X

Droid X Mobile Phone Review

Posted: July 8, 2010
Droid X Mobile Phone Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/47324/droid-x-mobile-phone-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/244758_LGST/as20100708_gadget.jpg
Video_47324

The iPhone 4 just got some healthy competion in the form of the Droid X, a new Android phone from Motorola with a large touch screen, an 8 megapixel camera and 720p HD video recording. Find out if this has Apple's new pride and joy beat.

What You Need to Know

  • The phone is longer and wider than the new iPhone, but just barely thicker
  • It weighs about 1 oz. More
  • It feels sturdy
  • The phone also has this weird lip, but it didn't bother us too much in our pocket
  • Obviously, the phone is bigger all around because of the huge 4.3” screen
  • Its screen is almost 1” larger than the iPhone 4's screen, which is 3.5”
  • However,  the 854 x 480 resolution is lower than the iPhone's (960 x 640)
  • Overall, it was nice having more room to work
  • It runs on Android 2.1 with an upgraded version of MOTOBLUR (Motorola's social network widgets), and it has a one GHz OMAP processor
  • The touch screen is very responsive and supports pinch and zoom
  • You have seven home screens to customize and add widgets
  • MOTOBLUR  has also been vastly improved (each widget is resizable and easier to use. On other phones
  • The keyboard is as good as the iPhone's and, of course, you have more room to type; you can even change to the Swype keyboard
  • As for speed, it's practically a tie with the iPhone 4 and Droid Incredible when launching apps or loading web pages
  • As for the original Droid, it blows it out of the water
  • Overall, the Droid X is super fast
  • The features have also been heavily upgraded; 8 megapixel camera, 720p HD video recording, 3G mobile hotspot capability and a ton more
  • The camera has lots of different scenes and effects, and takes good pictures in normal light, but lower light is where you'll have problems; the flash helps, but not quite enough
  • Video looks good, but has the same sorts of problems; the ability to record in 720p along with HDMI output directly on the phone is powerful, though
  • You can also stream media from your phone to an Xbox 360 or other device using the DLNA app
  • The browser is multi-touch and will support Flash 10.1 later this summer when Android is updated to 2.2
  • It has no front-facing camera
  • Battery life was good in our limited testing

Price

  • $200 with a contract
  • The 3G mobile hotspot is easy to activate and use, but it does cost an extra $20 a month with a data cap of 2 GB
  • It's fast, pretty, feature rich, and on Verizon, the network with the best coverage

Overall Rating

Want something reviewed on Gadget Pr0n? Email us your suggestions to gadgetpron@g4tv.com.

 

...

Comments are Closed

  • chamber29

    I got this phone and I'm enjoying it, but super fast isn't what I'd say. I'm lucky to get the Verizon unlimited plan. After almost two months it's starting to be laggy. Couldn't access the dialer. Live wallpapers slows down the processing speed. And the mp3 player sucks as well as the news feed, social media apps.

    Luckily there were free apps that blew them out of the water. It's too bad though. Android apps market isn't the safest. Apps on apple takes two months to get an approval and then appear in the market, Droid's is to fast for approval. If you don't believe me, read some of the descriptions as well as requirements to access these apps. You'll be amazed. It's not even professionally made.

    Posted: January 22, 2011 12:32 PM
  • pigeye

    This the most biased review I've ever seen on G4. The reocurring phrase seems to be "almost as good as the iPhone" yet it gets a higher rating than the iPhone. The oly significant feature it has over the iphone is the larger screen, which they criticized the EVO for.

    Posted: July 20, 2010 10:29 AM
    pigeye
  • riko540

    After playing with the Droid X at the Verizon store, I found that the phone was very solid but was too big in my opinion. I'm think if you have small hand you may find this phone uncomfortable.

    Posted: July 17, 2010 12:14 PM
  • incredibilistic

    Hopefully the fact that the iPhone 4 only got 4/5 and this phone got a perfect 5/5 will prove to AOTS fans that this show isn't biased.

