X

The MMO Report: Cataclysm Preview Special

Posted: June 17, 2010
The MMO Report: Cataclysm Preview Special
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/46399/the-mmo-report-cataclysm-preview-special/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/239649_LGST/mmo-6-17-10.jpg
Video_46399

Comments are Closed

  • masq1224

    you can't derail WoW. A star wars game tried twice and failed. Think i am going to impressed with a third attempt /yawn I think not.

    Warcraft series has been around for awhile, and A LOT of lore to work with. Novels of the warcraft universe, revamping of old games bosses/content.

    Hell I'd be happy with max lvl versions of old raid instances (which they are doing)
    in closing
    LF39M Cata PST

    Posted: June 22, 2010 4:29 PM
  • Regard

    I love how people come to bash a game either they don't play or are somehow thinking another [insert MMO here] will kill WoW. Nice talking out of your rear ends, fellas, because it's not going to happen. How many games have tried? Countless. How many have succeeded? None. Do I think WoW is the greatest thing since sliced bread? No. Do they come out with all new game-changing gameplay ideas or fantastic new gimmicks to try and convince players to keep playing? They don't need to. If you have these grand ideas that somehow the best MMO of all time is losing out or will die to another MMO, if you think all the sudden you have the best idea for a game and it will be the best game ever, enough to even topple the juggernaut that is WoW, you certainly shouldn't be complaining about what you think they lack or what you would add, you should be making your own game. Let me know how that turns out, chief.

    Posted: June 22, 2010 4:12 PM
    Regard
  • ViolinistHDL

    Ok guys here it is, Blizzard has made an MMO that has become one of the most succesful fames in history. AS to you ppl who say that is runnin out of lore, WRONG. Arthas and IIlidan are just from WC3, which is just ONE warcraft game. There are two others. Plus lots of books about the universe. HAve you forgotton about people like Azshara or Sargeras? Hell we still dont know who leads the infinite dragon flight!!! There is soooo much more to go on. You ppl must know nothing about Warcraft, due to your apparent lack of knowledge and utter ignorance in the subject. WoW is still enjoyable and will still be after this expansion. Quit hating on it because you want SW to become the new king. Oh, and GW was a horrible MMO, its that simple. It has absolutely NO LORE to go on, they are the ones making stuff up!!!! As well as Bioware, sure SW is an established universe, but Bioware are the ones making up the events and stories in that period in SW. TY to those of you who are saying what I am saying, you are the informed ones, as for the rest of you, why dont you just go back to playing your fail MMOs like GW. Why dont you do some research next time you post something (talking to you Absulas07)

    Posted: June 22, 2010 12:34 PM
    ViolinistHDL
  • Dark94

    The reason you are so bord with WoW is bbecause you play it to much if you played it less you would injoy it more like i do i have fun with it i dont play it to much i enjoy it so shut up about it being daul and boring i mean ya we could use some more classes but still its enjoyable.

    Posted: June 22, 2010 11:41 AM
    Dark94
  • J Train A Comin

    i wish we had a more specific release date....

    Posted: June 22, 2010 9:21 AM
    J+Train+A+Comin
  • redheadREDEMPTION

    WoW is a great game, this expansion will certainly keep people entertained. I'd personally like to see more character customization. It gets really boring seeing people walk around with the same items and same look. I was hoping dyes or something to change or make characters look more personalized, maybe from archaeology would change this flaw in the game.

    Posted: June 22, 2010 7:43 AM
    redheadREDEMPTION
  • SnakeBiteFTW

    WoW has the gameplay depth and repetition of farmville. why is it so difficult to make an enemy react realistically after being hit with a sword?? WHY!? we have all this great technology, yet it takes a full second for the enemy to 'flinch' after being hit. that takes any semblance of immersion and....well, there IS no immersion. MMO's really dont need to be this convoluted and stupid. they just make it that way so that the people who went thru the college coursed to understand this crap can look down on those who dont.

    oh, i troll so hard. so hard i troll.

    Posted: June 22, 2010 7:26 AM
    SnakeBiteFTW
  • Gerex

    Ugh when will they give up on WoW and make something new. Seriously , it's a 6 year old game , with crappy gameplay that evolves around getting better gear , both in PvE and Pvp.

    Posted: June 22, 2010 3:57 AM
  • FpicEail

    Absalus07, i certainly hope you are trolling. Deathwing is older than Illidan AND Lich king. And even besides those three, there is still people like Azshara and Sargeras. They are hardly making up stuff as they go along. Even if they DO run out of older villains, there is always room for more storyline. Its not like they are incapable of writing new lore and they have only the old Warcraft storylines.... They are FAR from "running out of lore". WoW also has canon built up from books as well as previous games. Once again, it seems we have an idiot here who posts about topics that he knows nothing about.

