X

The New Xbox 360 Review

Posted: June 21, 2010
The New Xbox 360 Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/46871/the-new-xbox-360-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/243422_LGST/as20100621_gadgetpron.jpg
Video_46871

It's sleek, it's black, it's got Wi-Fi and a 250 GB hard drive. Jessica Chobot and Kevin Pereira review the new Xbox 360 Slim that debuted at E3 2010 for $300.

What You Need to Know

  • The original is about 1’ across, while the Slim is almost 2” shorter
  • It's also about .5” thinner
  • There are five USB ports (two on the front, three on the back) which is two more than the Elite has
  • There's also a removable 250 GB hard drive, but it's not interchangeable with older Xbox 360's
  • You can transfer your old Xbox 360’s data with a USB stick or the $20 transfer cable
  • There's also built-in 802.11n Wi-Fi
  • Configuring it is really easy and just like you'd expect it to be
  • We streamed a lot of Netflix in HD and it looked great
  • One thing of note, loading times are just a few seconds faster on the new Xbox 360
  • It's also been reported that the new Xbox 360 will turn itself off before it overheats and hopefully that means it won't die completely
  • You probably shouldn’t replace your current Xbox 360, but this is definitely the one you should buy if you don't have one

Price

  • This is now the most expensive Xbox 360 you can buy at $300 bucks; the Elite is $250, and the Arcade is $150
  • With all of the included features, it's the best deal on an Xbox 360 you can get

Overall Rating

Want something reviewed on Gadget Pr0n? Email us your suggestions to gadgetpron@g4tv.com.

...

Comments are Closed

  • deleted_C15928E0-D8DC-4CE4-9630-F94FAA269B56

    @Infinityman
    Here is a nice test for you (this is assuming that you know how to use the internet):

    golivewire.com/forums/viewqu iz.cgi?action=5854

    Posted: June 23, 2010 9:32 AM
    deleted_C15928E0-D8DC-4CE4-9630-F94FAA269B56
  • Infinityman

    @ InbredOneEyedJohnny:

    Really? First off, if G4 is such garbage, why do you frequent the site? I know if I thought a website was being run by incompentent employees, I wouldn't come to that site anymore. I think maybe you should do just that. We wouldn't want G4 to waste your precious time.


    Secondly, sometimes people make mistakes. It happens. Get over it and stop being a _________. (Madlib away people)

    Posted: June 23, 2010 8:58 AM
    Infinityman
  • deleted_C15928E0-D8DC-4CE4-9630-F94FAA269B56

    They re-edited the video after everyone told them how to find the hard drive and remove it. That bit at the end of the video was not there the first time this was posted and neither was the bullet point in the article that says "There's also a removable 250 GB hard drive...".

    I just love how G4 says and writes one thing getting it wrong the first time. Then they let people comment. Then G4's incompetent employees come back realizing their mistakes and re-edit everything. G4. The G stands for Garbage with a capital G.

    Posted: June 23, 2010 7:36 AM
    deleted_C15928E0-D8DC-4CE4-9630-F94FAA269B56
  • lucidity

    Hail to the King baby!

    Posted: June 23, 2010 7:27 AM
    lucidity
  • T_Rexx

    A 5/5 for the same ugly unreliable piece of garbage???!!! speak of suckers.... marketing for M$ just to get the goodies is lame G4. I've seen better tech on this show gets only 3/5...lol....where is the parity here? And how is this called a slim???

    X-BoxDVDplayer = an unfortunate poorly made "JUNK".

    Posted: June 23, 2010 7:05 AM
    T_Rexx
  • xxapocolipticxx

    i wish i woulda waited just one more day to buy my new elite because thats when they announced this model im not that worried though 200 bucks for my elite plus odst and forza wasnt bad besides i already had a wireless attachment itd just go to waste if i bought the one with built in wifi (is crying on the inside)

    Posted: June 23, 2010 1:35 AM
  • xxapocolipticxx

    i wish i woulda waited just one more day to buy my new elite because thats when they announced this model im not that worried though 200 bucks for my elite plus odst and forza wasnt bad besides i already had a wireless attachment itd just go to waste if i bought the one with built in wifi (is crying on the inside)

    Posted: June 23, 2010 1:32 AM
  • sulrich

    yeah Jess rocks..and surely people have realised they have been auditioning for a new host for months now???

