X

Feedback -- May NPD Results & The Effects of Reviews

Posted: July 7, 2010
Feedback -- May NPD Results & The Effects of Reviews
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/47315/feedback-may-npd-results-the-effects-of-reviews/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/244634_LGST/feedback.jpg
Video_47315
We're joined by research group EEDAR's Geoffrey Zatkin to explain how game reviews affect our purchasing behavior and recommendations. Also, May sales results, and hardcore gamers being wrong for a decade.

Comments are Closed

  • expl0siv0

    I find it silly that you all are getting so down on Kinect's software announcements. Crappy launch titles have been a part of every piece of hardware's existence since, well, ever. We just need to wait for the talented devs to get a grasp on the capabilities of the technology who are being inspired by their own creativity instead of mediocre devs being put forward by the hardware developer itself saying: "we need games to be released with our hardware!!1!" Which usually ends up with a crap game. In other words it takes time and I'm sure Kinect will have its hay day eventually it just won't be this year.
    I think this would be the game industry's response to Geoffrey's comment on game releases not being throughout the year like movies are: technology drives the industry. In movies a good movie is a good movie no matter if you see it months after it comes out on christmas morning (like many games are received). But in games you will notice little things that don't play as well due only to the fact that they are not even a year older, be it graphics or controls. Long story short, I think that November will probably be the big time for games for a long time coming, as much as it pains me to say so.
    My answer to the question would be games in long running and usually successful franchises this can be the case. A more specific example I would use would be CoD: WaW. The reviews were lower for this game but I think due to the fact that it said CoD on the cover, a lot of people bought it. Given WaW wasn't that terrible, it was more of just a lower point in the series.
    What is Andrew always doing in his little niche behind Patrick anyway?
    Also that seems like a really well done and informative study. Hopefully you can come back and talk about more of your stuff, Geoffrey. But if you do, could you talk into the mic please?
    Great show, I'm nomming on all this delish.

    Posted: July 8, 2010 7:40 AM
    expl0siv0
  • dino2100

    I think adam meant Hardcore gamers supported the wii by saying it is a stepping stone for those who don't play game to get into games. May have been hardcore Nintendo Fans....

    It just isn't feed back unless that sign falls lol.

    Posted: July 8, 2010 7:20 AM
  • xBLOODxDEMONx

    I still want to know how lionhead will use Kinnect for Fable 3.

    Posted: July 8, 2010 7:16 AM
  • BleedingPaint

    Was that Bret Michaels at 29:30?

    Posted: July 8, 2010 7:13 AM
    BleedingPaint
  • Ewoc

    Feedback, where I can fold cloths and watch something very awesome and interesting. Thank you!

    Posted: July 8, 2010 6:47 AM
    Ewoc
  • bumblebugbee3

    As far as games that get bad reviews and sell good the Warriors series is a great example.

    Posted: July 8, 2010 5:18 AM
    bumblebugbee3
  • Zzanzabar

    Whoa there Adam. Hardcore gamers supported the Wii? What happened did you have a dose of selective amnesia? I remember you and several of your G4 companions completely dumping on the Wii before its release. Do you remember when you and others trashed the controllers saying how awkward they where and predicted that almost 'no one' would buy into those 'ugly nun chuck looking' things. Also I remember you saying that since the Wii had NO HD that it would have 'limited appeal' to the hardcore gamer and was just a 'casual' gamers console (implying that there would be a limited market).

    As it stands the Wii caught everyone by surprise and both Sony and Microsoft are scrambling to catch up because there are FAR more casual gamers than hardcore and they are beigning to drive the market. Saying that X-play and G4 always supported the Wii is like Siskel and Ebert saying that they always liked Star Wars!

    Posted: July 8, 2010 3:13 AM
    Zzanzabar
  • Powas

    why is the iphone app not available por argentina???

    Posted: July 8, 2010 2:23 AM
  • gamebit1

    get feedback on T.V.

    Posted: July 8, 2010 2:03 AM
    gamebit1
  • Powas

    why is the iphone app not available por argentina???

    Posted: July 8, 2010 1:51 AM
  • BBTheBear

    Believe us when we say we give a crap, we give a HUGE crap.
    I may already have my mind set on buying a certain game, but I always make sure to check the reviews of the pros juuuuust to double check. (and maybe save some money). So we thank you guys for your hard reviewing work.

    Posted: July 8, 2010 12:36 AM
    BBTheBear
  • skillsthatkills

    I give a crap Adam :)

    Posted: July 8, 2010 12:23 AM
    skillsthatkills
  • skillsthatkills

    after watching Attack of the Show and listening to Morgan about that Crackdown 2 isn't a story driven game but you'll love and the collecting and just having fun and still gave the game a decent review, while other reviews have it an okay review. This is very similar to movie reviews when the review of a movie isn't that great, but people still find the joy of the game

    Posted: July 8, 2010 12:06 AM
    skillsthatkills
  • Link585

    Abbie needs her chair

    Posted: July 7, 2010 11:37 PM
    Link585
  • SirCitadel

    MIC 2. MIC 2. CHECK. CHECK.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 11:26 PM
    SirCitadel
  • ricky047

    very interesting show, wish the guest spoke louder into the mic.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 11:25 PM
    ricky047
  • V_Translanka

    Comparing games to movies isn't going to be entirely accurate because when you go to a movie and you don't like it you're out a few bucks and a couple hours, but a game purchase is something you invest not only more money but more time into...So while critics may hate Transformers, people will still go to see it, perhaps even just to see how bad it is. Doesn't work that way so much with games...right, Deadly Premonition?

