X

The New Xbox 360 Review

Posted: June 21, 2010
The New Xbox 360 Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/46871/the-new-xbox-360-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/243422_LGST/as20100621_gadgetpron.jpg
Video_46871

It's sleek, it's black, it's got Wi-Fi and a 250 GB hard drive. Jessica Chobot and Kevin Pereira review the new Xbox 360 Slim that debuted at E3 2010 for $300.

What You Need to Know

  • The original is about 1’ across, while the Slim is almost 2” shorter
  • It's also about .5” thinner
  • There are five USB ports (two on the front, three on the back) which is two more than the Elite has
  • There's also a removable 250 GB hard drive, but it's not interchangeable with older Xbox 360's
  • You can transfer your old Xbox 360’s data with a USB stick or the $20 transfer cable
  • There's also built-in 802.11n Wi-Fi
  • Configuring it is really easy and just like you'd expect it to be
  • We streamed a lot of Netflix in HD and it looked great
  • One thing of note, loading times are just a few seconds faster on the new Xbox 360
  • It's also been reported that the new Xbox 360 will turn itself off before it overheats and hopefully that means it won't die completely
  • You probably shouldn’t replace your current Xbox 360, but this is definitely the one you should buy if you don't have one

Price

  • This is now the most expensive Xbox 360 you can buy at $300 bucks; the Elite is $250, and the Arcade is $150
  • With all of the included features, it's the best deal on an Xbox 360 you can get

Overall Rating

Want something reviewed on Gadget Pr0n? Email us your suggestions to gadgetpron@g4tv.com.

...

Comments are Closed

  • Higgil

    Wifi: I just use a laptop and share Wifi through the Ethernet. Not sure its worth the money to get it yet.

    Posted: August 4, 2010 9:17 AM
    Higgil
  • JonnyFive

    I like how this guy said "i like the removable hard drive, cause if this one breaks I can just get a new system and pop this on there" as if "oh I'm rich ill just drop another $199 on another 360 that can break again"

    That girl needs to get slapped for talking about her virtual trophies and saves as if they are worth $199 dollars or more.

    I hope this new 360 they released blows the elite and the old one out of the water and makes the new customers happily satisfied. It would be really sad for new customers to have to go through what customers such as my self had to go through during the early years of xbox 360. It looks really nice and makes me want one. Its kind of ironic that microsoft priced it at the same price as a ps3.

    You guys have to admit Microsofts marketing tactics is genius despite how unethical it is, I hope Sony doesn't turn evil on us and copy them.

    Posted: July 15, 2010 7:49 PM
  • xxCTRL ALT DELx

    Hey my 360s color looks like the Elite color in the video and not the normal color it's suppose to be. Anyone got any answers as to why it's not the regular color.

    Posted: July 15, 2010 1:35 PM
    xxCTRL+ALT+DELx
  • strongbad218

    woah! when did Jessica Chobot start working for G4?

    Posted: July 8, 2010 3:59 PM
    strongbad218
  • primetime1112

    i can wait to get the new xbox 360 slim

    Posted: July 1, 2010 11:30 AM
    primetime1112
  • Rocktopus85

    people do realize that the 360 failure rate is just as low as the ps3's right?

    Posted: June 30, 2010 6:28 PM
    Rocktopus85
  • NelTu

    Lol. red dot of death I can see it now

    Posted: June 26, 2010 9:09 PM
    NelTu
  • bluej

    dude that new 360 is cool and all but there is only like 5 new features to it whitch is not to bad but i would still buy it tho its crazy how some people get it for free thats why im gana work for apple soon

    Posted: June 25, 2010 12:17 PM
    bluej
  • bgreene

    Just remember, you CAN remove the hard drive, but you CANNOT switch it out with older Xboxes.

    This is a more important point than the fact that you can remove the hard drive.

    Posted: June 24, 2010 5:26 PM
    bgreene
  • bgreene

    Just remember, you CAN remove the hard drive, but you CANNOT switch it out with older Xboxes.

    This is a more important point than the face that you can remove the hard drive.

    Posted: June 24, 2010 5:24 PM
    bgreene
  • sixdolla

    The 250 HDD and the wifi was MORE than enough reason to put my order in. I have every console and everything is connected online in someway or another including my tv,cable box, and another 360. Needless to say my wires are getting out of control and the least clutter the better. And what the heck, a certain video game chain where i STOP for GAMEs has a promo that gave me a 100 bucks for my Arcade version i put in on trade and another 35 bucks for my 20gb HDD.I probably woudn't have if LIVE didn't rape PSN (and i have both)It's a Win, Win baby. New Hottness Bitches don't hate

    Posted: June 24, 2010 5:13 PM
    sixdolla
  • PcBuilder

    This is ridiculous! How is any one supposed to come to this Show/Channel/Website if they don't know everything there is to know about what it is they're reviewing. The Hard Drive is removable behind a door on the bottom. Which I would like to point out makes a ton of sense, as hot air rises and the HDD no longer is a receptacle for hot air from the rest of the console.

    Posted: June 23, 2010 10:09 PM
    PcBuilder
  • TheNewGuy

    almost everything the ps3 has but still has the disc drive thing
    and i wonder if the power cable is still the size of a brick!

    MS is a big load of SUCK!

    Posted: June 23, 2010 5:36 PM
    TheNewGuy+
  • Nub Salad

    I like how they say they like the old system bc it has a removable hard drive in case your system breaks you can put it on the next system. they say this as if you can't with the new one. I don't mean to be a stickler about details, but I would think they would know that you can in fact remove the hard drive on the new system.

    Posted: June 23, 2010 4:46 PM
    Nub+Salad
  • Lombardi

    I'm not buying one.

    Posted: June 23, 2010 3:30 PM
    Lombardi
  • luism1996

    i hav the xbox arcade with no xbox live cuz im on a budget shud i spend the $369

    Posted: June 23, 2010 3:30 PM
  • CALiiGeDDon

    you can still remove the hard drive in the new xbox...you life off the grill on top and pop out the hard drive.

    Posted: June 23, 2010 12:31 PM
    CALiiGeDDon
  • Landmine-FACE

    I need one

    Posted: June 23, 2010 12:24 PM
    Landmine-FACE
  • sinewave

    I've got a fever.... and the only prescription.. is more CHOBOT.

    Posted: June 23, 2010 11:56 AM
    sinewave
  • evilborg

    Jessica didn't get it for free just cause she went to E3, she got it for free cause she's that hot.

    Posted: June 23, 2010 10:10 AM
    evilborg
AdChoices