X

AVA Direct Gaming PC Review

Posted: April 7, 2010
AVA Direct Gaming PC Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/45190/ava-direct-gaming-pc-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/232052_LGST/gadget-pron.jpg
Video_45190

Usually budgeting and gaming PCs don't go hand in hand, but AVADirect is out to change all of that with their gaming PC rigs. Kevin Pereira and Olivia Munn review this computer with its Intel Quad Core processor, 4 gigs of DDR3 RAM and ATI Radeon HD 5770 video card for under $1,000.

What You Need to Know

  • This is one of the smallest gaming towers we've ever reviewed at just over 1’ tall
  • It’s only 6” wide
  • The computer can be rotated to work on its side or as a tower
  • AVADirect did a great job of cable managing everything so it looks clean
  • There's enough room for a huge video card (like the ATI we used in the review)
  • You might have trouble getting RAM in the slot next to the heatsink, because it's so big
  • There is also only one slot for video cards, so you won't be able to expand with a second card
  • Overall, though, we were surprised with the amount of space in the case
  • It blows through games like Battlefield Bad Company 2; we maxed out pretty much every setting and it looks amazing
  • In our normal 3DMark Vantage Tests, it performed really well, scoring about 10,700 points

Price

  • $1,000
  • We can finally recommend an affordable system that will play any new game on the market well
  • We are also really impressed with what AVADirect can do on a budget

Overall Rating

Click here to order the gaming PC from the AVADirect website. Don't forget to enter "AOTS" in the discount field on the shopping cart form, and then update your order total for a $25 discount!

Want something reviewed on Gadget Pr0n? Email us your suggestions to gadgetpron@g4tv.com.

...

Comments are Closed

  • x50CALxDRE

    hey i wonder would it be able to play APB with all the settings maxed

    P.S i know the game hasn't came out yet but the specs are still there

    Posted: June 19, 2010 11:07 AM
    x50CALxDRE
  • GringoSmalls

    Crysis sucks, though. I'd much rather see how it handles a game that is worth playing.

    Posted: May 31, 2010 12:51 PM
    GringoSmalls
  • enissor

    also dont show bc2 SHOW CRYSIS the standard of PC gaming BENCHMARKING

    Posted: May 3, 2010 11:09 AM
    enissor
  • enissor

    Anyone who buys that is a total noob. I'm thinking of a 600 rig that is still even more so powerful than any console. You dont need a 5770 hell just get a 9800gtx.

    ANYONE who BUYS a pc GAMING RIG is a noob build it yourself

    Posted: May 3, 2010 11:07 AM
    enissor
  • xiaolin99

    The price is not impressive at all.

    Posted: May 1, 2010 5:43 PM
    xiaolin99
  • TonyMacans

    Does anybody know what the model of monitor it is in the background on this review? It looks good and a nice size.

    Posted: April 17, 2010 5:57 AM
    TonyMacans
  • ratshady

    I spent $2000 on my custom built PC!

    Posted: April 16, 2010 7:28 AM
  • tvfreakazoid

    WOW! That dress OH MY! Probably one of the sexiest thing she wore on the show, if not the sexiest.

    Posted: April 16, 2010 2:59 AM
    tvfreakazoid
  • PcBuilder

    never said in the same sentence?! I built my pc for $600!

    Posted: April 12, 2010 9:44 AM
    PcBuilder
  • Slymerz

    All we needed to know is does it play StarCraft 2

    Posted: April 9, 2010 8:19 AM
    Slymerz
  • PcgamerWithAClue

    "
    I'm kinda surprised there's no copyright conflict with Angels and Airwaves...could care less about the pc.

    Read more: http://g4tv.com/attackofthesho w/gadgetpr0n/70421/AVADirect-C ustom-Gaming-PC-Review.html#ix zz0kY9howWo
    "

    That's probably why you are posting, to tell us that interesting information.

    Posted: April 8, 2010 3:20 PM
    PcgamerWithAClue
  • avc75

    I wonder if there are enough gadgets world wide to have a full gadgetpron television show instead of just a short segment. I enjoy watching news on gadgets I know I'll never buy on top of gadgets I will buy. Sort of like window shopping in the world of geek'dom.

    Posted: April 8, 2010 1:45 PM
    avc75
  • XwingVmanX

    I would buy this right now if I had the money, but I am also holding off till SW:TOR comes out to get a PC. Like they said, they reviewed another PC from AVA a year ago that was slower and cost $800 more. So if I wait another year for SW:TOR, I'm sure I will get an even better PC for the same price.

    Come on self control! lol

    Posted: April 8, 2010 12:38 PM
    XwingVmanX
  • saranpion

    My god! Olivia is driving me crazy with that dress she's wearing... keep up the good work Olivia... and by that I mean keep wearing tight, short little outfits.

    Posted: April 8, 2010 12:23 PM
    saranpion
  • sireatsalot91

    I'm kinda surprised there's no copyright conflict with Angels and Airwaves...could care less about the pc.

    Posted: April 8, 2010 7:23 AM
    sireatsalot91
  • PcgamerWithAClue

    Cheaper building your own pc.

    Posted: April 8, 2010 6:34 AM
    PcgamerWithAClue
  • alaskanhybrid

    LIghts and lasers, and things like that ruin a pc for me simply cause it is distracting

    Posted: April 8, 2010 3:29 AM
  • GarretPoker

    Gotta luv honesty... makes me wanna buy it.

    Posted: April 8, 2010 2:06 AM
    GarretPoker
  • SpiderMunnkey

    her dress is really short O_O

    Posted: April 7, 2010 11:27 PM
    SpiderMunnkey
  • BlackLable69

    Nice side profile Olivia...& you have the Star Trek thing going for ya....OLIVIA MEET ME IN MY QUARTERS..:-( my wife doesn't like you or Morgan oh tisk tisk...:-P

    Posted: April 7, 2010 9:47 PM
    BlackLable69
AdChoices