X

Feedback -- May NPD Results & The Effects of Reviews

Posted: July 7, 2010
Feedback -- May NPD Results & The Effects of Reviews
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/47315/feedback-may-npd-results-the-effects-of-reviews/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/244634_LGST/feedback.jpg
Video_47315
We're joined by research group EEDAR's Geoffrey Zatkin to explain how game reviews affect our purchasing behavior and recommendations. Also, May sales results, and hardcore gamers being wrong for a decade.

Comments are Closed

  • Funk_Doc

    I can't be the only one wondering why Brock Lesnar is on the title page when there is no discussion of him or UFC. Must be one of those glitches

    Posted: July 7, 2010 10:29 PM
  • Meatball_Mamba

    Really interesting Feedback, Zatkin made a great guest - it's just a shame that every time he spoke it sounded like he was in a bathroom stall in the next room.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 10:14 PM
    Meatball_Mamba
  • chargers72

    great show this week geoffrey zatkin was a great guest i like the dynamic of someone from the industry on the panel so we get away from the consumer/reviewer side of it and hear what dev types have to say even if it was only devil's advocate

    Posted: July 7, 2010 10:13 PM
  • TeroLost

    ...Sigh...Where's the love for the Android Phone users? It's great you guy finally put out an Apple App, but what I really want to see is one for Android 2.0+!

    I know ya'll can make it happen, c'mon!

    Posted: July 7, 2010 10:11 PM
  • Tidusjunior

    cool guest you had on your show it was very interesting to listen to the study thing they did.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 9:56 PM
    Tidusjunior
  • steveo3242391

    I can say that I do think the study was accurate, but I have some comments about my style of picking
    out games to play. I'll start with games that get low scores, but I played and thought were good, and
    up to amazing.

    One recently was Alien Vs Predator. My roomate loved the old game for PC and rented this game. He liked the multiplayer, but found the singleplayer to not be so good. The reviews for this game
    were pretty bleak, but I thought the singleplayer was good when I played it one after the other.

    Modern Warfare's campaigns are said to be the decent at best, but when I played from COD 4, to MW2, the story was very good, and at the end of MW2, I saw the entire thing play out like a great movie.

    As for Bioshock 2, I thought that a lot of reviewers got it wrong. I loved the first one (beat it
    twice), and I thought the second's story wasn't as good as the first ones (but hey that would be very
    difficult), but I still thought it was a strong story. Everyone was saying that the story was not too
    good, so multiple times throughout my playthrough I thought it would end on a cliffhanger or something, but it didn't and I had a warm ending. I loved that game, and in terms of score average, I would give it a bit below Bioshock 1, and hey, IT'S MORE RAPTURE.

    Now for Assassin's Creed. This part is especially for you guys at G4. The first was good, but it was
    very repetitive, and got old, but the combat was nice and kept it going. AC2 was very good, a lot
    better than the first but you guys gave it a 4/5, but the first one 5/5. I remember this striking a lot
    of controversy, but Adam just told the people to read the reviews and see the difference (The study
    revolves on game scores so I guess reading reviews is out of bounds here). The second one had a very good story, as opposed to the first one where you did the same thing for each guy you killed. Plus in the second one, you got to do many more things, like manage your own mansion.

    I played Uncharted 2 and loved the game for the gameplay visuals, combat, and collecting. The story was very good with twists and turn, but I thought the betrayals were similar to the first and was like,
    "well, not too surprised to see that happening". It just needed saying, but the game should still
    receive a perfect score.

    There is one game I haven't payed which got pretty mediocre game scores and that is Metro 2033. I love the post-apocalyptic game atmosphere, and a lot of things I saw about it was bugs, bugs, bugs. I do hate them bugs, but with patches (which I'm not sure if there have been any) could fix this. The
    atmosphere will drive me in, and am hoping this game will be very good.

    Now to why I don't pick some games. I look at what the reviewer tells me in his or her videos about the
    game. Not going to lie here, but for most games I just watch the video review, or look at pros/cons if
    there is no vid. Some major releases, like Mass Effect 2, I read, but with games I was never even
    considering to play, I don't read or watch the video because they don't appeal to me - like many Wii
    games was Pre-ordered! With I guess Metro 2033 as an exception (I can't think of another off the top of
    my head, but I'm sure it's there) If a game has serious problems, I won't pick it up or even Gamefly
    it, because I consider myself a hardcore gamer who loves great gaming, and yes unfortunately likes
    trophies/acheveiments ---> I R Loser.

