X

The New Xbox 360 Review

Posted: June 21, 2010
The New Xbox 360 Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/46871/the-new-xbox-360-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/243422_LGST/as20100621_gadgetpron.jpg
Video_46871

It's sleek, it's black, it's got Wi-Fi and a 250 GB hard drive. Jessica Chobot and Kevin Pereira review the new Xbox 360 Slim that debuted at E3 2010 for $300.

What You Need to Know

  • The original is about 1’ across, while the Slim is almost 2” shorter
  • It's also about .5” thinner
  • There are five USB ports (two on the front, three on the back) which is two more than the Elite has
  • There's also a removable 250 GB hard drive, but it's not interchangeable with older Xbox 360's
  • You can transfer your old Xbox 360’s data with a USB stick or the $20 transfer cable
  • There's also built-in 802.11n Wi-Fi
  • Configuring it is really easy and just like you'd expect it to be
  • We streamed a lot of Netflix in HD and it looked great
  • One thing of note, loading times are just a few seconds faster on the new Xbox 360
  • It's also been reported that the new Xbox 360 will turn itself off before it overheats and hopefully that means it won't die completely
  • You probably shouldn’t replace your current Xbox 360, but this is definitely the one you should buy if you don't have one

Price

  • This is now the most expensive Xbox 360 you can buy at $300 bucks; the Elite is $250, and the Arcade is $150
  • With all of the included features, it's the best deal on an Xbox 360 you can get

Overall Rating

Want something reviewed on Gadget Pr0n? Email us your suggestions to gadgetpron@g4tv.com.

...

Comments are Closed

  • Flynfsh

    are they really calling it the 360 slim? i know playstation doesn't have it copyrighted but still, that's kind of a dick move by m$

    Posted: June 22, 2010 6:55 AM
    Flynfsh
  • TheL1T1G4T0R

    This slim does nothing for me.

    I don't trust Microsoft and until somebody's Slim lasts for longer than 3 years without breaking, I'm not interested. I'll keep the old one until it dies and then stick with my PS3s.

    I hope it passes the test of time but I won't hold my breath.

    Posted: June 22, 2010 6:45 AM
  • Bacbi

    The reason I wan't one is because I'm tired of hearing my 360 and not my games.

    Posted: June 22, 2010 6:04 AM
    Bacbi
  • PublicEnemyNo01

    Ok I know everyone loves Olivia Munn and all but I think Jessica Chobot should replace her. Olivia is just a model pretending to be a video game lover, as Jessica is actually a lover of video games and has great knowledge of the games. G4 be smart about this and let Olivia run off to do her modelling gigs and bring in Jessica full time, make this happen not just for me but for all gamers.

    Posted: June 22, 2010 4:11 AM
    PublicEnemyNo01
  • BlackLable69

    You fall asleep on a couch while playing games Mrs. Chocobo?

    Posted: June 22, 2010 1:54 AM
    BlackLable69
  • insomic

    oh wow i actually agree with kevin for once about the 100 wirless card thankgod they put one in i actually might buy one

    Posted: June 22, 2010 1:14 AM
  • camhead25

    how easy would it be to xfer files from an old hd to the new one?

    Posted: June 22, 2010 1:10 AM
    camhead25
  • Tman88

    For people who have yet to get a 360, this is a good deal for them to take advantage of the new additions.

    Posted: June 22, 2010 12:32 AM
    Tman88
  • darkspectre

    Does anyone know if the NEW removable hard drive is similar to the Xbox 360 Elite's?

    In other news, Jessica & Kevin have great chemistry.

    Posted: June 21, 2010 11:19 PM
    darkspectre
  • ProudFilipino

    So when they say the New Xbox 360 will turn off by itself before it overheats what if you are in the middle of a game then your saving and then all of a sudden your new Xbox 360 turns off on yeah because its about to overheat? :S which means your data becomes corrupted? isnt that kind of a bad thing? Im thinking about actually buying a 360 so please ppl share your thoughts FYI I cant watch the vid because my laptops sound is broke so if my question and answer is in the vid my bad lol

    Posted: June 21, 2010 11:15 PM
    ProudFilipino
  • jrolson

    Wow it finally has all the features that the PS3 had years ago.

    Xbox = FAIL

    Posted: June 21, 2010 10:17 PM
    jrolson
  • TheyTarget

    Hey. I heard that if you move it while theres a game in it. It ruins the game. This concerns me, and I know I'm not going to do that, but I have cats who will knock my console over and I dont want to have my games ruin. Can you guys investigate this please, I dont wanna lose a game cause my cat wants to love on the xbox.

    Posted: June 21, 2010 10:15 PM
    TheyTarget
  • CH1CK3NCH4S3R

    Man they should have gotten Jessica to Cristen then new xbox with a ceremonial tongue bathing, oh well

    Posted: June 21, 2010 10:12 PM
    CH1CK3NCH4S3R
  • xXxSTRANG3xXx

    I like Olivia but I like this Chick soo much better.

    Posted: June 21, 2010 9:16 PM
    xXxSTRANG3xXx
  • xjohn

    i just got one. i like it better than my mw2 elite

    Posted: June 21, 2010 8:14 PM
    xjohn
  • tastyhouse

    Somebody should inform them that you can remove the hard drive. This show would be a lot better if you had people who actually knew what they were talking about.

    Posted: June 21, 2010 7:58 PM
    tastyhouse
  • freechild

    I don't see any reason to buy a new Xbox 360 unless my friends come over. Then they might think I'm really kewl for one second. Then they will go back to calling me a nerd or a loser and I will be alone again in my apt with my cat eating cheetos. Actually I eat cheetos alone, but sometimes I offer him a cheeto to be nice. I don't think he likes cheetos, but I offer him one anyway thinking one day he will be like, I am ready for a cheeto, thank you for asking... And he might say, these cheetos are really good... I should have took you up on your offer a long time ago, damn!

    Posted: June 21, 2010 7:48 PM
    freechild
  • UNEMPLOYEDxxxxJEDI

    If I didn't buy the xbox 360 elite a few weeks ago, I would of gotten the xbox 360m slim, but microsoft didn't say anything about a new 360. The Elite was on sale for great price and it with Forza 3 and Halo ODST.

    Posted: June 21, 2010 7:46 PM
    UNEMPLOYEDxxxxJEDI
  • nowhatsgud

    I wants me some new Xbox. I currently have a crappy arcade, because of the red ring (the only one I've ever had). Think I'll wait until the $199 version that has been confirmed. They just better not take out the wifi or it's just a money grab by MS.

    Posted: June 21, 2010 7:24 PM
    nowhatsgud
  • DjSkizzo

    I find it funny they talk about the xbox failures like they accept it as a part of the xbox. "Hey i Have an xbox and when it breaks I'll buy a new one." Why? You spend 200$ on a product it should not break down. This failure rate should anger consumers but these people are so wrapped up in fanboyism they'll just let Microsoft keep milking hard earned money out of them. It's consumer insanity at it's worst.

    Posted: June 21, 2010 7:23 PM
    DjSkizzo
AdChoices