X

iPhone 4 Review

Posted: June 24, 2010
iPhone 4 Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/46973/iphone-4-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/243728_LGST/as20100624_gadgetpron.jpg
Video_46973

Apple fan boys are rejoicing over the arrival of the iPhone 4. Kevin Pereira and Alison Haislip review the next generation phone that measures 0.37" thin with the new Retina Display, 5 megapixel camera, HD video and more.

What You Need to Know

  • The iPhone 4 is amazingly thin and light (though a little heavier than the 3Gs)
  • It’s not as smooth as other iPhones, but it still feels sturdy
  • The phone has oleophobic glass on both sides (it’s supposed to repel fingerprints), but you can still see a ton of them
  • OLED screens are more vibrant, but don't seem as bright as the retina display
  • The retina display looks a lot smoother and more detailed (960 x 640 versus 800 x 480)
  • Now that larger phone screens are coming out (like the EVO), the iPhone's screen is beginning to look kind of small
  • The phone’s processor feels almost twice as fast than the 3Gs, especially when launching apps and running them in the background
  • Multi-tasking is not quite what we thought; most apps don't take advantage of being in the background and will occasionally have to reload
  • It's also not as easy to use as the Palm Pre's card system
  • Making folders is also a nice addition; It's simple to just drag and drop your apps and clean up your home screen
  • Overall, the phone's touch screen interface is still the best and now that they're adding functionality we've needed for awhile, it's that much better
  • The 5 megapixel camera with LED flash takes great pictures, worlds better than the 3Gs and this is a huge improvement that iPhone users have needed for a long time (you can also take pictures with the front-facing camera)
  • 720p video also looks amazing, and you can edit it with iMovie on your phone (the iMovie app is a little confusing, but we were able to add transitions, titles, and make cuts in about ten minutes for our ten second feature)
  • Strangely, you have to upload your video to your computer to get the full HD resolution, because it automatically compresses it if you e-mail
  • FaceTime is also a lot of fun, and works well over Wi-Fi; you can switch between either camera and rotate the screen to change your view on the other person's phone
  • Reports online are saying that if you grab the phone at the bottom, it may interrupt your signal
  • It hasn't been consistently bad like some are saying
  • The underlying problem is still there, though, iPhones still drop calls on AT&T


Price

  • The iPhone 4 is $200 with a contract, and now AT&T has two levels of data plans, 200 MB a month for $15 or 2 GB a month for $25
  • It costs $20 more for tethering
  • This is all in addition to your texting and minute fees


Overall Rating

Want something reviewed on Gadget Pr0n? Email us your suggestions to gadgetpron@g4tv.com.


UPDATE: iPhone 4 users are reporting drops in reception related to how the antenna is handled.  Are you having similar issues?  Leave us a message in the comments.

...

Comments are Closed

  • Mike2Nike

    On verizon now :)!!!

    Posted: January 11, 2011 2:58 PM
  • lahanl01

    so if i have an iphone 3g and i am thinking of upgrading soon and at&t still works well in my area, should i get the iphone 4,199 16g with 2 year contract, or the samsung captivate, 199 16g with 2 year contract.

    Posted: December 29, 2010 11:09 AM
  • suryu

    lol i have the phone no contract just raw iphone 4 take vids and dl them on my pc not messing with lame att

    Posted: December 16, 2010 5:32 PM
    suryu
  • FR4NK_C4STL3

    Why are people even talking about this iCRAP still?! What a piece of crap! Android owns! What about the EVO? It has hdmi out for Christ sake!

    Posted: August 11, 2010 11:48 PM
  • gmiles09

    I think the iphone 4 is an amazing phone, but I just love hove almost everyone on ATOTS butt licks apple and the iphone. It seems like any issue the phone has gets brushed to the side like it doesn't matter. I mean seriously they try to be honest, but quickly follow there honesty by a apple iphone butt lick. I think apple has proven to be very innovative and has awesome products, but at the same time if something is a problem then its a problem. I am really getting pissed with all the iphone butt licking by kevin I mean c'mon dude.

    Posted: July 20, 2010 10:17 AM
    gmiles09
  • SKYMERC

    I bet it is the terrain because AT&T is terrible in California (mountains)though I have no troubles with it in South Florida (flat lands). Work with what works.

    Still won't get an iPhone or something comparable until my current one dies. I'm hi tech like that..... and cheap.

    Posted: July 9, 2010 11:59 AM
  • Massey36

    this guy is stupid. i had a 3gs and got this iphone 4 on a upgrade. its the greatest phone i have ever used. everything about it is perfect. it was very worth the money and time i spent getting in. no phone will ever compare to the iphones and will never ever compare to the iphone 4

    Posted: July 2, 2010 2:26 PM
  • Pharaohxxx

    i live in middle georgia and att blows down here. i love the iphone but i wouldnt have it hooked up unless verizon got it.