    Speaking of those trophies, I played Terminator Salvation. 12 Trophies all gold, and the game was
    terrible, just like the reviews said. *all who play it, do EARN the 12 trophies by the way.

    Lastly, Geoffrey made a good point about how movies get bad reviews yet people go and see them, so I guess movies contradict this study, and show that scores aren't everthing, but are still a factor. He
    also said he knows people who play all the games that come out, and for normal people, that isn't
    possible, so we need to be eclectic with our choices.

    AND QUESTION FOR ADAM: Are you upset at this whole situation because most people just look at the scores and pros/cons, and they don't actually read the reviews, or should people really try out a game first instead of saying it's bad because or thses reviews?

    Posted: July 7, 2010 9:19 PM
    steveo3242391
  • sunsfan9961

    backbreaker was a great football game that had wide spread negative reviews. most reviewers bashed the game for approaching video game football from a new perspective that in reality made it more realistic

    Posted: July 7, 2010 9:10 PM
    sunsfan9961
  • loveassassin13

    Okay, building on that study in relation to you guys. I do like your reviews and I depend on them to find good games. But, it depends what kind of game. What I mean is, if you review a game, which, say I love the series of and you give ti a bad review, I probably will pick it up anyway. Where the reviews really matter to me, are games that I either haven't seen much about or haven't really heard of. The reviews allow me to find possible games I might like, but not just because of the score, but because of the discussion on the show you do about each game you review. The reviews do influence my purchase on games I don't really know, and, may make me think better of them. But, not so much how I feel on games I really want/like or games I have already played.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 8:59 PM
    loveassassin13
  • Ariellog

    Demon Souls People all word of mouth.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 8:43 PM
    Ariellog
  • rikkuster

    Even when there's a game that I know I want to buy before it comes out I still like to hear what professional reviewers think about that game. It's reassuring to hear from someone you trust, such as a reviewer, that certain aspects of the game that you enjoy are enjoyed by another person. It's possible that it can make you more willing to go out and buy that game the day it comes out as opposed to a few months later when the price has dropped.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 8:42 PM
    rikkuster
  • UltimaBlackMage

    I can see how the study of how game reviews can have the results. I just wish there were more results pertaining to all aspect of reviews including video reviews. As for the gaming drought ending with an unexpected blockbuster I think Metroid: Other M may be that game considering it suppose to be coming out at the end of August or early September. Also why isn't the G4 app on the Australian iPhone app store? I'd really love to have that app available here.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 8:41 PM
    UltimaBlackMage
  • jokervenom6

    That sure did look like Bret Michaels at 29:30.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 8:32 PM
    jokervenom6
  • Ariellog

    Demon Souls People all word of mouth.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 8:29 PM
    Ariellog
  • TheDrunkardHu

    awesome feedback... every feedback should be, and typically is, as informative as this one. thanks guys!

    Posted: July 7, 2010 8:25 PM
    TheDrunkardHu
  • AntiquesRoadwarrior

    Is that window airtight? If not, you all have Bret Michaels Disease. It's a POISONous STD.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 8:24 PM
    AntiquesRoadwarrior
  • snickitz

    My little sister walks in, sees Patrick talking, gasps, and then says "He's so young." That made me laugh. Good show.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 8:24 PM
    snickitz
  • AntiquesRoadwarrior

    Is that window airtight? If not, you all have Bret Michaels Disease. It's a POISONous STD.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 8:19 PM
    AntiquesRoadwarrior
  • AntiquesRoadwarrior

    Is that window airtight? If not, you all have Bret Michaels Disease. It's a POISONous STD.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 8:17 PM
    AntiquesRoadwarrior
  • cardinalsfan1122

    Soon we will see 100 5/5's a year and adam will move into a mansion and own a ferrari LOL

    Posted: July 7, 2010 8:17 PM
    cardinalsfan1122
  • TheDrunkardHu

    awesome feedback... every feedback should be, and typically is, as informative as this one. thanks guys!

    Posted: July 7, 2010 8:10 PM
    TheDrunkardHu
AdChoices