X

iPhone 4 Review

Posted: June 24, 2010
iPhone 4 Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/46973/iphone-4-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/243728_LGST/as20100624_gadgetpron.jpg
Video_46973

Apple fan boys are rejoicing over the arrival of the iPhone 4. Kevin Pereira and Alison Haislip review the next generation phone that measures 0.37" thin with the new Retina Display, 5 megapixel camera, HD video and more.

What You Need to Know

  • The iPhone 4 is amazingly thin and light (though a little heavier than the 3Gs)
  • It’s not as smooth as other iPhones, but it still feels sturdy
  • The phone has oleophobic glass on both sides (it’s supposed to repel fingerprints), but you can still see a ton of them
  • OLED screens are more vibrant, but don't seem as bright as the retina display
  • The retina display looks a lot smoother and more detailed (960 x 640 versus 800 x 480)
  • Now that larger phone screens are coming out (like the EVO), the iPhone's screen is beginning to look kind of small
  • The phone’s processor feels almost twice as fast than the 3Gs, especially when launching apps and running them in the background
  • Multi-tasking is not quite what we thought; most apps don't take advantage of being in the background and will occasionally have to reload
  • It's also not as easy to use as the Palm Pre's card system
  • Making folders is also a nice addition; It's simple to just drag and drop your apps and clean up your home screen
  • Overall, the phone's touch screen interface is still the best and now that they're adding functionality we've needed for awhile, it's that much better
  • The 5 megapixel camera with LED flash takes great pictures, worlds better than the 3Gs and this is a huge improvement that iPhone users have needed for a long time (you can also take pictures with the front-facing camera)
  • 720p video also looks amazing, and you can edit it with iMovie on your phone (the iMovie app is a little confusing, but we were able to add transitions, titles, and make cuts in about ten minutes for our ten second feature)
  • Strangely, you have to upload your video to your computer to get the full HD resolution, because it automatically compresses it if you e-mail
  • FaceTime is also a lot of fun, and works well over Wi-Fi; you can switch between either camera and rotate the screen to change your view on the other person's phone
  • Reports online are saying that if you grab the phone at the bottom, it may interrupt your signal
  • It hasn't been consistently bad like some are saying
  • The underlying problem is still there, though, iPhones still drop calls on AT&T


Price

  • The iPhone 4 is $200 with a contract, and now AT&T has two levels of data plans, 200 MB a month for $15 or 2 GB a month for $25
  • It costs $20 more for tethering
  • This is all in addition to your texting and minute fees


Overall Rating

Want something reviewed on Gadget Pr0n? Email us your suggestions to gadgetpron@g4tv.com.


UPDATE: iPhone 4 users are reporting drops in reception related to how the antenna is handled.  Are you having similar issues?  Leave us a message in the comments.

...

Comments are Closed

  • Pufftastic420

    i have been to DC, LA, san fran and texas and have never lost a call with at&t. My hometown is a dead zone for cell service but i can get 5 bars there.

    Posted: June 26, 2010 7:47 PM
    Pufftastic420
  • btuline

    Well if you're Canadian like myself, you could buy them unlocked and put it on any network. Or buy it on any network with a contract.

    Posted: June 26, 2010 6:28 PM
    btuline
  • Spybreak

    I've been enjoying my OLED display to my not so well known mp3/video player. The displays are vibrant and I love watching videos on it. With that resolution I bet videos and images look really good.

    Posted: June 26, 2010 2:31 AM
    Spybreak
  • joniglad

    Those dataplan prices are outrageous. Here in Finland I get unlimited data for 2.95 euros a month. Only 384kbit/s but enough for a phone.

    Posted: June 26, 2010 12:22 AM
    joniglad
  • archy2frank

    Review the EVO already!!!! What the hell is going on over there?

    Posted: June 25, 2010 8:42 PM
    archy2frank
  • jhelms03

    every one loves to hate on at&t i have att and never have any problems. They love to point out the 325.00 etf but forgot to say it is go's down by 20.00 every month and also verizon has the same fee for there smartphones.

    Posted: June 25, 2010 6:58 PM
  • phoenixbone

    well i have a LG Xenon...i got it instead of an iphone last year because i wanted to wait until a better one came out...the xenon always loses some bars when i hold it..thats why i usually use my blue tooth...but i dont really talk on the phone anyway....so getting the iphone 4 with its so called losing reception excuse won't be much of a problem for me...im still getting it

    Posted: June 25, 2010 6:40 PM
  • dsa0224x

    i sold my iphone 3gs after a ridiculous year with AT&T, had to only pay $135.00+ any monthly plan. went back to my old home in verizon with a new Droid Incredible. awesome phone it is . i love my iphone 3gs, did everything i paid for to do. That being said, i decided not to get the iphone 4 for several reason 1) at&t gave me way too many dropped calls in one year 2) the iphone4 although advanced than my poor 3gs it has technology that i would barely use. cant do video conferencing without wifi and most of my pals have other carriers. and they would NEVER go to att. 3) the reception problem where reception decreases when you hold your ip4 a certain way 4) i dont want to resign with At&t for another two years on top of what was my remaining year where it totally bottlenecks the iphone 4's capabilities. 3 years with at&t= HELLLL NO.