    Posted: July 7, 2010 11:14 PM
    V_Translanka
  • Bluecode13

    Geoffrey Zatkin is in Abbie Heppe's Chair

    Posted: July 7, 2010 11:09 PM
    Bluecode13
  • Cathartic Denoument

    Yeah, Adam, Abbie, & Patrick..You guys didn't know that?

    Your reviews have more weight than y'all initially realized.
    Especially in these times, when people have to be more prudent with spending their money.
    You guys are our "Game Filters" so to speak..!
    So thank you for saving us a bunch of money on car ins-..err..videogames!! (^_^)'
    ----------
    @Patrick:

    You should definitely try out the Red Alert series from Command & Conquer. =D
    Red Alert was my very first RTS game, and then my (very same) friends (who introduced me to Red Alert) introduced me to StarCraft.
    ----------
    My answer to the question of the week:
    The game that Abbie was alluding to - we all know which game that is.
    And thats all I have to say about that.
    ----------
    The disconnect here, is that the videogame medium is still relatively young, so Gamers & Game Reviewers have grown up together with games, especially in terms of exchanging "feedback" - communicating with each other started off as the norm.
    Whereas Movie Critics & Movie Buffs/Cinephiles haven't exactly launched from the movie platform at the same time.
    I think the phrase I'm looking for here is, Gamers & Game Reviewers are of "equal yoke", whereas Movie Critics & Cinephiles are not.
    They did not grow up together already used to the idea of exchanging opinions.
    There was already a pre-existing wedge in mentality between movie critics & cinephiles.

    And..then again..there's also a slight difference between a Critic & a Reviewer, soo..yeahh..
    "Critics", by nomenclature, are biased (predisposed to bias), usually exclusively looking for flaws; "Reviewers", by nomenclature, are not (should not), usually evaluating with a checklist.
    However, we understand how difficult it gets sometimes, and your roles as a Game Reviewer sometimes eclipses that of a Game Critic. (I guess you guys just need a kind reminder once in a while.)

    Going back to my first paragraph - yes, your reviews greatly influence our purchasing (or not purchasing) of a game. There's the validation of your career. You're welcome. =)
    But most importantly..Thank You. =D
    ----------
    BTW, since May NPD reports are already out, may you guys please post an article of the May NPD reports so we can check it out? Thank you!

    Posted: July 7, 2010 10:39 PM
    Cathartic+Denoument
  • Cathartic Denoument

    Yeah, Adam, Abbie, & Patrick..You guys didn't know that?

    Your reviews have more weight than y'all initially realized.
    Especially in these times, when people have to be more prudent with spending their money.
    You guys are our "Game Filters" so to speak..!
    So thank you for saving us a bunch of money on car ins-..err..videogames!! (^_^)'
    ----------
    @Patrick:

    You should definitely try out the Red Alert series from Command & Conquer. =D
    Red Alert was my very first RTS game, and then my (very same) friends (who introduced me to Red Alert) introduced me to StarCraft.
    ----------
    My answer to the question of the week:
    The game that Abbie was alluding to - we all know which game that is.
    And thats all I have to say about that.
    ----------
    The disconnect here, is that the videogame medium is still relatively young, so Gamers & Game Reviewers have grown up together with games, especially in terms of exchanging "feedback" - communicating with each other started off as the norm.
    Whereas Movie Critics & Movie Buffs/Cinephiles haven't exactly launched from the movie platform at the same time.
    I think the phrase I'm looking for here is, Gamers & Game Reviewers are of "equal yoke", whereas Movie Critics & Cinephiles are not.
    They did not grow up together already used to the idea of exchanging opinions.
    There was already a pre-existing wedge in mentality between movie critics & cinephiles.

    And..then again..there's also a slight difference between a Critic & a Reviewer, soo..yeahh..
    "Critics", by nomenclature, are biased (predisposed to bias), usually exclusively looking for flaws; "Reviewers", by nomenclature, are not (should not), usually evaluating with a checklist.
    However, we understand how difficult it gets sometimes, and your roles as a Game Reviewer sometimes eclipses that of a Game Critic. (I guess you guys just need a kind reminder once in a while.)

    Going back to my first paragraph - yes, your reviews greatly influence our purchasing (or not purchasing) of a game. There's the validation of your career. You're welcome. =)
    But most importantly..Thank You. =D
    ----------
    BTW, since May NPD reports are already out, may you guys please post an article of the May NPD reports so we can check it out? Thank you!

    Posted: July 7, 2010 10:34 PM
    Cathartic+Denoument
AdChoices