X

Apple iPad Review

Posted: April 5, 2010
Apple iPad Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/45135/apple-ipad-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/231785_LGST/gadget-pron.jpg
Video_45135

Some say it's revolutionary, others say it's pure magic. Could it be both? Chris Hardwick and Kevin Pereira give their official take on the Apple iPad, with its 9.7" multi touch display, iBooks, iWorks productivity software, and more, all starting at $500.

What You Need To Know

  • Compared to other devices, the iPad is extremely unique and unlike anything else we've used.
  • It's about the size of a piece of paper (8" x 10") and measures half an inch thick.
  • It's heavier than you might expect.
  • This might make it too heavy or awkward when you're using the tablet for long periods of time.
  • It's a good size but you can't hold it up forever.
  • You have to put it on a desk and hover over it, or balance it on your knees.
  • The touch screen is the most striking feature of the iPad.
  • It's huge at 9.7" and LED backlit, so it's everything you'd expect from a touch screen Apple device.
  • If you've used an iPhone before, you'll know how to use this.
  • Even if you have no experience with an iPhone, it's immediately intuitive.
  • The screen is multi-touch, which means you can pinch and zoom.
  • The keyboard works well but you'll have to hover over the iPad to type on it.
  • It has the OLEOPhobic screen but you'll still get your fingerprints all over it.
  • Overall, we love the iPhone touch experience and this is even better because the screen is huge!
  • For the most part, the iPad experience translated well to the primary features, like web browsing, checking email and watching Youtube videos.
  • The iPad makes browsing the web on Safari exactly the way you want to.
  • Pinch and zoom, large screen and easy keyboard makes this the killer app (though without the Flash support).
  • Lots of other apps like email and YouTube have been redesigned to work and look better on the iPad, and it makes a huge difference because of all the screen real estate.
  • The iWorks apps like Pages and iBooks work extremely well.
  • The battery life so far is great.
  • Other apps available include the NetFlix app, which gives you access to your instant queue and looks amazing on the screen.
  • There's also Real Racing GTI which is easier to play than on an iPhone, because you don't over correct on the iPad as much and it doesnt look bad when you scale it.
  • Evernote has been redesigned for the iPad and is more fun to use.
  • Command and Conquer Red Alert is amazing, and is just as easy to play as on a computer.
  • The only problem is that the apps are expensive.

Price

  • $500.00 for the 16g Wi-Fi version.

Rating

  • 4 Seals of Approval out of 5. (How do we rate gadgets?)
  • This won't replace your laptop and you may need to buy other accessories, like a keyboard.

Want something reviewed on Gadget Pr0n? Email us your suggestions to gadgetpron@g4tv.com.

Did you see our behind-the-scenes photos of this iPad Review?

Plus, death-glam-metal band Distended Warranty released their new music video, 'iHate, Therefore iPad.'

...

Comments are Closed

  • spiritofire

    AND THAT WAS THE WORST REVIEW IN AOTS HISTORY I GIVE IT 2 STARS FOR FEEL AND LOOK

    Posted: April 6, 2010 4:46 PM
    spiritofire
  • RockieOllie

    Ipad is going to replace paper

    Posted: April 6, 2010 3:39 PM
    RockieOllie
  • adversary1999

    OMG! It weighs over 1lb! Apple is just asking for a class action law suit because of all the
    nerds getting a hernia from attempting to lift this thing. lol

    Posted: April 6, 2010 3:34 PM
    adversary1999
  • daemonbellum

    not to nitpick, scratch that, especially to nitpick, Kevin is wrong to say that the ipad is "extremely unique." Uniqueness cannot be qualified since something unique is no more or less unique than anything else. what can I say? 'Tis a pet peeve.

    Posted: April 6, 2010 3:24 PM
    daemonbellum
  • McMurder45

    I swear to GOD!!!! if Apple makes another product in this long line of crap I am going to go to Apple's CEO and beat the sh#$ out of him with that product!

