X

Sessler's Soapbox: The Science of Game Reviews

Posted: July 6, 2010
Sessler's Soapbox: The Science of Game Reviews
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/47288/sesslers-soapbox-the-science-of-game-reviews/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/244515_LGST/sesslers-7-6-10.jpg
Video_47288
Adam discusses a recent study that attempted to determine if reading a review first can affect your enjoyment and opinion of a game.

Comments are Closed

  • EthanWoods

    My problem with review scores is that no one acknowledges numbers below 6 (on a 0-10 scale) as meaning anything.

    Nowadays, 6 is a terrible/bad, 7's an average, 8's a good, 9's really good, 10's overhyped.

    If people never gave perfect 10s (i.e. because perfect is impossible) then review scores would be far more useful because they're more "accurate" a represenation of how the game shapes up, so that Metacritic is more useful when you want to compare an abundance of scores.

    Obviously what the review says is most important, but if you want to properly compare right now then you've got to find and read 10 reviews.

    Posted: July 6, 2010 4:21 PM
    EthanWoods
  • GatsuBlackSword

    I have a couple of Buddie's that are casual gamers. They will basically buy anything I tell them too cause they know I know what's good. However really I just give them info based on review's I've read.

    Posted: July 6, 2010 4:14 PM
    GatsuBlackSword
  • PinkCrayon32

    how good a game is cannot be represented by a numerical value. however, this is the internet, where morons are the norm and more than an ounce of thinking can cause the whole system to crash.

    people just want to justify their buying of that game. i personally don't need that. give WET however low a score you want, i thought it was awesome and i do not regret buying it for one second.

    Posted: July 6, 2010 4:09 PM
    PinkCrayon32
  • HAMCHUNKS

    Oh man i hate the #s thing, 1-5 is the most simplest form of circumventing that weird perception that Adam was talking about

    Posted: July 6, 2010 4:09 PM
    HAMCHUNKS
  • ZoSo1337one

    *long ago

    Posted: July 6, 2010 4:05 PM
    ZoSo1337one
  • ZoSo1337one

    Just saw something i thought had only haunted my memories from ago, arise from ashes like a phoenix. Adam - Pants....

    Posted: July 6, 2010 4:04 PM
    ZoSo1337one
  • metawanderer

    Great video as always. Hope one day, we as gamers can get away from judging a game based on it's numerical score.

    Posted: July 6, 2010 4:04 PM
    metawanderer
AdChoices