X

The Influence of Video Game Reviews

Posted: July 6, 2010
The Influence of Video Game Reviews
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/47269/the-influence-of-video-game-reviews/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/244558_LGST/as20100706_theloop.jpg
Video_47269

Kevin Pereira talks to X-Play's Adam Sessler and Geoffrey Zatkin from Electronic Entertainment Design & Research Firm to talk about their study on the influence of video game reviews from professional critics.

Check back soon for the link to the official study released by the EEDAR!

Comments are Closed

  • SyCoDEVIL13

    reviews generally don't do a lot to me. for example, Red Dead Redemption got amazing reviews, but to me, the game was a bit of a disappointment. Halo 3, while still a great game, was also a bit of a disappointment, so I look at reviews as a little insight into the game and i decide whether to buy it from there.

    Posted: July 14, 2010 8:35 PM
    SyCoDEVIL13
  • horror4all

    All of this is extremely interesting. I don't pay too much attention to reviews. With movies, I don't pay attention at all because it's just $7 for me to go see it (free if I'm with a theater employee). With a video game, reviews pretty much give me an idea of a game because I usually will rent the game first. I'm the kind of person that picks up "good" and "bad" games and will play them no matter what people say and form my own opinion. My friends listen wholeheartedly to word of mouth. In Gamestop, two of my friends were looking to tryout "Army of Two". An employee came up and told them the game is pretty bad, so BOTH of them decided not to get it just because of that one person telling them that when they have not heard anything before. I told them to try it out anyway, but they said, "But he said it was bad." It kind of made me angry about how easily influenced they can be.

    Posted: July 9, 2010 10:45 PM
    horror4all
  • Lombardi

    Great segment. I never base my decision on reviews anyway (games, movies , food, etc).

    Posted: July 7, 2010 1:33 PM
    Lombardi
  • darkspectre

    In response to @5:07, simply put, there is less correlation between Hollywood movies and movie critics' reviews because movie tickets don't cost as much as video games. If full console games cost $8-$10, MAYBE video game reviews would have a less impact on game sales and gamers alike.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 6:23 AM
    darkspectre
  • RonnyRarko

    Great news artical G4 keep stuff like this coming!

    Posted: July 7, 2010 2:40 AM
    RonnyRarko
  • Darkpuppy

    I found this a very interesting study, not so much for the result but for what it actually might show and the problems with all studies and making large decisions based on them.

    Does seeing a good review/rating make you enjoy the game more, OR does it make you RATE the game better? There is a large difference between these.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 2:03 AM
    Darkpuppy
  • BlackLable69

    Yes and no, sometimes critics have something to offer and sometimes they don't, I'll let you decide which is more often. I think the real point is to not blindly follow anyone but yourself. But then ask yourself how many times do people watch a movie just out of curiosity or boredom even if their gut tells them it sucks or buy a game for said reasons? Yet and still how many people are influenced by the box office numbers alone? I tend to largely follow my instinct and let the critics pick up the peaces. Lets not even begin with how many products that were sold in mass but were terrible and people still bought them anyway "Don't want to put any company's on the spot". My point is that I think if you look at the big picture you'll know that there are many things that largely influence peoples spending habits for leisure.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 12:11 AM
    BlackLable69
  • BlackLable69

    Yes and no, sometimes critics have something to offer and sometimes they don't, I'll let you decide which is more often. I think the real point is to not blindly follow anyone but yourself. But then ask yourself how many times do people watch a movie just out of curiosity or boredom even if their gut tells them it sucks or buy a game for said reasons? Yet and still how many people are influenced by the box office numbers alone? I tend to largely follow my instinct and let the critics pick up the peaces. Lets not even begin with how many products that were sold in mass but were terrible and people still bought them anyway "Don't want to put any company's on the spot". My point is that I think if you look at the big picture you'll know that there are many things that largely influence peoples spending habits for leisure.

    Posted: July 7, 2010 12:05 AM
    BlackLable69
  • Antonio_r

    Its true because g4tv well every one els is always banging hardcore wii games cant be good and thats why hardcore wii games dont sell well. Well the good games conduit, mad world ext... If g4tv and everyone els would show more love and promote these games more I could bet it will start changing the attitude on wii hardcore games and that would be good for the publishers as well it will make then think there is an hardcore audience out there and encourage them to make better quality hardcore wii games i could explain my point better but i dont want to write a big o story...! =)

    Posted: July 6, 2010 10:27 PM
    Antonio_r
  • J_Boolihans

    I think there is less correlation between hollywood movies and reviews because movie watching is a more frivolous activity.

    Playing a video game is a greater investment of time and money, and therefor the increased relevance of the reviews. One consequence of this is that popular game reviewers probably do rank the games in a way that better coincides with their audience's views and opinions.

    Posted: July 6, 2010 8:39 PM
    J_Boolihans
  • rikkuster

    Oooh! Beyond Good & Evil! I just finished that game today. The only reason I went and bought it was all because of Mr. Adam Sessler. The best part was I got it for a buck. It was definitely something new that I really haven't experienced in a game before.

    Anyway all this research into game reviews is real interesting. I mean, a score definitely gives me an initial impression on whether or not I want to try or play a game. However, with certain titles from well known publishers I tend to just look at reviews to find out what that particular reviewer thought of the game and what their experience was.

    Posted: July 6, 2010 6:56 PM
    rikkuster
AdChoices