    Posted: April 6, 2010 2:59 PM
    McMurder45
  • butterfly_goalie

    just a quick personal review of some of the features on one of these thingers. one of my roommate got one on sunday, now i recieved a kindle over spring break (supposed to be a grad present but i busted my acl and have been on the sidelines most of this lax season and my family took pity on me and gave it to me early) the ebook idea is not very well developed on the ipad, while the screen doesnt look as good as a specific ebook reader, it makes up for it by offering other things (obviously!). the battery life on my roommates is not as long as Chris's experience, we have been playing with this thing nonstop since sunday and have drained it to red twice. the picture is spectacular though as with all macs and its a very pretty devise all around.

    NOW it is much heavier than i would expect, and i am not a fan of the connectivity, a kindle offers mobile connection for free while my roommate has only wifi connection with his ipad (not sure if the 3g one is out yet) and only 16gb, both small storage and a costly data plan seem a bit steep for $500, dunno though maybe others could afford that.

    Finally, i do kinda feel like it is an oversized ipod touch and it seems overpriced to me, but its damn fun and pretty sweet for videos and apps, and it offers all the great stuff apple puts into all of their products (multi touch, the gyro thingy, and cool graphics and lots of different fun uses).

    just my opinion
    ps does anyone else think these two are a little sensitive about others opinions? kevin seems to get rather angry about being called a fanboy and chris seems to love technology... like REALLY love technology

    Posted: April 6, 2010 2:11 PM
    butterfly_goalie
  • dj8002

    I didn't enjoy the review too much, have seen much better ones, but I did get his point. I understand the fact that it should not be compared to an iPod touch. iPad specific apps are able to do much more than what the ordinary iphone/ipod touch apps due to more screen size and more power. I can say right now that I am going to be getting one, and its not because I am biased or a fanboy. If you don't want one that doesn't bother me, I don't work for apple.

    Anyway, my point is that just because YOU think it is a piece of crap doesn't mean that it is to everybody. I have the extra money and can really see the use for it and can justify buying one instead of a netbook. I am just a sucker for extremely simple things and this is one of those. I love using my iphone and ipod touch and can really see a good reason for getting an ipad. I seriously don't see the point in negative comments about products though unless you have actually had a bad experience with one because if you don't like it, don't worry about it. Let other people go on liking it if they want even if you think it is a waste of money. I don't see the point in arguing over something you don't like and trying to make other people not buy it...

    Posted: April 6, 2010 2:01 PM
    dj8002
  • Sovs

    So I can buy an Iphone with a new contract for $100 and call people or pay $500 for a faster, larger, and more satisfying IPad for $500... I understand its better for reading, movies, and is over fancier but I dont see why I would WANT an in-between device. I'd rather get an Xbox or PS3 w/ two controllers and a game or two. Plus, I have an android phone and I'd rather use my qwerty keyboard then hover over a touch-screen one.

    Posted: April 6, 2010 1:54 PM
    Sovs
  • TheSauceMan

    i like how Hardwick used all his tv time talking about how he spent all weekend fighting with angry internet nerds because he believes they don't know what they're talking about when they say that it's just a big iPod touch, yet he didn't list one unique feature that makes it a huge improvement over the iPod touch besides it having a large screen and being "robust."

    Good review Hardwick. Hope G4 still has Will's number, at least he had clear bullet-points that made sense.

    Posted: April 6, 2010 1:50 PM
    TheSauceMan
  • soundbwoy

    P.S. - Always think of what is possible and you will be surprised.

    Posted: April 6, 2010 1:45 PM
    soundbwoy
  • soundbwoy

    A simple solution for anyone asking themselves "To buy or not T buy"? The answer is this see if you're in need of some sort productivity item that is either physically large and overly expensive (i.e. for myself a DAW controller starting range $700 for a good one), or a software solution that costs way too much and your really don't want to carry a laptop or sit at a desktop in order to use. Now see if there is an iPad app for it and how well developed the app is.

