X

Feedback -- May NPD Results & The Effects of Reviews

Posted: July 7, 2010
Feedback -- May NPD Results & The Effects of Reviews
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/47315/feedback-may-npd-results-the-effects-of-reviews/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/244634_LGST/feedback.jpg
Video_47315
We're joined by research group EEDAR's Geoffrey Zatkin to explain how game reviews affect our purchasing behavior and recommendations. Also, May sales results, and hardcore gamers being wrong for a decade.

Comments are Closed

  • xnerd23x

    i think resident evil 5 sold well
    from a not so perfect 3/5

    although game informer gave it a 9.5/10

    Posted: July 8, 2010 3:32 PM
    xnerd23x
  • blueboykc

    abbie do you like crackdown 2 as much as the first one? im curious what you think of it knowing how you really liked the first one..

    Posted: July 8, 2010 2:46 PM
    blueboykc
  • blueboykc

    what does andrew do to get put in the corner every week? it must be baddddd....

    Posted: July 8, 2010 2:34 PM
    blueboykc
  • speedram

    I always read g4 reviews before I buy anymore. 60 dollars is to much money to guess on anymore. So please don't sell out. As a die hard gamer I really do rely on trusted game reviewers not to get screwed. Very good feed back.

    Posted: July 8, 2010 2:29 PM
    speedram
  • LeBigMac

    Less than two years; technology grows exponential, not linear, which means it grows faster and faster. So what took 2 years, will take 1 year now.

    Posted: July 8, 2010 1:44 PM
    LeBigMac
  • drangel_jam

    Wow, and I thought last weak's was the best epi. Keep it up guys.

    Posted: July 8, 2010 10:23 AM
    drangel_jam
  • drangel_jam

    I hope the Feedback crew invites people more often, it's good to add a new perspective to the episodes.

    He's right about not trusting movie reviews. I personally stopped watching IGN movie reviews ever since the bogus Dragon Ball and SF: The Legend of Chun-li reviews. I don't know if they were paid, but they didn't feel genuine and consistent compared to other movies'.
    While I've never been big on movie reviews, I only enjoy Spill, Roger Ebert and those guys at ABC Movie reviews. I really like when reviewers contradict themselves, and really give me a sense when they are being objective and subjective. If they can't convey that, I don't even waste my time checking out the review.

    Reviews are opinions, sometimes I appreciate objective criticism as much as constructive and subjective critique as well.

    Posted: July 8, 2010 10:17 AM
    drangel_jam
  • Sjoes

    Okay, Adam just made me create an account on G4.
    I really value your opinion, Adam. But I also enjoy the other people's views. That's why i watch Feedback every week, as well as Sessler's Soapbox etc.

    I don't get G4 on my tv over here in Europe, but you guys sure make great webcasts and you have great views on todays industry.
    I agree that we (as an audience) have great trust in game reviewers. Not everyone or all sites live up to the expectations, but overall... it's pretty damn good compared to reviewers in other industries. I think, as a gamer, we should be proud of that.
    I also put some value in my friends opinions, but I always make sure i watch or read a review to make sure I'm gonna like it as well. Since there are so many different genres, reviews make it easier to judge a game, instead of just buying b/c of a friends opinion.

    Also, I'd like to point out that reviews are of great value for several other reasons. First of all, they can attract people to certain products which they didn't know where there. I've started an entire Indie game collection because a dutch gamemagazine also covers alot of indie games and it works great. I didn't know that part of the industry a few years back. And some indie games are pure.. gold.. or what ever you wanna call it.
    until I actually bought one But same goes for someone new to a certain platform. I wasn't very up2date on playstation games, (first console.. whee =p).. Since then I've bought tons of games, mainly because of good (video)reviews. And most of them, I don't regret.
    The other reason is.. some non-hardcore gamers just don't know the market really well. And you guys (reviewers) are the ones who can guide them. And I honestly think you're doing really good job.

    Keep it up =)

    Posted: July 8, 2010 9:59 AM
    Sjoes
  • drangel_jam

    I don't get the outrage about the girly girls that showcased the video chat on kinect, I didn't tkae them as a representation of female gamers. I took them as a representation of the casual market, especially the twitter and facebook network heads.