    Doesn't change the fact that Kevin still has an iPhone but that doesn't mean he can't appreciate other devices.

    My problem with the Android phones is that there's too many of them. One month is the Nexus One, the next it's the Incredible, then the EVO and now the Droid X. I guess next month we'll see the Nexus Two then the Stupendous then the DIVA. Then there's all the different interfaces and versions of the software. No uniformity and continuity in the product line doesn't really ring my bell.

    For better or worse (based on the current iPhone 4 fiasco) at least Apple only refreshes their phone once a year and updates are handled much better.

    Posted: July 15, 2010 9:25 AM
    incredibilistic
  • OutlawFirebird

    what live background is that?

    Posted: July 14, 2010 12:55 PM
    OutlawFirebird
  • OutlawFirebird

    what live background is that?

    Posted: July 14, 2010 12:25 PM
    OutlawFirebird
  • OutlawFirebird

    I'll wait for the droid 2, the x is just to big in my opinion.

    Posted: July 14, 2010 12:13 PM
    OutlawFirebird
  • Cartel1

    How about reception w/this phone. I currently have the Droid Incredible and it's going back tomorrow because of reception issues. Don't want to leave the Droid phone for a Blackberry, but will if I cannot talk on the phone. Almost seems as if the smart phone producers have forgotten what phones are ment for!

    Posted: July 14, 2010 11:48 AM
  • Art_In_Motion

    They did review the EVO 4G on AOTS a week or 2 ago. I remember they were making fun of the kick-stand. Dont remember what they rated it.... think 4/5.... they said the only thing holding it back was software updates.

    Posted: July 13, 2010 5:48 AM
    Art_In_Motion
  • Lobato87

    Damn I still have my G1 (I still love it) but with so many android phones coming out I think I can wait until my contract ends to get a new android phone.

    Posted: July 12, 2010 4:14 PM
    Lobato87
  • ajac09

    their not gonna review the htc evo because they would have to rate it above their dream phone the icrap

    Posted: July 12, 2010 4:14 PM
    ajac09
  • clubf00t

    that 5 out of 5 hurt Kevin and iphone fanboys everywhere. SUCK IT Jobbs!!!

    Posted: July 12, 2010 1:23 PM
    clubf00t
  • TheMassacreMelendez

    were can i get that awesome backround ?!?!?!?!

    Posted: July 12, 2010 9:37 AM
    TheMassacreMelendez
  • Nub Salad

    I'm sorry but they aren't iphone competitors any more. As far as I can see Iphone is just a brand name people pay for to be cool and Droid phones are the real deal.

    Posted: July 11, 2010 8:56 PM
    Nub+Salad
  • micrapple

    HTC and Android doesn't disappoint, but they have to keep the phone up to date. I'm dying waiting for my Evo Froyo.

    Posted: July 11, 2010 8:27 PM
    micrapple
  • myNando

    Please review the EVO. Yum!

    Posted: July 11, 2010 10:45 AM
    myNando
  • VORNSTAR7

    @Minimoose360

    if nobody bought it then why is it still sold out online and at the sprint stores/best buy at my town(DFW)

    Posted: July 11, 2010 9:41 AM
    VORNSTAR7
  • Gnslngr77

    i don't know but kp just seemed bitter throughout the whole review

    Posted: July 11, 2010 12:22 AM
    Gnslngr77
  • Minimoose360

    @VORNSTAR

    Actually, nobody bought the EVO. Remember the fudged initial sales? :/ Most people still think Android just means the original Motorola Droid because it was the most marketed...the average consumer doesn't read tech blogs all day or know what's up.

    Posted: July 10, 2010 1:44 PM
    Minimoose360
  • VORNSTAR7

    p.s.
    My Evo is a beast. when the smart-phone was created it was said let their be the HTC EVO

    Posted: July 10, 2010 8:17 AM
    VORNSTAR7
AdChoices