X

Apple iPad Review

Posted: April 5, 2010
Apple iPad Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/45135/apple-ipad-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/231785_LGST/gadget-pron.jpg
Video_45135

Some say it's revolutionary, others say it's pure magic. Could it be both? Chris Hardwick and Kevin Pereira give their official take on the Apple iPad, with its 9.7" multi touch display, iBooks, iWorks productivity software, and more, all starting at $500.

What You Need To Know

  • Compared to other devices, the iPad is extremely unique and unlike anything else we've used.
  • It's about the size of a piece of paper (8" x 10") and measures half an inch thick.
  • It's heavier than you might expect.
  • This might make it too heavy or awkward when you're using the tablet for long periods of time.
  • It's a good size but you can't hold it up forever.
  • You have to put it on a desk and hover over it, or balance it on your knees.
  • The touch screen is the most striking feature of the iPad.
  • It's huge at 9.7" and LED backlit, so it's everything you'd expect from a touch screen Apple device.
  • If you've used an iPhone before, you'll know how to use this.
  • Even if you have no experience with an iPhone, it's immediately intuitive.
  • The screen is multi-touch, which means you can pinch and zoom.
  • The keyboard works well but you'll have to hover over the iPad to type on it.
  • It has the OLEOPhobic screen but you'll still get your fingerprints all over it.
  • Overall, we love the iPhone touch experience and this is even better because the screen is huge!
  • For the most part, the iPad experience translated well to the primary features, like web browsing, checking email and watching Youtube videos.
  • The iPad makes browsing the web on Safari exactly the way you want to.
  • Pinch and zoom, large screen and easy keyboard makes this the killer app (though without the Flash support).
  • Lots of other apps like email and YouTube have been redesigned to work and look better on the iPad, and it makes a huge difference because of all the screen real estate.
  • The iWorks apps like Pages and iBooks work extremely well.
  • The battery life so far is great.
  • Other apps available include the NetFlix app, which gives you access to your instant queue and looks amazing on the screen.
  • There's also Real Racing GTI which is easier to play than on an iPhone, because you don't over correct on the iPad as much and it doesnt look bad when you scale it.
  • Evernote has been redesigned for the iPad and is more fun to use.
  • Command and Conquer Red Alert is amazing, and is just as easy to play as on a computer.
  • The only problem is that the apps are expensive.

Price

  • $500.00 for the 16g Wi-Fi version.

Rating

  • 4 Seals of Approval out of 5. (How do we rate gadgets?)
  • This won't replace your laptop and you may need to buy other accessories, like a keyboard.

Want something reviewed on Gadget Pr0n? Email us your suggestions to gadgetpron@g4tv.com.

Did you see our behind-the-scenes photos of this iPad Review?

Plus, death-glam-metal band Distended Warranty released their new music video, 'iHate, Therefore iPad.'

...

Comments are Closed

  • axelausbrowniehome

    I am geting one

    Posted: May 17, 2010 3:28 PM
    axelausbrowniehome
  • aznfishyfart

    lol he called it an "iphone touch" experience

    Posted: April 20, 2010 2:43 AM
    aznfishyfart
  • rocketeer

    i love these guys, and they were funny and all, but they really phoned this one in.

    seems like after months of talking about the thing before it showed up, they had just run out of things to say. i mean, chris hardwick's review was nothing more than "go down to the apple store, try it, and if you like it, buy it." thanks, but i already knew that.

    Posted: April 15, 2010 9:01 AM
    rocketeer
  • anomaluigi

    I've used it at the Apple store... It's just like a giant iphone, except you can't call people with it and it doesn't fit in your back pocket. It pretty much does everything that my iphone can do and can't do some things that my macbook pro can do. Please! This thing's a jip.

    Posted: April 9, 2010 10:55 PM
    anomaluigi
  • bossbetty

    I can't believe it!!!! I'm watching G4 TV, and typing with my Macbook Pro!!! I do all my work in Logic Pro, Final Cut, Adobe (with its special flash feature, ohh), and Office which I have on my laptop! People are supporting this to bring back the recently fallen print media industry, I like it for that, but I would spend $5.99 for a magazine so $500? No. I like to take the AT&T away from iPhone, look at that Apple brand new invention!! Go and accomplish this, and I'll skip this one. One morg thing Korg Electrotribe on iPad hotness, but usb connect to my computer? I need it to charge on the go actually the whole thing needs more connection ports, and drivers so you can use it as a plug in. Sorry I'm a music app dork.