    Posted: July 8, 2010 9:50 AM
    drangel_jam
  • drangel_jam

    I don't get the outrage about the girly girls that showcased the video chat on kinect, I didn't tkae them as a representation of female gamers. I took them as a representation of the casual market, especially the twitter and facebook network heads.

    Posted: July 8, 2010 9:41 AM
    drangel_jam
  • Insane_genius

    Great show.i agree with the demos topic fully.as much as i want to see some,i know they could destory the actual game.and the full game could be beyond fantastic

    Posted: July 8, 2010 9:23 AM
    Insane_genius
  • drangel_jam

    I can't believe Adam asked Abbie, "Did you blow anything up?" Com'on man, where is the eloquence in you? You were talking to a lady.

    Posted: July 8, 2010 9:22 AM
    drangel_jam
  • Tsuiyo

    What truly defines a "hardcore" game? This question has been plaguing me for months.

    Posted: July 8, 2010 9:14 AM
    Tsuiyo
  • LangWu99

    As always job well done guys, as others have asked please check your mic levels. Remind your guests they need to talk into a mic not 4 ft away from it. I would have to turn the volume way up to hear him and then when one of the panel who sat closer to the mic would say something it was crazy loud.

    On point with topic, some reviewers or review sites can be a bit more biased to certain franchises or types of games that is why a good informed consumer always has more than one source they draw from. Just like any good informed citezin shouldn't take their news from just one source (cough cbs, new york post, cough)

    Posted: July 8, 2010 9:14 AM
    LangWu99
  • BENonG4

    WTF HE TOOK MY SCIENCE FAIR IDEA!!!!! And I was hoping you would answer my question- Would you rather be crucified or eaten by buffalo. I will post the comment on every question of the week article until you guys answer it.

    Posted: July 8, 2010 9:07 AM
    BENonG4
  • Haserhud

    Looks like someone's mic wasn't on...

    Posted: July 8, 2010 8:49 AM
    Haserhud
  • sodared

    Settle down G4 reviewers. You are giving too much weight to that study. Who s looking for validation now?

    This was a very small study. Lots of studies out there use hundreds, thousands, even hundreds of thousands of participants. Besides never playing Planets vs Zombies before how were the participants chosen? From what population were they chosen from? What age group? What gender? Were they gamers? This study s conclusions are just generalizations not facts. I find it very hard to believe that game company s are going to alter there strategies and marketing because of this small study. I don t think the study will have a big impact on the industry. Many more are needed.

    I think it s a very different thing if someone is giving me a game rather than me going out to buy a game. Also there are a lot of games out there that I would buy but I only buy a percentage of those. Just saying I would buy a game is not the same thing as actually buying it.

    I do admit this is very interesting. I read many game reviews, not for validation of my opinions, but for information about games I m interested in. Reviews are helpful in my decision making when I want to get a game. I want to know about the game mechanics, the controls, and the story. I want to make an informed decision. I do admit reviews help weed out the crappy games. My perception of what is possibly a bad game is not that a reviewer said it was bad but what information I obtained from the review. Does the game have the things I like about games or does it have the many things I hate about games? For example, I hate backtracking, if a review reveals a lot of backtracking I may not want to play that game.

    In reference to the discussion about demos, last year I was very interested in Brutal Legend, I played the demo and hated it. I decided not to buy that game. The art, story and the rock music were cool but the game play was terrible. At least for me. The game play also did not resemble what was being marketed to me. (By the way, many reviewers recommended that game.)

    Posted: July 8, 2010 8:45 AM
    sodared
  • roehn117

    dont feel bad abbie i was a hundred percent in rdr by the end of week 2 of it coming out

    Posted: July 8, 2010 8:42 AM
    roehn117
  • Reedo2000

    Just what exactly are you taking notes of, Andrew? I have to agree with Doctor Professor. It would be great if you joined the conversation more. Also, will this be a new part of Feedback where you'll be relegated to kids' table in the corner? Just be sure to write 100 times "I will not mention Lost to Adam again".
    Great show guys!

    Posted: July 8, 2010 8:03 AM
    Reedo2000
  • nepos13

    have to say best Feedback ever! I am really glad this study was done. Abbie needs her own show btw...or more time on xplay.

    Posted: July 8, 2010 7:52 AM
    nepos13
AdChoices