    At which point you will be ale to make a concise decision and the usual big iPod Touch argument. Me personally I saved myself at least $900 the minimal cost of a really good DAW controller with the iPad and a $10 app. I just might take up painting again after playing with sketckbook pro.

    Posted: April 6, 2010 1:43 PM
    soundbwoy
  • Firf

    The iPad does charge when attached to a PC via USB (and Macs). It simply reads "Not Charging" however it does actually charge. In fact, if you use the 'Pad Info' free application, it shows it is charging. The official word is that anything that supplies less than 10 Watts will charge the iPad, but at a slower rate and thus will not read "Charging".

    Just wanted to make sure that if that was a concern for anyone, it should not be. It was a point made during the review that needed correction.

    Hope folks find this helpful ;)

    Posted: April 6, 2010 1:22 PM
    Firf
  • Mongrell

    Its Bigger its better? Maybe call it "The Maxi Pad"

    Posted: April 6, 2010 1:18 PM
    Mongrell
  • Mongrell

    Just yet another over priced P.O.S. Toy. I need one and want one as much as I need and or want a second toaster.

    Posted: April 6, 2010 1:10 PM
    Mongrell
  • jojo.j

    I thought Chris gave a great review, I enjoyed his ebullience

    Posted: April 6, 2010 1:03 PM
    jojo.j
  • jojo.j

    I thought Chris gave an awesome review, I liked his ebullience : )

    Posted: April 6, 2010 1:01 PM
    jojo.j
  • NInolobo

    Okay is big and work good but it missing something no matter what brand it is you need support when you typing is very uncomfortable after a couple hours i prefer use my laptop sorry buy you know is true.

    Posted: April 6, 2010 12:57 PM
    NInolobo
  • xdomx125x

    i'm no master of the english language but i am pretty sure that robust means the exact same thing as bigger. i love how hardwick tried to use a smarter word to fool people. also it is pretty ridiculous that anything else: missing key features like a camera, or charging more to use something on a larger screen would lose serious points if it wasn't an apple product. p.s. sorry that my grammar is weak.

    Posted: April 6, 2010 12:28 PM
    xdomx125x
  • Wuffie

    Uhm, since when does 'robust experience' alone make an item worth getting? This was not supposed to be a 'Let's defend my iPad' session, but a review... The end alone sealed that this was incredibly biased review and seriously made me lose a lot of respect for their reviews.

    I have used an iPad in an apple store... And it was a big iPod Touch. I have had all 4 big OS phones (Windows Mobile, WebOS, Android, and AppleOS), and... it felt just like a 5th OS to add to that list. The ONLY thing that made it better than all those phones was it's size. The screen was easier to use than a phone and it was a touch snappier than my WebOS phone (Seriously, Palm, use a processor that doesn't suck), but past that... It just felt like an oversized phone. Factor in that the keyboard was virtually useless and your wrists hurt after a few minutes of holding it and... I would not spend 300 on this, let alone 500. The utter lack of features that you expect from something with that pricetag just seals it...

    I mean, my current phone, a Motorola Droid, can do everything that iPad can for the most part as well as has a KEYBOARD and CAMERA! I paid 100 bucks for that, and really it was worth it... But 500 for something that does all my phone can, plus a tidbit extra, and is missing 2 of the most important features that anything that size should have... No, just no. I am not even going to brush on the whole contract thing either... Not worth getting into a rant over that.

    I guess my verdict on this is that Chris really needs to stop with his obsessive Apple fanboyism and be objective, and that the iPad is a large, overpriced iPod Touch...

    Posted: April 6, 2010 11:16 AM
    Wuffie
  • lowkevmic

    Ricky_D pretty much gave a better review than Chris Hardwick did. I think if he emphasized more on the fact that this is just a really cool toy for grown ups to play with, and not try and sell it for more than what it is, I think he would've gotten away with a better review.

    Posted: April 6, 2010 9:40 AM
    lowkevmic
AdChoices