    I would never wait in line for 12-48 hours , to develop Body Odor so i can get a piece of paper weight that would cause me problems in the long run . anyone with half a brain knows that waiting in line in conditions like that is a total waste and totally ridiculous and unnecessary. But then again " Ignorance is bliss"... if 600K+ people choose to kiss Steve Job's butt, hey who am i to stop the masses.

    Posted: June 25, 2010 5:43 PM
    dsa0224x
  • Shuklar

    The sheep phone.

    As long as Steve Jobs is using his ego (and greed) to deny people Adobe Flash, I will not support him, Apple, or it's devices.

    I tried explaining this to a classmate and he was like "BUT IT DOES HAVE FLASH!" He of course was talking about the camera's flash, and when I explained what Flash was and how he's paying for apps that essentially free via Adobe Flash, I could tell he felt cheated. I felt bad that someone who owned such a piece of technology didn't know what Adobe Flash was...

    Yet you have to hand it to Apple though; they can take other people's ideas, inflate the cost, and still be successful. I wouldn't be so against Apple if it wasn't ran by douches like Jobs.

    Posted: June 25, 2010 5:34 PM
    Shuklar
  • SPARTAN2842

    AT&T works awesome for me. Weird that the media is always bashing it. Must be a West Coast thing. AT&T is a exceptional company.

    Posted: June 25, 2010 5:03 PM
    SPARTAN2842
  • UndeadNightingale

    I use my data plan all the time. 2G a month will not be enough for me. So this whole making a choice between the two plans sucks for me and my friends who all have the 3rd iPhone. If they ever make all the original iPhone/att users change their data plan, I'm screwed. I really wish they'd give you the option of a small data plan and an unlimited data plan.

    Posted: June 25, 2010 4:31 PM
    UndeadNightingale
  • ricky047

    great review! I was actually thinking about upgrading from my 3gs which i bought just a few months ago. But now...not so much.

    Posted: June 25, 2010 4:17 PM
    ricky047
  • rjphllps7

    I'm still surprised I have not seen the review for the HTC EVO and if AOTS truly review it and give it the same attention I see AOTS give anything Apple I will see the proof that the HTC EVO is the better device.
    I know the battery has issues (because of all the TRUE multitasking and 4G) but if the battery is the main concern (which to me is) I will be so happier with the EVO than any iPhone to date.
    I see so many arguing and people have their stats to support their opinion on which phone is better but I will not argue or give anyone facts (thats Gadget Pron's job) but for me its the EVO all the way.

    Love the entire Show and where do you find the girls on the show (and yes I know their names) but all of them are beautiful and must have been not only casted from the knowledge and talent but I'm sure the great looks attract guys to watch the show if not watching already!!!!!

    Posted: June 25, 2010 2:46 PM
    rjphllps7
  • Notafanboythatiknow

    Alison, you look great.

    Posted: June 25, 2010 2:05 PM
    Notafanboythatiknow
  • Chrisagent75

    the iphone 4 is better than the original it stil has
    3g and but the plans are still costly. It probaly
    feels the cost of $300.00 other than that
    it's excellent.

    Posted: June 25, 2010 1:47 PM
    Chrisagent75
  • DemskeetSkeet

    I still have unlimited data. As long as you don't change it from unlimited data then you're good.

    I had the 3G with unlimited data then upgraded to the IPhone 4 yesterday with the exact same plan.

    Posted: June 25, 2010 1:30 PM
    DemskeetSkeet
  • lowkevmic

    @williepeeps88- Speak for yourself. I have an unlimited data package with Verizon, and I have gone over 2GB before, so it's not unheard of. Besides it's not the job of any provider to decide what a resonable amount of data a customer uses, because every customer is different, and has different purposes for the amount of data they use. I agree that the iphone is epic, but just about every non-iphone owner says the same thing...The phone has never been an issue, anyone with two eyes can see that the thing is amazing, it has and always will be AT&T service that keeps more people from buying that phone!!

    Posted: June 25, 2010 12:10 PM
    lowkevmic
  • lanoria

    Why don't they talk about the limitations on the app store?

    Posted: June 25, 2010 12:07 PM
    lanoria
  • ajac09

    that phone deserved a 3 out of 5 espically after steve jobs todl everyone to hold the phone diffrent or buy one of their cases lol epic fail apple your first BIG failure. I know several people who went and returned their iphone 4s and going to get htc evos instead.

    Posted: June 25, 2010 11:57 AM
    ajac09
  • lowkevmic

    Wow, I was really surprised to hear how honest these guys were with this gadget pron. I still feel they were sort of trying to defend the iphone for losing reception if you hold the phone long enough. Because truth of the matter is, there shouldn't be reason why a phone should lose reception, except for a bad calling area. No matter how I hold my phone, me holding it should cause me to lose bars.

    Now according to BBC America, they reported the same issue, only because the guy making the report couldn't call in to his office due to his call dropping from the antenna issue. As for this amazing screen of the iphone, I don't know, because when they did the side by side with the Incredible, the colored letters in the Google logo, seemed a little faded in dull on the iphone when next to the incredible. This is so typical of Apple. They get the fans so excited about this new revolutionary product, but when it finally gets here, you wished they spent a little more time working the kinks out of it. The review though was very honest, and I give G4 props for being subjective even with big bad Apple.

    All this did was make me more excited for the new Droid X coming out in July. Everything the Iphone 4 has, just minus the crappy phone service.

    Posted: June 25, 2010 11:56 AM
    lowkevmic
AdChoices