X

Ostendo CRVD 43" Curved Monitor Review

Posted: April 19, 2010
Ostendo CRVD 43" Curved Monitor Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/45423/ostendo-crvd-43-curved-monitor-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/233110_LGST/gadget-pron.jpg
Video_45423

Take your wide screen display to the next level with the Ostendo CRVD Curved Monitor, featuring a 43" LED screen, 90 degree field of view and much, much more. Chris Hardwick and Kevin Pereira take a well-rounded look at this $6,500 behemoth.

What You Need To Know

  • Since the CVRD is not a flat screen, you'll need a lot of space for this monitor.
  • It measures almost 2' high, over 1' deep and 3.5' long.
  • The specs are certainly up to par with a 10,000 to 1 contrast ratio and 0.02 millisecond response time.
  • It provides a true immersive experience.
  • The screen takes a little bit of time to warm up and really give you the full effect.
  • Once that happens, it's hard not to be amazed by it.
  • It has a huge resolution of 2880 x 900, that's a 32 x 10 aspect ratio, compared to the normal widescreen being only 16 x 9.
  • It'll work with any computer that supports that resolution, so you don't need an expensive gaming PC.
  • It almost looks like a DLP TV because it has four separate projectors built in, so it doesn't look quite as sharp as a CRT or LCD.
  • If you're not looking at it straight on, you can see the divisions on the screen.
  • This isn't really a big deal unless you're going to spend a lot of time watching someone else use it.
  • Overall, it's still pretty amazing.

Price

  • $6,500.
  • It's not really affordable for the consumer or even the gamer, but it could be great for professional uses like editing or graphics.

Rating

  • 3 Seals of Approval out of 5. (How do we rate gadgets?)
  • It's hard to deny they're on to something here, but as of now, it's also hard to find someone who will spend that much money for a monitor.

Want something reviewed on Gadget Pr0n? Email us your suggestions to gadgetpron@g4tv.com.

...

Comments are Closed

  • PcgamerWithAClue

    That is pron.

    Posted: May 5, 2010 4:33 PM
    PcgamerWithAClue
  • Spybreak

    Why not just buy three displays all hooked up, problem solved haha.

    Posted: April 26, 2010 11:52 PM
    Spybreak
  • J_Boolihans

    +1 Uldum

    Posted: April 26, 2010 7:43 AM
    J_Boolihans
  • liarsthieves

    I WHAT IT!!!!!!!!!!!!! HERS THE GIRL SELL ME THE GIRL!

    Posted: April 23, 2010 8:30 AM
    liarsthieves
  • lowkevmic

    Yeah this monitor looks like it should be more priced around 600.00 bucks and not 6000.00!! I can even see them getting away with a solid grand for the thing. I think I'll pass and just save up my pennies for a 3D tv instead. It's half the price and it's a 3D tv!!

    Posted: April 22, 2010 3:30 PM
    lowkevmic
  • Welbeloved

    A LiL tooooooo sooon pricey baby pricey!

    Posted: April 22, 2010 12:53 PM
    Welbeloved
  • maldonaon

    Yes i ahve read th have post. I think the technology for these tyope of monitors improves. The Design and Quality of Display is looking Very Better anD Great.

    http://www.articlesbase.com/ health-articles/acai-optimum-r eview-how-effective-acai-optim um-is--1970308.html

    Posted: April 21, 2010 11:44 PM
    maldonaon
  • Uldum

    i rather see a progression in these than in 3D gaming to be honest

    Posted: April 21, 2010 1:43 PM
    Uldum
  • westsideboiler

    I sincerely hope that the technology for these type of monitors improves. The design for this display is just plain garbage.

    Posted: April 20, 2010 11:48 PM
    westsideboiler
  • Odo969

    wait..........the crew laughter is canned, now I feel like a retard.

    Posted: April 20, 2010 10:14 PM
    Odo969
  • jdortin

    is it just me or does the canned crew laughter get annoying on this show after awhile?

    Posted: April 20, 2010 7:44 PM
    jdortin
  • jajs1730

    lololololololol look at that price tag!! lol

    Posted: April 20, 2010 5:32 PM
  • edgeofblade

    Ummm.... couldn't I BUILD this on my own for less cash? Better yet, why don't I kick the kids out of the house, paint the walls in their room with projector screen paint and... umm... if I said Cerebro, would that get the point across?

    Posted: April 20, 2010 3:22 PM
    edgeofblade
  • nvserg

    sorry, i would rather buy the untimite 8500 LED 55" Samsung for $3700 compared to this TV

    Posted: April 20, 2010 2:51 PM
    nvserg
  • JustTheBeginning

    Just ba-dazzle it a bit and it will be fine, food for your kids is over-rated anyways!

    Posted: April 20, 2010 2:01 PM
    JustTheBeginning
  • ricky047

    THAT PRICE TAG IS LAUGHABLE!

    Posted: April 20, 2010 1:01 PM
    ricky047
  • VectorRoll

    Cool you all got it up and running now. I shared it with my community over at the EA UK Forums. :)

    Posted: April 19, 2010 9:48 PM
    VectorRoll
  • Nathiest

    Looks dated like something from early 2000.

    I'd buy one for $600 but not a penny more.

    Posted: April 19, 2010 9:31 PM
    Nathiest
  • hawsman2

    hurray! They came back with mah videoh!

    Posted: April 19, 2010 9:15 PM
    hawsman2
  • VectorRoll

    Video not working yet, but I did see the review on the show. It seems cool, but the price is a joke. And what you all said about the price was funny. Great review tonight. I like it and had a great laugh. :)

    Posted: April 19, 2010 8:45 PM
    VectorRoll
AdChoices