X

Apple iPad Review

Posted: April 5, 2010
Apple iPad Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/45135/apple-ipad-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/231785_LGST/gadget-pron.jpg
Video_45135

Some say it's revolutionary, others say it's pure magic. Could it be both? Chris Hardwick and Kevin Pereira give their official take on the Apple iPad, with its 9.7" multi touch display, iBooks, iWorks productivity software, and more, all starting at $500.

What You Need To Know

  • Compared to other devices, the iPad is extremely unique and unlike anything else we've used.
  • It's about the size of a piece of paper (8" x 10") and measures half an inch thick.
  • It's heavier than you might expect.
  • This might make it too heavy or awkward when you're using the tablet for long periods of time.
  • It's a good size but you can't hold it up forever.
  • You have to put it on a desk and hover over it, or balance it on your knees.
  • The touch screen is the most striking feature of the iPad.
  • It's huge at 9.7" and LED backlit, so it's everything you'd expect from a touch screen Apple device.
  • If you've used an iPhone before, you'll know how to use this.
  • Even if you have no experience with an iPhone, it's immediately intuitive.
  • The screen is multi-touch, which means you can pinch and zoom.
  • The keyboard works well but you'll have to hover over the iPad to type on it.
  • It has the OLEOPhobic screen but you'll still get your fingerprints all over it.
  • Overall, we love the iPhone touch experience and this is even better because the screen is huge!
  • For the most part, the iPad experience translated well to the primary features, like web browsing, checking email and watching Youtube videos.
  • The iPad makes browsing the web on Safari exactly the way you want to.
  • Pinch and zoom, large screen and easy keyboard makes this the killer app (though without the Flash support).
  • Lots of other apps like email and YouTube have been redesigned to work and look better on the iPad, and it makes a huge difference because of all the screen real estate.
  • The iWorks apps like Pages and iBooks work extremely well.
  • The battery life so far is great.
  • Other apps available include the NetFlix app, which gives you access to your instant queue and looks amazing on the screen.
  • There's also Real Racing GTI which is easier to play than on an iPhone, because you don't over correct on the iPad as much and it doesnt look bad when you scale it.
  • Evernote has been redesigned for the iPad and is more fun to use.
  • Command and Conquer Red Alert is amazing, and is just as easy to play as on a computer.
  • The only problem is that the apps are expensive.

Price

  • $500.00 for the 16g Wi-Fi version.

Rating

  • 4 Seals of Approval out of 5. (How do we rate gadgets?)
  • This won't replace your laptop and you may need to buy other accessories, like a keyboard.

Want something reviewed on Gadget Pr0n? Email us your suggestions to gadgetpron@g4tv.com.

Did you see our behind-the-scenes photos of this iPad Review?

Plus, death-glam-metal band Distended Warranty released their new music video, 'iHate, Therefore iPad.'

...

Comments are Closed

  • AquamanTheSeaKing

    @KentuckyRanger

    Hardwick is doing his job. People do what is needed to make a living. Do you think a janitor likes the smell of crap, or a prostitute likes having sex with ugly guys?

    Posted: April 7, 2010 1:22 PM
    AquamanTheSeaKing
  • AquamanTheSeaKing

    I'll just wait for the improved version releases. The Max iPad. Also known as the MaxiPad. Rimshot!

    Posted: April 7, 2010 1:10 PM
    AquamanTheSeaKing
  • starclassics

    Also..hardwick, one of the biggest cons is that it doesn't do flash. That's right...flash.

    Posted: April 7, 2010 11:30 AM
    starclassics
  • starclassics

    Poor Hardwick. Yet another example of why this guy doesn't need to do reviews and needs to continue to stick to web soup.

    1. You don't know if these people have used it or not. He's an obvious Apple fanturd, has been for quite awhile, and this ended up becoming an Apple defensive section than an actual review.

    2. Get mad at the internet all you want guys. We help pay your bills, lol.

    3. "A more robust experience" is a corporate sales pitch. Sorry Chris, but it's a larger Iphone/Ipod touch. When it's a standalone device that can replace my laptop, come back to us.

    Otherwise, please stick to web soup. You're better when you actually succeed at looking smart. And, fyi there Hardwick, I've used it....and it's a big Iphone. Period.

    Posted: April 7, 2010 11:28 AM
    starclassics
  • drangel_jam

    From what they were saying, it sounded more like a 3/5. (3.5 max).
    $500 for an in-between device that lacks usb, and some standard software is just not worh it. Not to mention that typing on it isn't really practical, and Netflix looks better on my 50" Plasma, and on my 17" Toshiba. And I would surely not going to be caring it everywhere, like per say...hmnn: my iphone.

