X

Apple iPad Review

Posted: April 5, 2010
Apple iPad Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/45135/apple-ipad-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/231785_LGST/gadget-pron.jpg
Video_45135

Some say it's revolutionary, others say it's pure magic. Could it be both? Chris Hardwick and Kevin Pereira give their official take on the Apple iPad, with its 9.7" multi touch display, iBooks, iWorks productivity software, and more, all starting at $500.

What You Need To Know

  • Compared to other devices, the iPad is extremely unique and unlike anything else we've used.
  • It's about the size of a piece of paper (8" x 10") and measures half an inch thick.
  • It's heavier than you might expect.
  • This might make it too heavy or awkward when you're using the tablet for long periods of time.
  • It's a good size but you can't hold it up forever.
  • You have to put it on a desk and hover over it, or balance it on your knees.
  • The touch screen is the most striking feature of the iPad.
  • It's huge at 9.7" and LED backlit, so it's everything you'd expect from a touch screen Apple device.
  • If you've used an iPhone before, you'll know how to use this.
  • Even if you have no experience with an iPhone, it's immediately intuitive.
  • The screen is multi-touch, which means you can pinch and zoom.
  • The keyboard works well but you'll have to hover over the iPad to type on it.
  • It has the OLEOPhobic screen but you'll still get your fingerprints all over it.
  • Overall, we love the iPhone touch experience and this is even better because the screen is huge!
  • For the most part, the iPad experience translated well to the primary features, like web browsing, checking email and watching Youtube videos.
  • The iPad makes browsing the web on Safari exactly the way you want to.
  • Pinch and zoom, large screen and easy keyboard makes this the killer app (though without the Flash support).
  • Lots of other apps like email and YouTube have been redesigned to work and look better on the iPad, and it makes a huge difference because of all the screen real estate.
  • The iWorks apps like Pages and iBooks work extremely well.
  • The battery life so far is great.
  • Other apps available include the NetFlix app, which gives you access to your instant queue and looks amazing on the screen.
  • There's also Real Racing GTI which is easier to play than on an iPhone, because you don't over correct on the iPad as much and it doesnt look bad when you scale it.
  • Evernote has been redesigned for the iPad and is more fun to use.
  • Command and Conquer Red Alert is amazing, and is just as easy to play as on a computer.
  • The only problem is that the apps are expensive.

Price

  • $500.00 for the 16g Wi-Fi version.

Rating

  • 4 Seals of Approval out of 5. (How do we rate gadgets?)
  • This won't replace your laptop and you may need to buy other accessories, like a keyboard.

Want something reviewed on Gadget Pr0n? Email us your suggestions to gadgetpron@g4tv.com.

Did you see our behind-the-scenes photos of this iPad Review?

Plus, death-glam-metal band Distended Warranty released their new music video, 'iHate, Therefore iPad.'

...

Comments are Closed

  • Ricky_D

    The iPad is a toy. Simple as that.

    Posted: April 6, 2010 9:24 AM
    Ricky_D
  • lowkevmic

    I think Chris was more concerned with defending the Ipad, then he was with making a honest objective review. It's obvious that he, and the rest of the G4 staff really like Apple products, which makes for a pretty biast review. If all of the best features of the ipad are simply just great things you'll find on a Iphone but just on a larger more "Robust" scale, then why get so offended when people refer to this as a big Iphone?? Look, at the end of the day, the ipad looks and feels great. But for everything it's missing, and the fact that apps are really expensive. I really don't see why I would want to buy this for 500 bucks, if I already have an ipod touch or an iphone?? I think the reign of terror which was the ipod is beginning to lose some steam. Because now it seems like they are trying to milk the ipod for every possible penny they can.

    Posted: April 6, 2010 8:37 AM
    lowkevmic
  • tale170iota151

    i never liked chris H and i dislike him even more. So nerd$g!t but its a bigger i pod. so basically because its bigger and now its not on that tiny screen it the be all end all. The apps work better not crap it bigger you can see it now. besides you people should just buy a netbook. you end up zooming in on the internet so its not like you are just going to use it without zoom. same apps that you are able to see now.

