X

HTC Droid Incredible Review

Posted: April 27, 2010
HTC Droid Incredible Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/45594/htc-droid-incredible-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/233970_LGST/gadget-pron.jpg
Video_45594

Only one Droid can be deemed incredible. Kevin Pereira and Chris Hardwick review the new HTC Droid Incredible for Verizon Wireless with its 3.7" OLED touch screen, HTC sense interface and 8 mega pixel flash camera for $200 with a contract.

What You Need To Know

  • The phone runs on Android 2.1 with HTC's Sense UI which improves the OS with modified home screens, widgets and additional apps.
  • With the OLED screen, the phone was very streamlined.
  • The touch screen is very responsive and accurate.
  • We didn't have any issues typing on the virtual keyboard or selecting items.
  • HTC Sense really enhances the customization of the phone, allowing you to save and load profiles of your home screen configuration and change it on the fly.
  • There's a slight delay on the accelerometer at times, and you can only turn it to the left to enter landscape mode.
  • Other than that, we had an enjoyable experience.
  • The pictures from the 8 mega pixel camera with a built in flash and tap focus were great in normal light, but the flash was a little overpowering in lower light conditions.
  • Web browsing includes a pinch to zoom feature, plus the added support of Flash Lite 4.0.
  • We had no problem loading websites, and we could even watch videos from G4tv.com (though they were a little choppy), which most phones can't do.
  • Everything else, like the Android Market, email, messaging and other features worked as expected.

Price

  • $200 with a 2 year contract on Verizon Wireless.

Rating

  • 5 Seals of Approval out of 5! (How do we rate gadgets?)
  • It's hands down the best Android phone on the market right now.

Want something reviewed on Gadget Pr0n? Email us your suggestions to gadgetpron@g4tv.com.

...

Comments are Closed

  • otaku92

    i was thinking about getting the incredible for a long time but then then when i watched ces 2011 the new phones looked really good thought i cant decide between the 3 so i will have to wait on that. hmmmmmm..... all i know is i want a good android phone with great camera and media ablilitys

    Posted: January 13, 2011 8:28 PM
    otaku92
  • Leny

    there bringing out a new one called the Droid X on the 15th

    Posted: July 2, 2010 11:28 PM
  • Massey36

    in no way is this phone like the iphone 4. it does everything plus more. iphone 3gs even beats it. nothing will ever touch the iphones espically the iphone 4 witch i have

    Posted: July 2, 2010 2:17 PM
  • psybr1

    nice phone when my 2 are up my HERO will EVOvle :-)

    Posted: June 8, 2010 11:39 PM
    psybr1
  • ajac09

    love no mention of the evo which will kill the incredible in specs

    Posted: May 28, 2010 6:37 AM
    ajac09
  • ProjectPNasty

    I'm glad I held out on my New Every 2 cause I'm getting this phone.

    Posted: May 23, 2010 1:37 PM
    ProjectPNasty
  • LOPster

    G4, why do you have the Droid ERIS in the picture you click to come here? Should definitely be the correct phone...

    Posted: April 30, 2010 10:48 AM
    LOPster
  • DoctorMontalban

    cool vid....was enjoying it, til I started hearing annoying music and it's your ad playing a youtube music vid. Weird and annoying, but I could pause it, so I thought. Started watching the vid again....then another annoying ad talking over the vid....followed by the crappy music vid AGAIN. Terrible.

    Posted: April 29, 2010 5:42 AM
    DoctorMontalban
  • justinlars

    ROFL i love how at the beginning of the review the phone did a little sheen as he said the Droid Incredible! xD

    Posted: April 28, 2010 5:10 PM
    justinlars
  • ahorriblemess

    So pissed... I started my 2 year contract with Verizon a month and a half ago.

    Posted: April 28, 2010 4:56 PM
    ahorriblemess
  • OrionXI

    nice review! I might have to get this phone now! :)

    Posted: April 28, 2010 2:18 PM
    OrionXI
  • Jinnified

    I got Magic, Droid is cool, but every Droid is missing something, either the power, or the look, to be honest, so far only the HTC Legend got the look, the rest just look crap, so is the increiable, look absolutely crap, also they need to work more on the touch screen technology, hate to say that, but in terms of touch screen, apple is way ahead.

    Posted: April 28, 2010 1:10 PM
    Jinnified
  • Gamelife1

    I had a G1 one first and now I have a nexus one, although both of those are for the reason that my family has T-mobile. If I had Verizon than this would definitely be my first pick right now. I can't wait till about 2 years from now because by than not only will smartphones be ridiculous, but I will probably be on my own cell plan and I will definitely switch to Verizon.

    Posted: April 28, 2010 12:34 PM
    Gamelife1
  • lowkevmic

    As much as I love my Droid, or think the iphone is so cool, I know it was just the first of many phones coming out in months to come. So to all of the Iphone, droid, and G1 fanboys, be aware that more and more phones will come out that is just as good if not better then the iphone, Droid and the G1.

    Posted: April 28, 2010 9:16 AM
    lowkevmic
  • lowkevmic

    I have the Droid, and I absolutley love that phone!! There really isn't anything that phone can't do, and if there is, then it can't be that important because I never noticed it. Not to mention that verizon service is just a better service altogether. I had Sprint, T-mobile, and AT&T, but Verizon just have a better network. It seems like the Incredible is a combination of the DROID and the Droid ERIS. Which is just a Droid with no keypad and a track ball. I really didn't see anything besides the 8.0 megapixel camera and the new OS that makes me want to give up my Droid so soon. But it must be something to get a 5 out of 5.

    @BETZILLA-You must work for T-mobile!! Because only someone who works for T-mobile or AT&T will go on and on about how great a phone is and never mention its service. The G1 is a great phone, but T-mobile service is crap!! Just like the IPhone with AT&T...Great phone, crappy network.

    Posted: April 28, 2010 9:08 AM
    lowkevmic
  • duvaldragon

    i don.t care WHAT phone comes out it can,t beat the iphone cause it dosen't have STREET FIGHTER 4!!!!!!!!!!!

    Posted: April 28, 2010 7:12 AM
    duvaldragon
  • Beelzebubba

    I got mine yesterday through a pre-order and this phone is really awesome. Go play with it in the store Thursday and you will just have to get it. I used to want an iPhone but this tops it pretty easily and it's on Verizon. Chris got it right, 5/5.

    (Tip: email or call Verizon to request that they move up your NE2 discount, they've been pretty liberal about it if you're within a couple of months).


    @Betzilla - This is not a Motorola Droid, it's an HTC.

    Posted: April 28, 2010 4:04 AM
    Beelzebubba
  • Tenxchi

    Thank you Kevin Pereira and Chris Hardwick! with the perfect review that you gave for this phone definitely makes me confirm that I should get it.Attack of the show Rocks. G4tv for life baby. Love Y'all. :)

    Posted: April 27, 2010 9:55 PM
  • Betzilla

    As an owner of the G1 I can officially say F the droid! go with T-mobile guys, the G1 is better that that motorola piece.

    Posted: April 27, 2010 9:33 PM
    Betzilla
  • FlyboyM

    I really like this phone but I'm gonna need to try it hands on first.

    Posted: April 27, 2010 8:37 PM
    FlyboyM
AdChoices