    Posted: June 23, 2010 1:24 AM
    sulrich
  • MyXxBitterXxHeroics

    I can haz Jessica Chobot please?

    Posted: June 22, 2010 11:36 PM
    MyXxBitterXxHeroics
  • SaintV

    Getting mine in 2 weeks. Can't wait.

    Posted: June 22, 2010 10:11 PM
    SaintV
  • JMason1984

    One thing would've made it perfect, blu-ray, hopefully the new one coming out soon will have one, although unlikely considering the new version is suppose to be a $100 cheaper...
    :(

    Posted: June 22, 2010 7:04 PM
  • lutenetjimmy

    i think the amount of failures on the xbox is blown out of proportion me and 4 of my friends have had ours since the summer it came out and never got a red ring or anything else. (except one friend who dropped his down the stairs.)(funny though because it still worked for a week after it lol)

    Posted: June 22, 2010 6:52 PM
    lutenetjimmy
  • TurnBackThePendulum

    This is to be taken as a joke

    PS3 and 360 copied the Sega Genesis! Not only was the genesis remodel but it was done twice smaller than the next. So FYI Sony copied Sega HA HA HA!

    Serious though the remolding of systems is not new the game industry is 30 years old if you thick headed PS3 fanboy are so ignorant to think that sony has done everything first in the market then you are stupid. Quick name the First Video game consoles that had changeable games and when did it come out. And I not going to ask the idiots who are saying they copied sony there age because this is basic knowlage if your a fan of video games at least look back. Sony is the second newest to the industry. I like Console Wars but not this Stupid, this one just sucks. At least with Sega and Nintendo there was stuff that could be called out.

    Where are the smart fanboys I am not asking much do research if your going to post somthing.

    Posted: June 22, 2010 6:37 PM
    TurnBackThePendulum
  • blueboykc

    if it had been silver you fanboys would have all been OMG THEY ARE COPYING THE PS2 SLIM!!!!..its black get over it..i have a black dvd player a black tv a black cable box..im pretty sure ever vcr i ever had was black...OMG SONY COPIED THE VCRS!!!!!

    Posted: June 22, 2010 6:27 PM
    blueboykc
  • DarthHerter

    umm... i don't care. built in wifi. very late on that microsoft. like 3 years late maybe 4 years but who's counting. built if harddrive. sound like the ps3 to me. shiny black look. sound like the ps3 to me. $300 yep that a ps3. no wait no its not its 360 yaaay!!!! microsoft downs the ps3 so hard, yet they build one and call it the Xbox 360 slim...*shakes head*

    Posted: June 22, 2010 6:00 PM
    DarthHerter
  • DEAThHEART

    I'm not a Xbox lover at all, but i have to say, i prefer ther old design. This slim xbox looks like it's about to break. at least the old one has a stronger look. Anyway, long live the PS3!!! LOL

    Posted: June 22, 2010 5:46 PM
  • scorpian876

    The X-Box 360 slim looks like a a piece of crap with a shiny red ribbon wrapped around it.Yeah I agree,way to go Micro Soft! Copying the Play Station 3 slim.How un-original.Red Ring of death!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Posted: June 22, 2010 5:19 PM
    scorpian876
  • Sector1286

    ok my xbox turns off before it gets too hot so thats nothing new plus they wine about the hard drive....it is removable these 2 obviously dont like xbox to appreciate the new awesome changes.

    Posted: June 22, 2010 3:40 PM
    Sector1286
  • titanrage83

    way to copy PS3 XBOX. you even took its old shiny black design. cant wait to see how many red ring of deaths this piece of junk has.

    Posted: June 22, 2010 3:18 PM
    titanrage83
  • nvserg

    wow, DJ why would you buy another Xbox, MS will fix it for you for FREE (you dont even pay shipping). I'm on my 5th one (because we have 4 people playing it in my house) =o) but paid for only one.....

    Posted: June 22, 2010 3:15 PM
    nvserg
AdChoices