X

Feedback -- May NPD Results & The Effects of Reviews

Posted: July 7, 2010
Feedback -- May NPD Results & The Effects of Reviews
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/47315/feedback-may-npd-results-the-effects-of-reviews/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/244634_LGST/feedback.jpg
Video_47315
We're joined by research group EEDAR's Geoffrey Zatkin to explain how game reviews affect our purchasing behavior and recommendations. Also, May sales results, and hardcore gamers being wrong for a decade.

Comments are Closed

  • ZeroMajor01

    My xbox will be collecting a lot of dust as soon as StarCraft 2 is coming out

    Posted: July 9, 2010 5:49 PM
    ZeroMajor01
  • G4Punisher1

    couldn't they at least turn up Geoffrey Zatkin mic. He was close to it. seemed like they didn't even want people to hear them.

    Posted: July 9, 2010 2:43 PM
  • ScienceOfSleep

    droves of people can go to a crappy movie because a movie is maybe ten bucks at most and will last 2 hours. games are more risky /// $60 plus dozens of hours just to experience the whole thing.

    Posted: July 9, 2010 1:28 PM
    ScienceOfSleep
  • metelhead_9000

    Just for the record game reviews (expecially those from G4) have a high influence on whether or not I am going to spend my money for a game. The main reason this is, is because as you said in this episode of feedback you could make the worst game in the world look cool in a trailer and the opposite is also true. There are times when a trailer really doesn't do it for me and based on that I am not to excited about the game. Reviews are a better way for me to know if a game is worth buying. The reason that G4's reviews have an even more powerful effect on me is because I know the people reviewing them. This means the whole topic at the end of the show (respecting a game even if you don't particularly like it) has a greater effect. For example if Adam were to review an MMO anything that he said really impressed him is going to be that much stronger of an arguement because he generally doesn't like MMO's.

    Posted: July 9, 2010 12:16 PM
    metelhead_9000
  • metelhead_9000

    Just for the record game reviews (expecially those from G4) have a high influence on whether or not I am going to spend my money for a game. The main reason this is, is because as you said in this episode of feedback you could make the worst game in the world look cool in a trailer and the opposite is also true. There are times when a trailer really doesn't do it for me and based on that I am not to excited about the game. Reviews are a better way for me to know if a game is worth buying. The reason that G4's reviews have an even more powerful effect on me is because I know the people reviewing them. This means the whole topic at the end of the show (respecting a game even if you don't particularly like it) has a greater effect. For example if Adam were to review an MMO anything that he said really impressed him is going to be that much stronger of an arguement because he generally doesn't like MMO's.

    Posted: July 9, 2010 11:55 AM
    metelhead_9000
  • alwayslove2010

    Bret Michaels? Okay then.

    Posted: July 9, 2010 10:24 AM
    alwayslove2010
  • onisaur

    I think this lends towards having an opposable thumb review. Since all of you have a Favorite genre, each select a Nah genre. At the end of a review in your Fav genre, spend a few seconds on your impressions of one lauded game in your Nah genre. Take the lead in Geoffrey's study on nonfan input.

    Yes, PopupVideo overlays would be cool, more education for the masses.

    Please run a basic volume normalize on the videos. I'm literally spending the entire 40+ minutes with my hand on the volume dial because Adam is so much louder than the guest. It's still worth it every week, though.

    Posted: July 9, 2010 6:53 AM
    onisaur
  • nightshiftsuckz

    I don't know about most the other hardcore gamers out there but i think the only thing that would get me to buy a kinect is if it had some way of working with games like tekken or street fighter, (i'v already learned that tekken is realy fun to play using your body as a controller from the gameworks in las vegas) but i just don't see kinect working with FPS. Also as someone who fears (and hates mentioning it)the idea for a game like dot.hack... if xbox ever gets 3D enabled with kinect then somehow i think games are going to change a little from what we know (controller based games where the fastest one to press the button wins...) to games where the player may be able to act apon small things in the games them selves,like picking up a stone off the ground and skiping it on a lake while in a game with 3D on. (not saying this is posible, just saying one day maby..twinkle twinkle little star.) If kinect wants to sell then i think that they should try and find games that can support it as a way to change the game play (for the better...) and try to keep it away from the "Just another add-on controller"

    And yes as a hardcore gamer of both FPS and games like street fighter i hope kinect does well in sale and then puts out two or three good games for the hardcore gamers in the following months.(lets not be greedy now, if all gamers were for hardcore gamers then we would all be trash talking every seconed of every day)

    In my closing statments i would just like to say... every time someone touches them selves a kitten dies... skittles... skittles...

