X

The New Xbox 360 Review

Posted: June 21, 2010
The New Xbox 360 Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/46871/the-new-xbox-360-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/243422_LGST/as20100621_gadgetpron.jpg
Video_46871

It's sleek, it's black, it's got Wi-Fi and a 250 GB hard drive. Jessica Chobot and Kevin Pereira review the new Xbox 360 Slim that debuted at E3 2010 for $300.

What You Need to Know

  • The original is about 1’ across, while the Slim is almost 2” shorter
  • It's also about .5” thinner
  • There are five USB ports (two on the front, three on the back) which is two more than the Elite has
  • There's also a removable 250 GB hard drive, but it's not interchangeable with older Xbox 360's
  • You can transfer your old Xbox 360’s data with a USB stick or the $20 transfer cable
  • There's also built-in 802.11n Wi-Fi
  • Configuring it is really easy and just like you'd expect it to be
  • We streamed a lot of Netflix in HD and it looked great
  • One thing of note, loading times are just a few seconds faster on the new Xbox 360
  • It's also been reported that the new Xbox 360 will turn itself off before it overheats and hopefully that means it won't die completely
  • You probably shouldn’t replace your current Xbox 360, but this is definitely the one you should buy if you don't have one

Price

  • This is now the most expensive Xbox 360 you can buy at $300 bucks; the Elite is $250, and the Arcade is $150
  • With all of the included features, it's the best deal on an Xbox 360 you can get

Overall Rating

Want something reviewed on Gadget Pr0n? Email us your suggestions to gadgetpron@g4tv.com.

...

Comments are Closed

  • Buffmaster

    Why didn't she lick it?

    Posted: June 22, 2010 2:59 PM
    Buffmaster
  • Mike Swagger83

    haha the HD was hidden under the plate.. that is great.. even the pros get it wrong sometimes

    Posted: June 22, 2010 2:50 PM
  • hito157

    i remember the days when you guys took pride in knowing your tech!!!

    Posted: June 22, 2010 2:40 PM
    hito157
  • crocodilius

    i am skeptical of things that arent Japanese.

    Posted: June 22, 2010 1:53 PM
    crocodilius
  • SirCitadel

    only problem is that it has the same crappy chip set.

    Posted: June 22, 2010 1:28 PM
    SirCitadel
  • HAMCHUNKS

    I actually stopped watching cuz of olivia, now im glad shes gone, thou hot, and now ill start recording this show again!
    thank you G4 for getting rid of Olivia!

    Posted: June 22, 2010 1:24 PM
    HAMCHUNKS
  • blueboykc

    some of you hater trolls really need to grow the f... up and get over the ps3 fanboy stuff...really..its old and tired..plus it makes you look like ignorant childish fools....

    Posted: June 22, 2010 1:02 PM
    blueboykc
  • robbbe

    i think i would stick to my old 360. i hav it for almost 2 years and it never gave me any problems.so i would never sell it to buy this one.

    Posted: June 22, 2010 12:44 PM
    robbbe
  • Snake3602

    wow did you guys see what this thing dose to your games if you move it AT ALL and they still break down all the time. Look it up for yourself. it's a rip off.

    Posted: June 22, 2010 12:14 PM
    Snake3602
  • Noble 6

    I just pre ordered mine today, should recieve it in early July. The reason I upgraded was that 20g HDD was almost full and Gamestop has a trade in deal, they give you $100 off when you trade in your old console and one controller. They also knock off $40 for a wireless adapter, $20 for a 20g HDD,

    Posted: June 22, 2010 11:38 AM
    Noble+6
  • Spec_Leeroy

    You know what.
    the xbox slim isnt worth it after all as TheL1T1G4T0R had said it.
    Plus it's not even worth the $300 bucks as well it is a small update cosole.
    I'm going to wait until 2011 to see what they will make or plan.

    Posted: June 22, 2010 10:36 AM
    Spec_Leeroy
  • jacobfoster

    so basically they copied the ps3 and made a xbox slim wow that is a lame move for microsoft like i said xbox is a fail

    Posted: June 22, 2010 10:29 AM
    jacobfoster
  • Spec_Leeroy

    But is it woth it to buy it?
    Becasue almost everyone has a xbox36o.
    and the x-box slim???

    Posted: June 22, 2010 9:59 AM
    Spec_Leeroy
  • MW2.Fan

    I don't see the point in buying the new Xbox. the built in wifi is nice but if you are willing to spend 50+ dollars for a new game (like i am) then its nothing to buy a wifi connector. Also like Kevin said it not THAT much smaller then the 360. when i heard that they was going to make the Xbox smaller my first thought was making it the size of the PS2. So i am slightly disappointed....

    Posted: June 22, 2010 9:56 AM
    MW2.Fan
  • Moye

    Hey guys, watch the video until the very end. Kevin shows the removable hard drive!

    Posted: June 22, 2010 9:27 AM
    Moye
  • rekathon

    There's a removable panel on the right side so you can pull out the Hard drive and swap just like before. The port in the back of the console with the orange stripe over it Is for Kinect so you don't have to block any USB ports.

    G4 make sure you do a little more research before you do your segments if you don't want to be compared to fox news.

    thank you

    Posted: June 22, 2010 9:11 AM
    rekathon
  • joshualwilliams1981

    how do they give this 5 out of 5 when barely anything has been upgraded? G4 must be paid off by msoft. My computer shuts itself off if overheating. But I've never seen that happen because my computer has a large fan on the top, three in the front, one on the side and 2 on the back. I run that like an HVAC master.

    Getting off the subject...

    Why don't they just give the XBOX sata drive support? I would love to have a 1tb drive in my xbox, this 250 gb drive is way too small. Especially for me, most of my games are downloaded from live, as apposed to having physical media.

    Posted: June 22, 2010 8:22 AM
    joshualwilliams1981
  • lowkevmic

    @camhead25- It's actually really easy to transfer files from one hard drive to another. You can buy the transfer cable for 20 bucks. Or you can just save it all to a flash drive and transfer it like that.

    Posted: June 22, 2010 7:48 AM
    lowkevmic
  • deleted_C15928E0-D8DC-4CE4-9630-F94FAA269B56

    "The hard drive IS removeable! It's hidden under a panel on the top of the system!"-ArmedRaptor

    Microsoft went out of there way at E3 to make it clear that the hard drive is removable. I guess a room full of G4 employees couldn't figure that out? G4 gets it wrong so often. Bless their little stupid hearts.

    Posted: June 22, 2010 7:23 AM
    deleted_C15928E0-D8DC-4CE4-9630-F94FAA269B56
  • RedRingsOfDeath

    In November it's going down to $199.

    Posted: June 22, 2010 7:02 AM
    RedRingsOfDeath
AdChoices