovich is her father figure, not her ex-boyfriend. Samus only talks about Adam when it's relevant.

    - Adam authorizing item use isn't that bad; the only bad time is in Sector 3, because the Varia Suit becomes neccasary very quickly. Adam also authorizes his squad's weapon's, so Samus isn't the only one.

    - Concentration is a cool addition. I wish I could have used it in Prime 3: Corruption on Hypermode difficulty during the final fight.

    - In a lot of boss fights, where a missile would do the most damage, a Charge Beam blast will do just as well.

    Posted: September 6, 2010 7:01 PM
  • JediMaster501

    I've beat this game twice and am on another play-through, and I even go back to my first file and just run around and shoot stuff, and I don't feel like there's all that much wrong with the game. I think that they didn't even play the game, because I compared what they said to when I was playing and it was all bogus. This is how it went for me:

    - Cut-scenes are skip-able, at least after the 1st play-through.

    - Switching between 1st/3rd person is perfect; I have never had a problem. Switching to 1st gives the player a brief (approximate) two seconds of slow motion, then when a missile is fired, more slo-mo. I have never had a moment of "wait, where's my reticule?", because it's always there when I need.

    - Samus shows her butt, what, two, three times?

    - Adam Malkovich is her father figure, not her ex-boyfriend. Samus only talks about Adam when it's relevant.

    - Adam authorizing item use isn't that bad; the only bad time is in Sector 3, because the Varia Suit becomes neccasary very quickly. Adam also authorizes his squad's weapon's, so Samus isn't the only one.

    - Concentration is a cool addition. I wish I could have used it in Prime 3: Corruption on Hypermode difficulty during the final fight.

    - In a lot of boss fights, where a missile would do the most damage, a Charge Beam blast will do just as well.

    Posted: September 6, 2010 7:00 PM
  • Nate4359

    I bought this game yesterday and i actually like it a lot. The story parts aren't too inconvenient if you're not feeling Samus's moodiness. As for the game play, I really like the control scheme. It makes me feel like I'm 6 playing the original on my NES again, while still being in awe of what I can do just by using the Wiimote. The game play is accessible to many, but still challenging as the game progresses. I think Morgan was a little too aggressive in her take on the game.

    Coming from someone like me who looked at this game non-objectively, I would recommend it. 1. It's easily the most flashy game on the Wii. 2. The action, once you've got it down is awesome. Fast-paced and challenging. 3 Its just fun.

    Go rent it at least...

    Posted: September 5, 2010 9:25 AM
    Nate4359
  • ChAoS83

    you know Morgan reviews is all about opinion I think this game is a great installment on the way when I first played it I couldn't stop probably because I am A huge Metroid fan. Morgan you are a air head that categorize gamers into three groups and we games know that is impossible to do. First off where do get off nerd raging on Metroid M its not perfect but what did you expect a sequal to metroid prime
    ? or the snes version of super metroid in 3d? Anyways Morgan I just wanna say your a air head that doesn't know jack about games with out really implying your self to one.. For opinion mine ,is the game is great not perfect but great. This game is based after the snes metroid

    Posted: September 5, 2010 2:04 AM
    ChAoS83
  • nintenjoe3

    WTF IS WRONG WITH YOU?!? This may just be one of the best games ever. The control scheme works GREAT! The graphics are amazing. The story is awesome. The only possible way that anyone could hat this game is IF YOU SUCK AT IT! (which obviously you do, since the controls were fairly simple, yet you had trouble with them). I don't even know why I still watch this show. You guys don't know anything about videogames. You're like Sonic the Hedgehog: you used to be really awesome, but now you're one of the worst disgraces in videogaming. I don't know why I keep coming back to you expecting the show to get good when I KNOW it's gonna suck.

    Posted: September 4, 2010 11:41 AM
    nintenjoe3
  • alsonic24

    Reviews= ones own opinion and point of view towards what ever it is. listening to a review is basically taking that person's (the reviewer's) word for it, aka a critic.... personally I like to see things for myself then taking somebody's own opinion/point of view towards something, I just like to see what others say about whatever it is, even though I'm looking into it for myself, I'm not picky... I'm not hard nor easy to make unsatisfied or satisfied towards something.... I'm just not negative towards something easily like that... critics, reviews, are just ones own opinion point of view, you don't have to take their word for it, scores, ect. its all about the majority of opinions on how its decided on wether something is good or not... think about it...

    Posted: September 3, 2010 7:39 PM
    alsonic24
  • killerwaffles93

    I have to agree with morgan I mean her feelings in the game are a complete buzz kill plus I dont like how you cant move while in first person it changes samus into a character from team ninjas game might as well give it a knew title cause it does not seem the same as the other games

    Posted: September 3, 2010 8:27 AM
    killerwaffles93
  • bigjaywara

    I'm glad that she was honest. Those the choses the developers made were really dumb. I don't wanna watch monologe regardless the characters gender. And having all your abilities but simply not using them for em cutscenes otions or because someone ingame needs to tell you its ok is just plain dumb.

    Posted: September 3, 2010 4:47 AM
AdChoices