X

Alienware Area-51 Gaming PC Review

Posted: August 9, 2010
Alienware Area-51 Gaming PC Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/47921/alienware-area-51-gaming-pc-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/247911_LGST/as20100809_gadgetpron.jpg
Video_47921

From motorized vents for active cooling and a lit interior for easy access, the Alienware Area 51 Gaming PC offers an Intel i7-970 processor, dual NVIDIA GTX 480 video cards and 2 terabytes of storage for high end gaming needs. Kevin Pereira and Chris Hardwick review the gaming PC which starts at $2,200.

What You Need To Know

  • The Area-51 measures 2' high and 2' deep.
  • It weighs 90 pounds.
  • It also has active vents and customizeable lighting, featuring an overall "aggressive" design.
  • The active vents are pretty cool: just like a Porsche, they raise and lower automatically according to how much your machine needs to be cooled.
  • You can customize the outside case lights just like the Alienware laptops, which is a nice and fun touch.
  • The inside of the case has as much attention to detail as the outside: there's internal theater lighting, quick release panels and easy hard drive expansion.
  • All of these features work well.
  • There's a latch on the back that you push down to open the side panels, which make it really easy to get inside.
  • There's also a shroud that covers the video cards and the liquid cooling radiator, which are both quick release.
  • The hard drives are uniquely mounted on the opposite side of the case, and just as easy to pop in or out.
  • The entire case is internally lit, even when it's not plugged in, so you can make changes more easily.
  • Overall, this is one of the coolest cases we've ever reviewed, inside and out.
  • This PC is one of the fastest ever.
  • In our normal 3DMark Vantage tests, it scored as the second fastest PC we've reviewed (the Maingear PC was the first.)
  • It'll also play any game on the market extremely well and even in 3D, which you'll need with NVIDIA's 3D vision kit for an extra $200.

Configuration

  • Processors: Intel® Core™ i7-970 Processor, 3.23GHz, 12MB Cache
  • Alienware Area-51: Alienware Area-51
  • Operating Systems: Genuine Windows® 7 Home Premium, 64bit,
  • Cooling Option: Alienware™ High-Performance Liquid Cooling
  • Video Cards: Dual 1.5GB GDDR5 NVIDIA® GeForce® GTX 480 - SLI Enabled
  • Memory: 6GB DDR3 1333MHz (3x 2GB) Tri Channel Memory
  • Hard Drives: 2TB RAID 0 (2x 1TB SATA-II, 7,200 RPM, 32MB Cache HDDs)
  • Optical Drives: Single Drive: Blu-ray Disc (BD) Combo (Reads BD and Writes to DVD/CD)
  • Sound Card: Integrated 7.1 Channel Audio
  • Chassis Color: Cosmic Black, Alienware Area-51 Chassis D
  • AlienFX: AlienFX Color, Quasar Blue AXCQSBL

Price

  • Starts at $2,200.
  • This configuration is about $3,900.

Rating

Want something reviewed on Gadget Pr0n? Email us your suggestions to gadgetpron@g4tv.com.

...

Comments are Closed

  • mral1234

    so how the he*& do i enter the contest ??

    Posted: October 19, 2011 5:58 PM
    mral1234
  • Mandytmi

    That screams wow caty for me lol................world of warcraft FTW ,,,,

    Posted: November 15, 2010 10:36 PM
    Mandytmi
  • mikewhitejr1001

    how much would it cost if i got everything shown in the video except without the 3D?

    Posted: October 22, 2010 12:02 AM
  • MykDre

    Wait this only has a Intel® Core™ i7-970 Processor, 3.23GHz. i'd expect more from a $3900 Alienware pc. my pc doesnt have some of the cool lighting or weigh half as much as i do but was 800 with a 3.40GHz. Phenom II X4 965 processor and still has 2TB. hdd and 8GB. ram. id give it 3.5 or a 4. :( id rather build my own for that price

    Posted: August 27, 2010 11:34 PM
  • brandonvi

    The case is VERY nice but as much as I like the case the hardware and price is the more important thing

    While Alienware is very nice its about $400 more then the same computer from "Cyber Power" + cyberpower for $400 less gives you all name brand parts

    I don't know if alienware does the same but more then likly not + they give you faster versions of the hardware such as the processor from Cyper power for $400 less I was able to overclock 20% from the factory making so it is still under Warranty and you can get super clocked vid cards + a "Hydro Liquid Cooling Kit 360MM" which i am almost 100% is better then what alienware is useing.
    $3563 is they price at cyber power good to use the extra money for a new 3d montor or the 3d glasses you need.

    Posted: August 13, 2010 4:59 PM
    brandonvi
  • UncannierDwarf

    what the hell is an igtheasaur?

    Posted: August 12, 2010 6:00 PM
    UncannierDwarf
  • mechudo90

    good god that thing is massive. looks like it would colapse onto itself and make a black hole in my office

    Posted: August 11, 2010 12:33 PM
    mechudo90
  • The Nameless Monster

    It's Over 9000!!!!!

    Posted: August 11, 2010 12:00 PM
    The+Nameless+Monster
  • koolboricua

    90lbs? what does it have bricks? heck i have 3 way sli and still doesnt weight near that much with water cooling.

    Posted: August 11, 2010 8:57 AM
    koolboricua
  • Spaztastikleeze

    And hey its versatile. Its for gaming and for exercise.

    Posted: August 11, 2010 12:54 AM
    Spaztastikleeze
  • Gamelife1

    That thing looks Brolic.

    Posted: August 10, 2010 7:36 PM
    Gamelife1
  • vlweb3d

    90 pounds = hernia for most gamers, LOL

    Posted: August 10, 2010 7:15 PM
  • Spartan177

    Ok whats with not being able to make the pc black on the website with two graphics cards?

    Posted: August 10, 2010 6:11 PM
    Spartan177
  • er80

    i want one so bad!!!!! :(

    Posted: August 10, 2010 5:02 PM
    er80
  • Griffith4100

    Hahaha, I feel bad for the person who throws away an extra $700 on this computer for the Alienware name. Self-building is so much cheaper, sigh....

    Posted: August 10, 2010 4:23 PM
    Griffith4100
  • moshmouth92

    i wouldn't mind being raped by this pc, oh and it didn't use a condom.

    Posted: August 10, 2010 4:19 PM
    moshmouth92
  • R11NickyR11

    The case is probably the best I've ever seen but a prebuilt PC is never as good as a self built machine.
    NO LOVE.
    If I ever see a case on the market like this one Ill pick it up in a second.

    Posted: August 10, 2010 2:59 PM
    R11NickyR11
  • thePcgamer

    IT LOOKS LIKE ITS BREATHING!! THATS INSANE

    Posted: August 10, 2010 2:42 PM
    thePcgamer
  • pauljeremiah

    I spent $8k on mine, best PC I ever bought.

    Posted: August 10, 2010 1:49 PM
  • iiTheSiickii

    What a awesome computer.

    Posted: August 10, 2010 1:26 PM
    iiTheSiickii
AdChoices