X

Sessler's Soapbox: The Science of Game Reviews

Posted: July 6, 2010
Sessler's Soapbox: The Science of Game Reviews
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/47288/sesslers-soapbox-the-science-of-game-reviews/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/244515_LGST/sesslers-7-6-10.jpg
Video_47288
Adam discusses a recent study that attempted to determine if reading a review first can affect your enjoyment and opinion of a game.

Comments are Closed

  • New&Improved_S_Hawk

    Oh Mr. Sessler. Do I, the new-and-improved-steven-hawkin g, have the show for you. Follow this baby right here--> http://www.youtube.com/user/to bin00 <-- and your life will be the merrier for it. NOO this is NOT SPAM. I'm am just a casual listener of this show NooBTooB which implements a pointless review system....that came out wrong. But anyways they do the Buy/Rent/Pass system and are terribly funny as well as extremely racy in their game reviews. Defiantly tune in to see the boxed-wine-drinking, chain-saw-on-a-stick-slashing, asian-friendly, dash-loving show that is NooBTooB. Yaahoww.

    Posted: July 8, 2010 5:57 AM
    New%26Improved_S_Hawk
  • New&Improved_S_Hawk

    Oh Mr. Sessler. Do I, the new-and-improved-steven-hawkin g, have the show for you. Follow this baby right here--> http://www.youtube.com/user/to bin00 <-- and your life will be the merrier for it. NOO this is NOT SPAM. I'm am just a casual listener of this show NooBTooB which implements a pointless review system....that came out wrong. But anyways they do the Buy/Rent/Pass system and are terribly funny as well as extremely racy in their game reviews. Defiantly tune in to see the boxed-wine-drinking, chain-saw-on-a-stick-slashing, asian-friendly, dash-loving show that is NooBTooB. Yaahoww.

    Posted: July 8, 2010 5:52 AM
    New%26Improved_S_Hawk
  • Cathartic Denoument

    Here's my idea for a new Reviewing format:

    They need to borrow AOTS' DVDuesday's movie review system of "BUY, RENT, or PASS", but not limit it to one reviewer - have 3 reviewers (a la America's Best Dance Crew judge panel).
    That way, each "Arbiter" (judge, jury, & executioner) will have a vote of either "BUY, RENT, or PASS", and then the dominant vote will be the game's overall sentence.
    [e.g. 1 Buy & 2 Rents would be a strong recommendation for the game, whereas 2 Rents & 1 Pass would be a weak recommendation for the game.]

    So in short..
    A Judge panel of 3 reviewers, with a system of "BUY, RENT, or PASS".
    Plus a Fun-factor percentage scale in addition to it.

    Posted: July 8, 2010 12:44 AM
    Cathartic+Denoument
  • Cathartic Denoument

    Here's my idea for a new Reviewing format:

    They need to borrow AOTS' DVDuesday's movie review system of "BUY, RENT, or PASS", but not limit it to one reviewer - have 3 reviewers (a la America's Best Dance Crew judge panel).
    That way, each "Arbiter" (judge, jury, & executioner) will have a vote of either "BUY, RENT, or PASS", and then the dominant vote will be the game's overall sentence.
    [e.g. 1 Buy & 2 Rents would be a strong recommendation for the game, whereas 2 Rents & 1 Pass would be a weak recommendation for the game.]

    So in short..
    A Judge panel of 3 reviewers, with a system of "BUY, RENT, or PASS".
    Plus a Fun-factor percentage scale in addition to it.

    Posted: July 8, 2010 12:38 AM
    Cathartic+Denoument
  • Sage_Sakyia

    I myself rely on this site and IGN (incl. X-Play, naturally), however, if there is a game I am interested in and think "I" might like, I will at least rent it to see first. I had interest in Alpha Protocol and was actually thinking about getting it when it came out, but I wait for it to be out a little and see how the reviews and comments are, and what I read & saw, was a very unpolished game w/ a lot of flaws, so no, I never got it & never will. I won't even waste my time renting it.

    On the flipside, sort of, I wouldn't have and be enjoying Deadly Premonition if it wasn't for you guys & gals on Feedback. The next day after I saw that Feedback edition talking about that game (the 1st time) I went out and bought it, of course, it was only $20, but still, after hearing what they had to say about it, I was prone to getting it, because I trust you guys & gals.

    There are games that get a really great review that I don't really care about though, like Crackdown 2, I couldn't really careless about it, but that's just me.

    I never liked the 1-5 stars they use, if anything, it should be 1-6. I just don't feel 1-5 is precise enough, there's no real medium. Whenever I see a 3 star, I don't know, it just gives me the notion that it's not really that great, just barely average, perhaps even below average, with 2-1 stars being pretty bad.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 9:03 PM
    Sage_Sakyia
  • ryu211c

    good review or bad if i want a game i end up getting it or renting despite the reviews

    Posted: July 7, 2010 6:30 PM
  • Lunareclpse

    I would hope that the actual content of the review influences any given individual on the purchase of the game. They may see the score initially but they need to investigate further as to why it received that score. What the reviewer saw as a negative quality the reader may find it to be good. I think people also let their relation to the reviewer influence their decision. They may totally disregard what the reviewer has to say simply because of who they are or who they work for. Even though the review may contain pertinent information about the title. I tend to seek out reviews from individuals who I feel like I relate to and respect because their opinions tend to coincide with my own.