    Read more: http://g4tv.com/attackofthesho w/gadgetpr0n/70390/Apple-iPad- Review.html#ixzz0kKehSWh5

    Posted: April 6, 2010 7:57 AM
    tale170iota151
  • Bomblord

    You have officially changed my mind i now want an Ipad

    oh wait I still don't have 500 dollars just lying around

    Posted: April 6, 2010 6:38 AM
    Bomblord
  • Cgreenman

    I have an i phone and I would guess that it would be suffice, unless I get in the market for an E-book reader thingy. I plan to play with it at the Apple store this weekend. Since there are plenty of good books I want to read, maybe I'll look into an I pad instead. Can you download almost any book? I have no experience with purchasing digital books. One thing I noticed was how much of a fan boy some G4 tv host are though. It seemed to pain him as he mentioned the many flaws it has. Saying , " you don't have to buy it", is like giving me permission to breath. More objective review and less sweating while displaying your loyalty. It was funny tho , if that was the point .

    Posted: April 5, 2010 11:33 PM
    Cgreenman
  • Dead_Lilac

    I went to Best Buy this weekend, and got the chance to play with the iPad for 10 minutes. My opinion... It's a giant iPod Touch, but the "giant" part is what's so cool about it. The big touch screen plays to all the desires I have from owning an iPod Touch. Played a side-scrolling Simpsons' game that was fun. iTunes was arranged much better than my Ipod. Typing worked fine, but was awkward to type when laying flat. Web browsing looked great.

    As much fun as it was to play with, I would suggest to everyone to wait for the next generation. For starters, it definitely needs multitasking, flash, and a camera. I'll save up for next year, and see what Apple can come up with.

    Posted: April 5, 2010 11:13 PM
    Dead_Lilac
  • BlackLable69

    Chris those must have been some very annoying tweets cuz your sweating profusely.

    Posted: April 5, 2010 10:48 PM
    BlackLable69
  • layzie45

    You know it's funnny, He said the Ipad is not perfect missing all those features but still getting a 4/5, but other products that were missing those features got a low score.

    Posted: April 5, 2010 9:44 PM
    layzie45
  • ajac09

    "this review was paid for my apple"

    Posted: April 5, 2010 9:40 PM
    ajac09
  • xxxciter

    @Atavax -- I totally agree! Unless the iPad vibrates when you watch certain types of videos...I think he is using "robust" when he should be using "bigger" (aside from a few iPad only apps, big deal)

    THE REAL SHORTFALL OF THE iPAD -- IS IT IS NOT A STAND-ALONE DEVICE -- IT IS MERELY A PERIPHERAL...

    It should be fully independent and not REQUIRE another computer. Then it could really be useful as a starter computer!!!

    Posted: April 5, 2010 9:25 PM
    xxxciter
  • johnfesh

    johnfesh1@comcast.net I have no cell phone,video games,dvr or tevo! But I would like to have a Ipad. Ya...

    Posted: April 5, 2010 9:13 PM
    johnfesh
  • Aerindel_Prime

    I actually wasn't interested in the iPad until I saw this review, now...I think I want one, which sucks because I am totally broke.

    Posted: April 5, 2010 8:48 PM
    Aerindel_Prime
  • ceedz

    Hey Kevin and Chris we in the VIewer Army ask how would you rate the other versions of the iPad 3g? If we already pay for unlimited data for the iPhone will that plan cover an iPad, if I decide to purchase one with 3G? "I love my iPhone but not AT&T, I love my MacBook but no Blu ray, so I know I will love the iPad but not the 1st generation." Hoping that next generation iPad has 128 gb of storage and at least one forward facing camera for iChat. I wish could dock it in my car and it would display my radio, speedometer, fuel, oil temp, & other gauges. Also like a remote for dimming lights, ventilation, heating & cooling, monitor oven temps cooking, watching TV, energy consumption, and security. The possibilities of an Apple products. I already use my iPhone as a mouse for my MacBook that mini DVI to HDMI to my 46" Bravia w/800w home theater to watch ATOS on g4tv.com.

    Posted: April 5, 2010 7:41 PM
  • Atavax

    i dont know whether the Ipad is any good or not... but this is one of the worst reviews i've ever seen...

    he complains about people calling it a large Ipod touch, and claims they have never even used the device... but he doesnt really know if they have or they havent. and he doesnt say how it is not just a large Ipod touch, other then in the vague term "robust" what does "robust" mean in this case? is it something other then the large screen? i dont know because he didnt say... he didnt really tell us anything we couldnt of gathered from the tech spec page of the device... and then acts like an idiot by retorting internet nerds by using the literal meaning of the word, need, which obviously was never intended.

    Posted: April 5, 2010 7:19 PM
    Atavax
  • quandries

    KP and nerdist. My two favorite TV guys.

    Posted: April 5, 2010 6:58 PM
    quandries
AdChoices