X

Feedback -- May NPD Results & The Effects of Reviews

Posted: July 7, 2010
Feedback -- May NPD Results & The Effects of Reviews
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/47315/feedback-may-npd-results-the-effects-of-reviews/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/244634_LGST/feedback.jpg
Video_47315
We're joined by research group EEDAR's Geoffrey Zatkin to explain how game reviews affect our purchasing behavior and recommendations. Also, May sales results, and hardcore gamers being wrong for a decade.

Comments are Closed

  • XwingVmanX

    OW OW OOOOWWWW!! Crap I think I learned something.....

    Posted: July 7, 2010 8:05 PM
    XwingVmanX
  • Vaelhan

    I have to say I don't honestly believe there's anything out there for the ''hardcore'' gamer. Though the definition of hardcore has changed drastically.. In the ps2 era most of ur casual gamers were fps sports and racing gamers with ur oldschool JRPG leading the way for the hardcore.

    Speaking of which what ever happened to the rpg in general ? I have to say that even though I own a ps3 and really enjoy it... I would pray to see releases along the lines of Suikoden, or Grandia, or hell even a ps3 remake of ff7 and 8 using the same story but completely revamping graphics and gameplay. If there was, oh lets just say, there was a final fantasy game made for the move that would you to physically cast you're summons, or take the open world aspect that previous ff games took and have the move woven into the actual gameplay and not just the combat it would sell very well, as well as give something for hardcore and casual players alike.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 8:03 PM
    Vaelhan
  • iMonk

    Love this show,
    ... next time plug in the mic of the guest. that's all I am saying,

    Posted: July 7, 2010 7:57 PM
  • Broheimer

    So what your saying feedback if some developer uses the Unreal Engine and comes out the same week as Bioshock and Batman AA it will do well hmmmmmmm

    Posted: July 7, 2010 7:45 PM
    Broheimer
  • Brandon_M

    If you're a online first person shooter fanatic and looking for something refreshing this summer check out 'Black Light: Tango Down'. It was released today on the xbox live marketplace and only costs about $15. Yes it's only a downloadable arcade game, but there is some serious substance packed into this baby. There is also a trial if you're skeptical but for $15 you can't really go wrong. Check it out!

    Posted: July 7, 2010 7:44 PM
    Brandon_M
  • jjblaster

    I think for me the biggest difference between Video game reviews and Movie reviews is the not just the trust but the personal connection! I used to go to gamespot for most of my reviews and found them giving bad reviews to games that i liked, but now that i follow all of the x-play stuff and highly value Adam Sessler's opinion and i always enjoy his soapbox there for i trust the reviews of this website. (PS give a wider range of ratings!!! there are hundreds of 4 stars and 5 stars which muddle things. give me a 4.8 and 4.1 please!!)

    also movies can have great box office numbers and bad reviews, like The Last Airbender because you have to spend money and go to the movie to see if you like it unlike a video game where you do everything you can to make sure you don't buy a bad game. To buy a game it has to be amazing and one that i'll play over and over again, where as going to a so-so movie in theatres isn't a big investment, when a few months later there is no chance i'm going to buy that DVD or Blue-ray.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 7:18 PM
    jjblaster
  • ControlV

    What happened to the good opening sound?! :O
    OR THE BUZZER FOR ADAM?!!!

    Posted: July 7, 2010 7:14 PM
    ControlV
  • Lord_Wake

    This was a great show guys, probably one of my favorites. I love it when I feel smarter after watching Feedback.

    p.s. would love a G4 app for the android market!

    Posted: July 7, 2010 7:07 PM
    Lord_Wake
  • Delisage

    Hey Sessler, you talk too much. Let the rest of the panel have more facetime.

    The idea that gamers trust game reviews is pretty specious. The industry has so much clout with you guys that everyone in the mainstream gaming press is suspect. Why do you think Metacritic is such a big deal these days? It's harder (but hardly impossible) for aggregate scores to be misrepresented with questionable practices.