    It's my belief that the scored reviews become a problem amongst younger and casual gamers which seems to have become an infinitely more profitable crowd than us hardcore gamers. This scares the hell out of me for the future of gaming because of these demographics purchasing power. These people don't really feel a connection to industry and as such don't spend much time researching their purchase as one might when they buy a car. They see one review, one score on it, or hear something from one person and that it! They go make the purchase. Games are basically like an impulse buy to them.

    Along with reviews people also need to look into developers as well. They need to look at their game library and see who developed those games. They may be surprised to find that some of their favorites titles sitting there came from the same developers. I learned when I was a really young gamer that some studios can be counted on for putting out quality titles regardless of the reviewers opinion or score. I don't like knowing that some developers will take this report to heart and let it influence development decision or, worse yet, the reviews of their product.

    One thing that I think makes complaints unjustified about a review or purchase is the number of outlets there are out there to try out a game for themselves. Whether it be a demo, DVD/Videogame rental store, online outlets such as Gamefly, or game vendors may have the ability to let you try before you buy even with new titles. I think casual gamers are still in their infancy and will learn with time. My advice to them, or anyone for that matter: Go to multiple sources for information, test the waters and see who you like, who you believe, and who you respect. Oh, and an impulse buy is a used title that's cheap, not a new release. Video games are art and that makes them subject to personal opinion.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 5:36 PM
    Lunareclpse
  • Tman88

    Well said Adam. Reviews can have an influence to a degree but opinions are opinions. Different people will like different games. The amount of fun someone has with his/her game should be what really justifies the purchase.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 4:54 PM
    Tman88
  • kings_legacy

    funny I read in EMG and they had a article about metacritic affecting the people who made them and reviews"bonus for good rating, nothing for low scoring games". I agree with what you said in EMG Adam and in your soapbox that games publishers shouldn't try to find loopholes in the system so more people will buy a bad game or mislead people onto their quailty. Of course many people can have different opinions on games but when you use that or other means to influence game sales or bonuses to release a low quailty game that is down right disrespecting the gamers and game industry itself.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 4:43 PM
    kings_legacy
  • NortheastMonk

    Truth is you guys make such good reviews, till I make my choice instantly if I'm going to buy it or not. How I feel about it, I'd be tooting my own horn. Honestly, I only get confused when when I confuse a noninterested person. I hope that makes sense.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 3:52 PM
    NortheastMonk
  • MrQteachesMATH

    Adam may I suggest that perhaps we start to move to a "RENT" "BUY" "PASS" rating system for games on xplay and g4tv.com. I actually dont really care what score's you guys give the games, to me its more about the details in the experience and story elements. If I really want a game I will play it no matter what anyone says, however on all the titles which I have not heard of or was not anticipating its nice to have some confidence that you are not blowing your hard earned money so I come here.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 2:09 PM
    MrQteachesMATH
  • pigtails33

    this is what i dont like about g4tv.com they put the review score on the top of the page when i would rather have it on the bottom so i can read the review first

    Posted: July 7, 2010 12:20 PM
    pigtails33
  • Ted_Dancin

    Good soap! That's pretty much how I buy games, a combination of word-of-mouth and reviews.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 12:16 PM
    Ted_Dancin
  • SnakeEyes327

    I had to watch this twice because the first time I was too busy watching that game of Zuma that was going on in the background.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 12:11 PM
  • Cornish

    I'm often afraid these studies are preformed because someone is paying for it; not because the person that's actually preforming the study is interested in it. Which more or less reduce the whole study to a half baked attempt; since the person doesn't have any heart for it.

    A link to this study would be awesome.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 11:53 AM
    Cornish
  • Tsuiyo

    I have a high regard for G4's opinion. If they doesn't like it...eh, I might not buy it, or I'll rent it from Gamefly. I think it's about whoever you respect the most, that's whose opinion you'll value the most, obviously.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 10:53 AM
    Tsuiyo
  • ROUGEBLOCK

    i really think the people who go on gametrailers and mock the site for being biased should look at this Soapbox. For a lot of them can't seem to cope with gametrailers opinion being different from what they expect, thus they spam with the juxtaposition of other reviewers having the right opinion. No reviewer shall ever have the right opinion for every individual and i think people need to learn this.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 10:44 AM
    ROUGEBLOCK
  • GoldenSun92

    Out of curiousity, what game is over Adam's right shoulder? It looks interesting.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 10:42 AM
    GoldenSun92
  • expl0siv0

    "it has something to do with your mother."
    Nice burn!

    Posted: July 7, 2010 10:21 AM
    expl0siv0
  • Quixotic_Noble

    Well said Adam. People who get upset at reviews for being biased need to realize they are akin to editorials. They are subjective analysis on objective content. You need to simply get over yourselves and develop some critical thinking skills.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 9:31 AM
    Quixotic_Noble
AdChoices