    Posted: June 22, 2010 3:13 AM
  • micrapple

    I have tried WoW and didn't find it as appealing as GW because of it's cartoony graphic. However, I would really like some info on Diablo 3.

    Posted: June 22, 2010 3:10 AM
    micrapple
  • FpicEail

    Sorry for the double post, it looked like the first one i wrote was lost so i wrote another one. Apparently not :).

    Posted: June 22, 2010 3:07 AM
  • FpicEail

    Absalus07, i certainly hope you are trolling. Deathwing is older than Illidan AND Lich king. And even besides those three, there is still people like Azshara and Sargeras. They are hardly making up stuff as they go along. Even if they DO run out of older villains, there is always room for more storyline. Its not like they are incapable of writing new lore and they have only the old Warcraft storylines.... They are FAR from "running out of lore". WoW also has canon built up from books as well as previous games. Once again, it seems we have an idiot here who posts about topics that he knows nothing about.

    Posted: June 22, 2010 3:06 AM
  • FpicEail

    Apsalus07, i certainly hope you are joking. Deathwing is older than Illidan AND the lich king, and is by far more powerful than both. World of Warcraft also has canon built up from books in the past as well as the game franchise. Illidan and Arthas are the main characters in Warcraft III yes, but it is called Warcaft THREE for a reason. Deathwing is from WCII, and even aside from him, there are other villains such as Azshara or Sargeras. Looks like you are another idiot who posts about a topic without knowing jack ^&*( about it.

    Posted: June 22, 2010 2:57 AM
  • ABCgum64

    Ok we get it it's not any new info, this was just released after E3, give the team at G4 a break they must be exhausted

    Posted: June 22, 2010 12:14 AM
    ABCgum64
  • Engramnigma

    seems like with all the attention bioware got at e3 , blizzard is just tryin to derail it.
    one thing noticable about the devs in this is the fact they dont seem very excited about it themselves.
    i'm suprised it didnt die along time ago just because of the fact that to start in wow now you have to spend like 120$ not including the monthly sub thats with the warchest now with this expansion the price is gona go up again and only the established players will pick it up, those that haven't left yet.
    I don't know that swtor is as innovative as people seem to make it out to be.but it is from an ip loved around the world by a company respected around the world.
    as far as lore goes i don't think it matters that blizzard made up this new story, i mean the old republic was written by someone also.

    I was hoping for a MMO Report and got this E-blizcon instead :/

    Posted: June 21, 2010 8:07 PM
  • Engramnigma

    seems like with all the attention bioware got at e3 , blizzard is just tryin to derail it.
    one thing noticable about the devs in this is the fact they dont seem very excited about it themselves.
    i'm suprised it didnt die along time ago just because of the fact that to start in wow now you have to spend like 120$ not including the monthly sub thats with the warchest now with this expansion the price is gona go up again and only the established players will pick it up, those that haven't left yet.
    I don't know that swtor is as innovative as people seem to make it out to be.but it is from an ip loved around the world by a company respected around the world.
    as far as lore goes i don't think it matters that blizzard made up this new story, i mean the old republic was written by someone also.

    I was hoping for a MMO Report and got this E-blizcon instead :/

    Posted: June 21, 2010 7:58 PM
  • Nathiest

    wow thanks for NOTHING!! I / WE already know all this.

    Posted: June 21, 2010 7:50 PM
    Nathiest
  • Ariellog

    Love how they rip off yet a other idea from a other MMO and some how they get Credit. Rated Battleground ,, please, done before. Guild xp done before .You can tell that all the REAL talent left blizzard long ago, to form Arena net. Guild Wars 2 , now there something to look forward too.

    WoW please who cares.

    Posted: June 21, 2010 5:06 PM
    Ariellog
  • BoydofZINJ

    Will it be more hardcore or still cater for the EZ casual crowd? I am hoping SWTOR will be a bit more hardcore than WoW. However, the few deaths I have seen in SWTOR seem to be casual EZMODE deaths too.

    It does look interesting. However, when I tried it out (and keep in mind this was before the first paid expansion) I found it ... a bit to EZMODE and too casual for my liking.

    Posted: June 21, 2010 4:17 PM
    BoydofZINJ
  • dr_clocker

    SWTOR for me now. wow was a great game, but it is aging and lost its appeal for me quite a while ago.

    Posted: June 21, 2010 4:06 PM
    dr_clocker
AdChoices