X

The MMO Report: Cataclysm Preview Special

Posted: June 17, 2010
The MMO Report: Cataclysm Preview Special
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/46399/the-mmo-report-cataclysm-preview-special/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/239649_LGST/mmo-6-17-10.jpg
Video_46399

Comments are Closed

  • Apsalus07

    The King is dead, all fail the King!

    As one MMO dies, another takes its crown. Really the reason most MMO's have failed to kill WOW is because they were WOW-clones. And as we learned with Diablo 2, the clones were always somehow inferior to the original.

    Tera Online and SW:TOR are both very innovative MMO's that look to finally dethrone WOW: Tera with it's very interesting combat and SW:TOR with its doubly interesting story (or stories, depending on your class) and much better established universe.

    Warcraft Universe is already running out of content. You could tell from this preview that after Blizzard used up Illidan and Arthas, there were no great characters left so they had to make up some contrived dragon and some contrived armageddon/cataclysm story from scratch. The Old Republic on the other hand, was established decades ago as the Star Wars canon books were put together.

    In other words, Bioware isn't just making stuff up as they go... unlike Blizzard.

    Posted: June 21, 2010 4:00 PM
    Apsalus07
  • macross2012

    Star Wars will be the end of WOW. Wow is tired of old and this is just another rehash again of a dieing MMO. Most of us are 80, what good is revamping 1-60 going to do for the average person? NADA

    Posted: June 21, 2010 2:47 PM
    macross2012
  • GrayZN

    :( blizzard should just give up on patchs fire crap loads of people sit back till they have very few interest in the game left and make a new game a much better one. Gain money from WoW and update it a couple times not to much but focus on making a different game.. getting to old.. i know they can make a better game if they just start from scratch although some WoW fans might dislike this idea?

    Posted: June 21, 2010 2:08 PM
  • DrowNoble

    I am now convinced that these Blizzard guys are clueless. They talked about revamped 1-60 content for rerolling, yet there aren't any new classes so there isn't going to be much rerolling going on. Yes, I'm sure there will be some goblins/worgen running around. Most of that will be do the new quests and then hop back on their 80.

    WoW really needs new classes. Over 5 years and only 1 new class (that starts at 55) is rather pitiful. Personally, I don't care if they added 50 new races. I've played every class already I want something new. I don't care that taurens can be paladins, I don't care that night elves can be mages. I want a new class (or two).

    With the dungeon finder, guilds are useless so why spend all this time on guild advancement systems? I just don't understand Blizzard's logic.

    Posted: June 21, 2010 1:46 PM
    DrowNoble
  • TheDfresh

    Meh.

    Switching To Tera then SW:ToR. If SW comes out first then it will be just that.

    Posted: June 21, 2010 1:21 PM
    TheDfresh
  • Pwnproof

    I can not f*@&ing wait for this WOOT!!

    Posted: June 21, 2010 12:35 PM
    Pwnproof
  • Kirk359

    **Yawn** looks like another boring rep grind/ dungeon/ gear race. i would rather stick with eve or sto then waste anymore of my money on wow. give it a rest blizzard.

    Posted: June 21, 2010 11:22 AM
    Kirk359
  • Jhud

    Nice to see and appreciate the time but this was no new info :s

    Posted: June 21, 2010 11:17 AM
  • hackedit

    It clearly states that its a WoW preview

    Posted: June 21, 2010 10:47 AM
    hackedit
  • Raiku1991

    so.... this didn't seem much like the mmo report, no offense but it seemed like more of a preview with casey introducing it....

    Posted: June 21, 2010 10:30 AM
    Raiku1991
AdChoices