X

Feedback -- May NPD Results & The Effects of Reviews

Posted: July 7, 2010
Feedback -- May NPD Results & The Effects of Reviews
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/47315/feedback-may-npd-results-the-effects-of-reviews/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/244634_LGST/feedback.jpg
Video_47315
We're joined by research group EEDAR's Geoffrey Zatkin to explain how game reviews affect our purchasing behavior and recommendations. Also, May sales results, and hardcore gamers being wrong for a decade.

Comments are Closed

  • Zac1Morris

    I really like these episodes with special guests to "open" things up a bit. You all scratched the surface of what I'm thinking but to add my two cents I think that the price of games these days is the single greatest reason why reviews are more of a determining factor in sales. In fact I'd be interested to know what the statistics are of games profiting 5 years ago were compared to now. I'd guess that more games made profit back then than now despite what reviews said. Thats my dessert to this weeks Feedback food for thought.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 4:10 PM
    Zac1Morris
  • A-Bittersweet-Life

    Wow, you guys went up early today than usual. Great Feedback!

    Posted: July 7, 2010 4:06 PM
    A-Bittersweet-Life
  • Supercooleo

    I doubt it'll be something for hardcore gamers. Remember the EyeToy for the PS2 a few years ago? It was fun, but wasn't something that my hardcore gaming friends enjoyed much. Kinect is just is just a big fancy EyeToy. Although I do expect Kinect to do better then the EyeToy did. I don't see how it will appeal to the hardcore gamers any more then the EyeToy did.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 3:58 PM
    Supercooleo
  • Supercooleo

    I doubt it'll be something for hardcore gamers. Remember the EyeToy for the PS2 a few years ago? It was fun, but wasn't something that my hardcore gaming friends enjoyed much. Kinect is just is just a big fancy EyeToy. Although I do expect Kinect to do better then the EyeToy did. I don't see how it will appeal to the hardcore gamers any more then the EyeToy did.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 3:55 PM
    Supercooleo
  • jayislost

    I remember the Feedback sign falling down a while back but how long has it been hanging by one corner like that?

    More importantly, I wonder how Geoffry's experiment would have fared if they'd used something other than Plants vs. Zombies. I think some people would find it, at worst, inoffensive and most people would probably like it. It would be interesting to see the results of running the test with a more polarizing game.

    Good show, guys.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 3:51 PM
    jayislost
  • Jimi0088

    G4's game ratings are not worth a bag of flaming crap. Forums are the way to go because the fans do not get kickbacks like some reviewers. Plus you get a group of opinions and not just one doosh's thoughts.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 3:50 PM
    Jimi0088
  • tsoul19

    Yeah FeedBack Wednesday!!! Adams back! The shows better when Adams there.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 3:43 PM
  • SilverJC

    mp3 version of this please. thanks

    Posted: July 7, 2010 3:42 PM
    SilverJC
  • tylerstravis

    whoever is running the boards need to equalize the volumes of the voices. I can't even make out what Geoffry is saying.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 3:38 PM
    tylerstravis
  • Ender_IF_

    Ahhhh great night, tomorrow I have to work, but Spain is one of the finalists in the Worldcup and now I have feedback!!!!!!!!! F* yeah!


    Told you Sterling, told you loooooong ago we spaniards would get there!!!

    PS: For those of you who don't care, my deepest apologies, but this moment HAD to be shared!!

    Posted: July 7, 2010 3:35 PM
    Ender_IF_
  • nightsnipe

    great show for a great day!

    Posted: July 7, 2010 3:28 PM
    nightsnipe
  • tdogg06051991

    Oh destination arcade sounds like a playstation plus on top of xbox live

    Posted: July 7, 2010 3:27 PM
    tdogg06051991
AdChoices