X

Alice in Wonderland, The Road, True Blood S2 DVD Review

Posted: May 25, 2010
Alice in Wonderland, The Road, True Blood S2 DVD Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/46095/alice-in-wonderland-the-road-true-blood-s2-dvd-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/235773_LGST/dvduesday.jpg
Video_46095

DVDuesday is here! Chris Gore stops by with Alison Haislip with the latest DVD releases in hand, from Tim Burton's Alice in Wonderland, the second season of HBO's True Blood and the post apocalyptic The Road.

Comments are Closed

  • rerat

    After having to read The Road in high school, I don't think I can bring myself up to watching it.
    And I'm with Allison, at least rent Alice in Wonderland.

    Posted: June 28, 2010 3:21 PM
    rerat
  • zippityzzz

    Chris Gore Is A Tool!

    Posted: June 10, 2010 11:30 AM
    zippityzzz
  • rodwoo

    True Blood is by far the coolest show on TV! How can Allison sound like a total moron by saying she doesn't watch? Aren't they all suppose to be fanboy/girl geeks?!

    Posted: June 1, 2010 4:58 PM
    rodwoo
  • Rowdy12

    CHRIS GORE I HAVE LOST EVEN MORE RESPECT FOR YOU NOW FROM MY PREVIOUS STATEMENT WHEN YOU REVIEWED DAYBREAKERS AND LEGION! Alice in Wonderland is watchable and a rent, and the Road is a good movie although depressing, it is a watch. I SHAKE MY HEAD AT YOU AND I BID YOU ADO SIR!

    Posted: May 31, 2010 12:02 PM
    Rowdy12
  • GammaShard

    Agree with Alice in Wonderland terrible dialog all throughout the movie it took out the heart and philosophical context you see in the original classic. Is like they were trying to see how weird they can make the world look and crazy they can make the actors play, but they forgot to put in a story. equal to Charlie and chocolate factory, and no one remembers that atrocity.

    I actually really enjoyed the road even thought it is completely minus action, so is the real world for the most part. This is the only movie to give a real sense of a post-apocalyptic world.

    Posted: May 27, 2010 11:57 AM
    GammaShard
  • reijunJoe

    BTW, I thought Alice in Wonderland was just OK. But I would recommend The Road, even if it doesn't have BANG BOOM POW! and gives you sad feeling. Boo Hoo.

    Posted: May 26, 2010 9:32 PM
    reijunJoe
  • reijunJoe

    I do realize that every critic can be wrong at times, as it can come down to a matter of taste. But my comment wasn't even just about this time.
    I meant in general, he's an incompetent fanboy critic.
    You can't even pass it off as geek taste, cause I know plenty of geeks that share my view, and that could even do a far better job critiquing movies than him. Like I said, he's just fanboy running his mouth with no real concept of film.

    Posted: May 26, 2010 9:28 PM
    reijunJoe
  • longshotk1

    Some how I kind of new that she didnt watch True Blood.
    Best show on TV or cable by the way

    Posted: May 26, 2010 8:45 PM
    longshotk1
  • RTR

    True Blood is an anti-Twilight. So awesome...

    Posted: May 26, 2010 2:28 PM
    RTR
  • The Nameless Monster

    Seems like you're back on track.

    Posted: May 26, 2010 1:27 PM
    The+Nameless+Monster
  • mrsirman

    what are you guys talking about he's freakn cool! i go to film school and he's just like one of my friends. but alice in wonderland does suck. i think it was better in 2D than 3D

    Posted: May 26, 2010 11:32 AM
  • Sancho488

    Personally I've seen Alice in Wonderland twice, once in 3D once not in 3D. In 3D I thought the movie was Ok, but there was a lot going on to distract you from the story and the characters and the weird augmented CGI. Without the 3D I was forced to listen to Johnny Depp struggle between cheery and happy and a weird ass Scottish voice, of which I couldn't stop making fun of the WHOLE movie. I thought this movie should have just been called "Hatter and the Queen" seriously those two got more screen time then the rest of the freaking cast, all of whom were more interesting then the Hatter or the queen. This movie is just more proof that Tim Burton is now just a generic label to slap onto movies to force them to sell and so Hot topic can joy-gasm at its T-shirt sales.

    Posted: May 26, 2010 9:05 AM
  • Phlyin Munki

    im gonna have to say his right sorry but AiW does SUCK HARD and i hate Johnny Depp so yea Chris gore from me cuz im pretty sure i was the only person in my town that can't stand tim burton but thats just my opinion

    Posted: May 26, 2010 5:22 AM
    Phlyin+Munki
  • applebook

    Gore is an embarrassment to film criticism. He is also an shame to anyone who watches movies and has remotely decent taste. This is the same guy who recommends LEGION.

    Posted: May 26, 2010 2:45 AM
    applebook
  • vulgora

    chris gore is a whore
    as Alison said its worth a rent
    i saw it in the theater, and i give it a 7/10
    not great but its has its times
    its fun to look at at least

    Posted: May 26, 2010 1:50 AM
    vulgora
  • wislo

    Yeah some times hes wrong., but so it every critic.

    Posted: May 26, 2010 12:23 AM
    wislo
  • reijunJoe

    God I hate this guy!!
    Why the hell is this clueless fanboy on the show??
    I wonder that every time he's on. He's the furthest thing form an expert you could have found.

    Posted: May 25, 2010 9:56 PM
    reijunJoe
AdChoices