    Posted: July 9, 2010 2:34 AM
    nightshiftsuckz
  • Anik-28-Wrath

    Disaster...couldn't watch due to terrible volume on Geoffry's Voice.

    :[

    Posted: July 9, 2010 1:32 AM
  • Anik-28-Wrath

    Disaster...couldn't watch due to terrible volume on Geoffry's Voice.

    :[

    Posted: July 9, 2010 1:23 AM
  • ThePatriotDragon

    Adam you should feel very validated. I just made this account to tell you that once i saw your Uncharted 2 review i went straight to walmart and bought it without knowing much about the series. And i must say it was one of the best purchases i made. and one more thing..why does G4 hate on Canada so much?

    Posted: July 9, 2010 12:13 AM
  • logdog200x

    Does this study mean that maybe the G4 team will give some consideration to expanding the vague five point system for a more accurate 10 point one? Ive never critisized xplay or its reviews(and thats going back to tech tv days with extended play and the old chick) but Crackdown 2, Transformers War for Cybertron, and Alan Wake all getting the same score is lazy and uninformative. I quit paying attention to movie reviews after i saw The Matrix (opening day also)and i quit paying attention to game reviews after my first subscription to Game Informer but if you update your scoring system then maybe Mr. John Casual will see that Alan Wake is an 8 and Crackdown 2 is a 7 and he will be able to make a better decision. This study shows that reviews matter and they mean money, therefore a more accurate unit of measurement is more responsible.

    Posted: July 8, 2010 9:05 PM
    logdog200x
  • chickenwingthing

    Yeah the last airbender suckedd...... really didn't want to see it but my friends are retarded...

    lqtm at around 38:20 when the cameraguy did a double take at exactly the same time I did when I noticed that the feedback sign was down again, somebody should look into that

    Posted: July 8, 2010 8:59 PM
  • logdog200x

    After all this talk about game reviews and how they effect sales has the G4 team given any thought to updating the vague 5 point system to a 10 point one? Ive never critisized xplay or its reviews(and thats going back to tech tv days with extended play and the old chick) but Crackdown 2, Transformers War for Cybertron, and Alan Wake all getting the same score is lazy. I quit paying attention to movie reviews after i saw The Matrix (opening day also)and i quit paying attention to game reviews after my first subscription to Game Informer but if you update your scoring system then maybe Mr. John Casual will see that Alan Wake is an 8 and Crackdown 2 is a 7 and be able to make a better decision. This study shows that reviews matter and they mean money, therefore a more accurate unit of measurement is more responsible.

    Posted: July 8, 2010 8:58 PM
    logdog200x
  • Rhawk187

    Thanks for choosing my question to ask on air!

    I saw the clip from AotS where Transformers 2 was brought up after I posted my question, and thought, "Oh, well, I guess my question was obvious." Was very surprised to see you picked it.

    Made my day.

    Great show as always!

    By the way Adam, I still think the Russian Roulette scene in 187 is one of Samuel L. Jacksons most intense performances.

    Posted: July 8, 2010 7:16 PM
  • Knivz

    SPEAK INTO THE MIC!!!

    Posted: July 8, 2010 5:07 PM
    Knivz
  • kilCanvas

    This may sound really weird, but around 7:43 into the video the camera man zoomed in on Abbie's eyes and I just couldn't stop staring. Abbie is really beautiful yeah?

    Posted: July 8, 2010 4:37 PM
    kilCanvas
  • Drakonzo

    Titles should have pre-game infomercials used for getting as much information as possible. Then post-game you could go look at all the juicy, opinionated, food-for-thought stuff from reviewers you like, totally negating any sort of lack of judgement (or character, if they are bribed) on their part that would result in a bad purchase.

    Posted: July 8, 2010 3:57 PM
    Drakonzo
  • xnerd23x

    oh and i have a iphone 1st gen
    the g4 app is really slow on it :/

    Posted: July 8, 2010 3:33 PM
    xnerd23x
  • xnerd23x

    i think resident evil 5 sold well
    from a not so perfect 3/5

    although game informer gave it a 9.5/10

    Posted: July 8, 2010 3:33 PM
    xnerd23x
AdChoices