X

Feedback -- May NPD Results & The Effects of Reviews

Posted: July 7, 2010
Feedback -- May NPD Results & The Effects of Reviews
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/47315/feedback-may-npd-results-the-effects-of-reviews/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/244634_LGST/feedback.jpg
Video_47315
We're joined by research group EEDAR's Geoffrey Zatkin to explain how game reviews affect our purchasing behavior and recommendations. Also, May sales results, and hardcore gamers being wrong for a decade.

Comments are Closed

  • spiralking04

    Awesome Feedback guys and gal.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 6:08 PM
    spiralking04
  • kings_legacy

    Well I want say I like Dynasty Warriors games,yes it is mindless hack and slash but I like it its fun. Now there lots of people who hate this game and they have right to there own opinion and it also as gotten many bad reviews from all over. Same with RE5 I liked too and picked it up without every reading a review which also received hard criticism. My point is when you play something that you know is good because you played that(well at least to you) and then you hear someone else says its bad, then for me its hard to trust that opinion of the person and future opinions of that person.Say I might not consider picking a game at first glance because I don't know that title, it would be hard to trust that persons opinion on that game.Adam you reviews of dynasaty warriors have always been fair and I still respect you, but there are other reviewers out their I wouldn't trust with my life for certain game reviews.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 6:02 PM
    kings_legacy
  • Sumoda

    While on the topic of reviews. Thank you Abbie and Matt for your refreshing discussion about Transformers:WFC on last weeks episode. I knew that it was a good game, and with Matt's review and the both of you enjoying it so much that I picked it up this past monday, and I'm have a blast! Again thank you and all of you on feedback do an amazing job! (b'-')b

    Posted: July 7, 2010 5:45 PM
    Sumoda
  • PeterParker23

    OK..THIS IS WHY I LOVE WENSDAY!!..Nothing beats a great episode of
    FEEDBACK!!

    But ABBIE needs her chair back! She is in the guest seat..WHAT!

    Is it just me or is ABBIE super hot!

    Posted: July 7, 2010 5:45 PM
    PeterParker23
  • Sumoda

    While on the topic of reviews. Thank you Abbie and Matt for your refreshing discussion about Transformers:WFC on last weeks episode. I knew that it was a good game, and with Matt's review and the both of you enjoying it so much that I picked it up this past monday, and I'm have a blast! Again thank you and all of you on feedback do an amazing job! (b'-')b

    Posted: July 7, 2010 5:39 PM
    Sumoda
  • PinkCrayon32

    gaming should be about games, not controllers. the current method works perfectly fine. this is like having the right analog stick being used for attacks in a third person game, and not for camera controls. IT'S A DUMB IDEA.

    As to video game reviews, it's like i said in sesslers soap box comments, the internet is filled with people who are either casual gamers who don't know better, or hardcore games who need validation.

    Personally, i only look at your reviews after i've played the game, and i compare your notes to mine. (i.e. PoP:FS LOL Patrick... so hard at the end it almost ruins the game? hehe...)

    Posted: July 7, 2010 5:32 PM
    PinkCrayon32
  • cwhas2godhands

    I blew up my toilet on July 5th. :(

    Posted: July 7, 2010 5:26 PM
    cwhas2godhands
  • skillsthatkills

    what up with brock lesner?

    Posted: July 7, 2010 5:25 PM
    skillsthatkills
  • happymeowmeow

    very interesting feedback today guys.
    It's troubling that this study could mean even more attempt to manipulate reviewers and the whole score/metacritic system, which is screwed up enough as it is. Like the question you read, I really wonder if a time will come when gamers are disconnected from game reviewers as movie goers to their reviewers. I

    Posted: July 7, 2010 5:22 PM
    happymeowmeow
  • DanGarf

    I love you Andrew but I'm pretty sure that Borderlands came out in mid-October, not at the tail end of summer.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 5:08 PM
    DanGarf
  • iiTheSiickii

    I hope Microsoft will release some hardcore Kinect games soon.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 5:05 PM
    iiTheSiickii
  • darth jacen

    Good show, as a user reviewer myself I find this study's premise interesting. I would like to see the follow up study of words versus numbers. Down with Metacritic.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 5:01 PM
    darth+jacen
  • blueboykc

    i loves abbie...

    Posted: July 7, 2010 4:56 PM
    blueboykc
  • Atavax

    i agree with Adam involving kinnect... they need to appeal to the hard-core for the same reason that political parties appeal to their base. the hard core players are what get the players that aren't big into games to buy titles. if hard core players say this game is the best thing ever, casuals will be more adept to buy it. if hard core players think its crap, casuals are not going to invest the money to find out if the hard cores are wrong.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 4:49 PM
    Atavax
  • lokiassassin

    It would be sweet if you could find a way to put in an audience to this show sometime. Just a small group and allow them to watch and maybe even interact during the show.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 4:30 PM
    lokiassassin
  • CareyGrant

    A good feedback, but next time, put your guest in front of his mic! It does no good if it's pointed to the side! You can't here most of what he says.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 4:26 PM
    CareyGrant
  • BlakeKellermann

    This was a great episode of Feedback. I always love the side topics and a wider view of the industry than just about one game. Geoffry was a great guess and his study is amazing, will definately make me think twice before I say a game is good or bad without my own opinion of the game.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 4:26 PM
    BlakeKellermann
  • drakoniansun

    I LOVE feedback, makes Wednesdays my little happy day...

    But i do have 3 comments about this episode:
    1) I think the shaky camera work and odd camera angles were trying to give me vertigo

    2) I was so sad that Adam's obscure reference just showed as a calm subtitle on the screen rather than having the pop and sound effect it has had in the past

    3) I think the guest needs to stay in the guest seat and give Abbie back her power chair, everything felt off balance from the start...

    So there you go! me throwing my 2 cents into the invisible well of pointless comments!

    Posted: July 7, 2010 4:25 PM
    drakoniansun
  • STCook

    FEEDBACK!!!!!!!!!!! The reason why I enjoy Wednesday.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 4:22 PM
    STCook
  • Matave

    Okay, I just paused this weeks feedback so I don't lose this thought. Towards the end of this episode when you are discussing the disconnect between Movie reviews and Game reviews. I think a big part of why Game reviews are more privy to "this is a good game, even though I don't personally like it," is because Game reviewers are looking at the potential in games. A movie is a spectacle and the reviewer is looking at it thinking "that's cool, people will like it." A game reviewer is looking at the game and seeing various elements come together, one of which is the interactivity which for each person will be different. With this idea even if your interaction with the game is not stellar, the reviewer can step aside and say "I can see where a different interaction would work here," or "Not my piece of cake but this interaction has potential for other gamers." A game is not simply a one way spectacle and there is no way a reviewer can come up with all possible interactions. Thus they must be more open to the fact that some people will enjoy it because they will play it their own way. The amorphous nature of how a game will play out gives it the opportunity to be reviewed much differently than a straight forward, one-way movie. Not a terribly articulate way of stating this but hopefully you understand. Oh and for validation, Thanks for all you do :).

    Posted: July 7, 2010 4:11 PM
    Matave
AdChoices