    Also, can we get rid of the percentile scores already? If you never use scores under 60 aside from joke reviews what is the point? (What the difference in an 83 game and a 85? Three smart guy, but as a buying decision this type of feedback is worthless. G4 is better in this reguard them most.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 6:58 PM
    Delisage
  • EphHarris

    Hey Feedback crew.
    Great show really enjoyed it. I'm just wondering why everyone is coming down on the Kinect so bad. Now, I'll agree the pressconfrence was pretty bad and they should have had at least one major title announcement. But, as far as targeting out side of their fan base I think they nailed it. I'm married and have three very small children. We have a 360 and a Wii. Outside of Rockband I'm the only one who plays the 360. After the Kinect comes out that will all change. My wife is super excited for Dance Central. After she saw it she declaired, "We have to get this the day it comes out. I don't care how much it costs I want it." My three year daughter can't get enough of the Kinectimals video she'll watch it over and over again. She really wants to play games she trys to play Mario with my oldest but can't figure out the buttons to push. Now she won't have to.

    Other thing you guys keep saying is the Hardcore doesn't want this. Have you looked at the Fan page on Facebook? Today they asked people what kinds of games they want to play with Kinect and every suggestion was for hardcore games. GTA, CoD, Gears, you name it people want it.

    I just think you guys are being really harsh on a bad pressconfrence. Give it time and we'll see. As for me I'll be getting one and a new Xbox so I'll still get to play sometime.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 6:47 PM
    EphHarris
  • ckenny07

    So I think the camera guy has a thing for Abbie, notice how the shot was on her all the time, even when she wasn't talking. Not that I blame him, Abbie is amazing.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 6:44 PM
  • spiralking04

    It sound like game critics have "FORCE POWERS" when it comes to talking about games.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 6:42 PM
    spiralking04
  • RPG-fan

    Regarding releasing games more apart, it's easier said than done. I'm sure publishers would like to do that but at times games need more polish and they delay their release or developers are pressured to release the game early because it's been in development for so long. For example, Remedy probably thought they have chosen a good release date with only Super Mario Galaxy 2 as the only major release for that month. Then Rockstar pushed back the release for their 800 pound gorilla known as Red Dead Redemption to the same date as AW. Now Alan Wake has to compete with not only SMG 2 but with RDR as well and we all know who dominated the sales for that month.

    For those who don't know what game Abbie is talking about that sold a lot and got good reviews from critics but she didn't like is Darksiders. I know it's the game that must never be spoken in Feedback, but just thought I let people know.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 6:40 PM
    RPG-fan
  • JustTheBeginning

    Well now we know why MW2 sells so well, they just worry about advertising the heck out of it and drumming it up and dont give a *bleep* if it is actually polished or not by release date.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 6:34 PM
    JustTheBeginning
  • Angry Jessie

    Great show, very interesting and very informative, I did not know review scores affected people's opinions so much

    Posted: July 7, 2010 6:19 PM
    Angry+Jessie
  • ckenny07

    So I think the camera guy has a thing for Abbie, notice how the shot was on her all the time, even when she wasn't talking. Not that I blame him, Abbie is amazing.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 6:19 PM
  • Doctor Professor

    Andrew if you're gonna be in the room anyway don't hide behind Patrick. Sit in front of a mike and participate in the conversation! I'm sure you can do that and still write on that piece of paper at the same time.

    OR CAN YOU?!?!?!??!!!!?!?!?

    Posted: July 7, 2010 6:18 PM
    Doctor+Professor
  • Socrates'sMind

    Another great episode of Feedback... This was a very interesting ep... To see how reviews and word of mouth can really affect game sales to those kind of values is shocking.. Keep up the good scientific work EEDAR team...

    Posted: July 7, 2010 6:16 PM
    Socrates'sMind
  • daemonbellum

    It's worth noting how reviewing a game is a much longer and involved process than reviewing a movie. I wonder how the difference in time investment might contribute to the disconnect (or accord) between critical and mass reception in the two mediums.

    Also, please put Abbie back in her usual spot. An unfamiliar seating arrangement trips me up.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 6:12 PM
    daemonbellum
  • linc77

    its kinda true that games I buy I hope for good reviews. I actually take game reviews (mostly from G4 and IGN) into great consideration before I buy a game. For example the force uleashed was a game i was going to buy immediatly...until i saw the reviews. I actually just bought it a month or two ago and liked it. I regret waiting to buy it I know alot of people didnt like it but i did so there

    Posted: July 7, 2010 6:11 PM
    linc77
AdChoices