    Posted: July 1, 2010 2:15 PM
  • ecnedivorp

    allison needs to replace olivia
    now

    Posted: June 29, 2010 9:18 AM
    ecnedivorp
  • Spartan177

    I know why you guys at attack of the show complain about the coverage of at&t because it is horrendous out there, but I live in the midwest and I have good coverage all the time. So I know that you gave the iphone a four just because of the horrible coverage, but I mean I like at&t I know its not the best though you guys have to take into account that at&t isn't the worst cell phone company ever because it still makes a lot of money. So really the whole point of this is for you guys to consider to stop ripping on them and give of a chance I know I have.

    Posted: June 28, 2010 3:20 PM
    Spartan177
  • lowkevmic

    @Antman217- You must have delicate lady hands, if you hold the phone exactly like the models do in the commercial. Unlike you I happen to have large hands, and to add insult to injury I'm left handed as well. So just off of natural reflex when I grip a phone, I will hold the phone with my figers, as it will rest in my palm. But that shouldn't even be an issue, because how to correctly hold a phone should never even be open for debate. As long as phones been an industry, there has never bee proper etiquette as to how a cell phone is held. Last as check it was only speaker to your ear, and where the microphone is, that area should be held close to your mouth in order to speak into it properly. As for how you hands should be positioned, I totally missed out on that email, when it was sent out by Steve Jobs. Bottom line, the iphone 4 isn't all it cracked up to be, but Apple fanatics would rather defend the product and blame the consumer, instead of admitting the fact that Apple dropped the ball on this one.

    Posted: June 28, 2010 9:15 AM
    lowkevmic
  • lowkevmic

    Sorry you guys, but I played with the iphone 4 over the weekend and I will admit that the antenna issues is a major issue for anyone who is left handed. I held the phone like I normally would hold my Droid, I didn't do anything special or applied pressure to it like they did on tv. But within seconds of me holding it, the bars slowy started to dissapear until there weren't anymore bars. Sorry Apple fans, I know you guys are gonna defend your precious phone tooth and nail, but Steve Jobs and te rest of the Apple Jacks really dropped the ball this time.

    First off, in business you don't tell your consumer that it is their fault as to why their product that they just paid for isn't working properly. That would be like Microsoft telling customers that bought the Xbox360 and got the RROD, that it's their fault because they were just playing video games too long, and they should just go outside and play instead or read a book. So for Steve Jobs to tell people to just hold it in your right hand instead, just tells me that he isn't about to do anything to fix this problem and all of the Apple fans who just dropped another 200.00 on this phone, just took it with no lube by a guy laughing all the way to the bank again. See you next year when the iphone 5 is released.

    Posted: June 28, 2010 9:07 AM
    lowkevmic
  • DeadMemories

    Awesome phone but the network sucks.

    Posted: June 28, 2010 9:01 AM
    DeadMemories
  • Blue_Vortex

    Can the iphone 4 stream hd videos to your hdtv like the ZuneHD?

    Posted: June 27, 2010 10:41 AM
    Blue_Vortex
  • Domiro425

    Kevin does have a point
    well spoken

    Posted: June 27, 2010 9:14 AM
    Domiro425
  • Antman217

    Honestly the whole antenna problem seems kinda ridiculous to me. I have never seen anyone hold an iPhone in any of the positions that people in these videos are holding it. I'm not left handed but i don't grasp the phone with my palm. I always kinda grip the sides with my fingers like the hand model does in the iPhone commercials and there is space between the back of the phone and my palm. A lot of people see the video and go ahead and hold the iphone in that position and then say "omg my phone has that problem too!" Seriously just hold the phone like a human being and stop pretending like you actually hold the phone like everyone in those videos do. And if you really hold the iPhone like that, then just buy the damn bumper case cuz you know you were going to anyways!

    Posted: June 27, 2010 9:07 AM
    Antman217
  • Atavax

    i wish they took the antenna problem more seriously... it looks like very natural holding of the phone in the left hand can cause the reception problem; but no, instead they insisted testing it by holding it in ridiculous positions...

    Posted: June 27, 2010 7:41 AM
    Atavax
  • obanana1

    iphone 4 :D
    at&t D:
    thats all there is to say...

    Posted: June 27, 2010 4:53 AM
    obanana1
  • obanana1

    iphone 4 :D
    at&t D:
    thats all there is to say...

    Posted: June 27, 2010 4:47 AM
    obanana1
  • Heartland

    Call quality a bit more a problem than we're led to believe. Check this link out.
    Simple test is quite surprising at how bad the reception in relation to holding the phone. Good luck, IJobs.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch ?v=tNmXrVNeGzs&feature=pop t00us14

    Posted: June 27, 2010 3:02 AM
    Heartland
AdChoices