    Posted: April 9, 2010 6:56 PM
    bossbetty
  • InsanePotato

    It doesn't do flash, multitask, you need more accessories, doesn't have a camera and it wont replace your laptop? If you're making a case for it you're failing. Go back and try again, show us what makes it unique other than size because as far as i can tell it's expensive for what it does and what the competition can offer. Stop being so overly enthused and start articulating what is actually good about this thing other than it's Apple and somehow in your magical world more "robust".

    Posted: April 9, 2010 9:08 AM
    InsanePotato
  • anubis_182

    I was not sold on the ipad either. It does look like a much larger touch. Also, anything that is first gen is not usually good. Also, apple has many different things that they keep locked on their devices and so I am not really that into this device. I am not buying one but if it so happens that I can get one for free I won't give it away,

    Posted: April 9, 2010 7:59 AM
    anubis_182
  • jwoolley7089

    defonantly cool but idk if i could get myself to pay 500 for it. I im getting an iphone in a week and i have a 120G classic ipod. Cant say i think its worth it.

    Posted: April 8, 2010 8:34 PM
  • kriozin

    http://social.bioware.com/brc/ 781618

    Posted: April 8, 2010 5:55 PM
    kriozin
  • stickymonki

    hellz ya!
    ipad rocks!

    Posted: April 8, 2010 5:10 PM
  • verde611

    From a completely unbaised opinion of the ipad, Chris did not sell me on the the product. I agree with most people when they say he was defending it rather than reviewing it. He did a quick recap of its flaws amd threw in some ambiguous word like robust. Regardless of english diction, i would like to know if i'm getting my money's worth. If not, then say so, don't beat around the bush. But if you're gonna review something then please be fair and not play lap dog for some big corporation. Still think you're a cool guy Chris, but come on!!!

    Posted: April 8, 2010 3:28 PM
    verde611
  • GHETOyeti

    i still haven't found out if the porn on this thing is good or not

    Posted: April 8, 2010 3:13 PM
    GHETOyeti
  • poketfulashelz

    Looks like somethign worth getting in a couple years when the price is cut in half and more things become available like flash and what not. As for people complaining about it missing a camera, what could you possibly need another crappy camera for?

    Posted: April 8, 2010 9:00 AM
    poketfulashelz
  • MasterSamChief

    Ok, so Chris... I actually DID get to use an iPad on launch day.... And YES, it IS just a giant Ipod touch.... sure the resolution is a little better, but literally, my phone does more than this thing, and it fits in my pocket. I can't believe people are wasting money on this crap.

    Also your review is incorrect in one part... it does NOT make full use of the app store, because some of those apps require a camera.

    Posted: April 8, 2010 6:01 AM
    MasterSamChief
  • WildfireFox

    ^ And then he had automatically done something that was more interesting than anything that has been on Web Soup.

    Posted: April 8, 2010 4:37 AM
    WildfireFox
  • jmorris1029

    HOOOOLD ON........i do NEED an XBOX and a PS3........how dare you

    Posted: April 8, 2010 1:10 AM
    jmorris1029
  • ScrappedHeap

    Does anyone know how it looks in direct sunlight? The way e-ink looked on the Kindle was what sold me on that device. If this screen doesn't wash out in the sun I would think of replacing my Kindle DX with this. Also, does it have a kindle app like the iphone does so I could continue to purchase on Amazon if I wanted to?

    Posted: April 8, 2010 1:01 AM
    ScrappedHeap
  • pitbull2010

    The best review is always done by yourself. Go to the apple store and see the thing for yourself, there is way toooo much mis-information about it, its crazy. its actually pretty cool, I bought one even though I thought it sucked at first based on all the crazy reviews. totally suprised when i saw it at the apple store.

    Posted: April 7, 2010 10:46 PM
    pitbull2010
  • kriozin

    wow this is nothing compared to what bioware does (lol) - http://social.bioware.com/brc/ 781618

    Posted: April 7, 2010 6:38 PM
    kriozin
  • Inthecut

    I found better reviews elsewhere, that Chris Hardwick is really annoying and the No. 1 reason why I don't bother watching ATOS as much anymore. Guy's & Gal's the best reviews for IPAD are found at the Engadget website 100%....Interms of G4, XPLAY & the FEEDBACK show are ace and the only shows I watch, ATOS screws around too much and (Around The Net) is played out, that show has lost my intrest and chris is not funny just childish, Oh so is that blair dude too, WEIRD dude....

    Posted: April 7, 2010 6:33 PM
    Inthecut
AdChoices