    Apple is great at making you feel special, that's why I stay away from their products during the all-time hype season. I personally, had to that gut feeling to buy it after it came out, but I put myself together and watched as many ipad reviews/walkthroughs as possible. It just doesn't do anything better than current devices already do (iphone, laptop, TV, consoles, and books).

    Posted: April 7, 2010 11:15 AM
    drangel_jam
  • kampfer_sama

    That seemed like my conclusion for the device (not having used it).
    I'm not a fan of the Apple aesthetic, so features like a kick stand would have been extremely appealing to me. Of course touch screens are great, but I have yet to find a fast-paced, touch-screen game that works better than similar games would with a mouse. Once the price-point comes down, I might consider it as a toy, but I'm not planning on lining up to buy one anytime soon.

    Posted: April 7, 2010 8:12 AM
    kampfer_sama
  • linhanyi

    http://www.saleairmax.com/Max_ 89.html max 89

    Posted: April 7, 2010 12:26 AM
    linhanyi
  • nuccam4nn

    kentuckyranger i couldn't of said it better myself... that is all

    Posted: April 6, 2010 9:38 PM
    nuccam4nn
  • KentuckyRanger

    I'm embarrassed for Chris Hardwick in the way he handled himself, it really wasn't a very professional nor honest review.
    Dude, you couldn't even get it to charge via a USB port, you made fun of how difficult and hard it was to type on it, you mentioned it has no USB Ports, etc...
    And then gave it 4 out of 5???
    I admit that the iPad is a cool toy, but it's way over priced for what it does and really missed the niche by a country Mile.
    I went to town today and played around with an iPad for almost an hour.
    At first it was kind of light but after holding it for a few Minutes it became a real pain to hold and typing in a comfortable position was near impossible.

    OS updates for the iPad will be handled just like the iPod Touch.
    In other words, iPad owners will have to pay for the updates...
    The iPad has no GPS! nor does it have the built in Compass, like the iPhone 3S so forget having a big Screen GPS for your Minivan.

    Posted: April 6, 2010 9:18 PM
    KentuckyRanger
  • KentuckyRanger

    I'm embarrassed for Chris Hardwick in the way he handled himself, it really wasn't a very professional nor honest review.
    Dude, you couldn't even get it to charge via a USB port, you made fun of how difficult and hard it was to type on it, you mentioned it has no USB Ports, etc...
    And then gave it 4 out of 5???
    I admit that the iPad is a cool toy, but it's way over priced for what it does and really missed the niche by a country Mile.
    I went to town today and played around with an iPad for almost an hour.
    At first it was kind of light but after holding it for a few Minutes it became a real pain to hold and typing in a comfortable position was near impossible.

    OS updates for the iPad will be handled just like the iPod Touch.
    In other words, iPad owners will have to pay for the updates...
    The iPad has no GPS! nor does it have the built in Compass, like the iPhone 3S so forget having a big Screen GPS for your Minivan.

    Posted: April 6, 2010 9:17 PM
    KentuckyRanger
  • SteveKB

    I love how he was attacked on twitter XD that was the funniest review ever XD and also it sucks not only because of some of the lack of features (yes some features aren't needed however) but the price is just pushing it.

    Posted: April 6, 2010 9:07 PM
    SteveKB
  • EVA zero

    I wonder if any of you know what "robust" means?!?!? The definition is strong and healthy. So saying that searching the internet on the iPad feels more robust than the iTouch would mean that it is a stronger, healthier experience. Come on guys, you have searched the internet on the iPhone and that little screen isn't great. It works, but it is not great. Surfing the web on a screen like that, was a better (stronger) experience. There isn't any denying it (you can try but you would be wrong). Bigger is better when it comes to screens that we view media on. Why do we buy the bigger, sharper televisions? Because it is more enjoyable to watch! Viewing movies on the iPad is a stronger experience then on a iPod Touch! Chris saying it is like an iPod Touch is fine because I could describe a grapefruit by saying it is like am orange. But when Chris says that it is a more robust experience, he is saying that it is a better experience (a stronger experience). Having checked out the iPad (going on-line, using iBook, using iPhoto, watching a movie), I don't know why anyone would by an iPod Touch now... it just feels gimped.

    Posted: April 6, 2010 9:04 PM
    EVA+zero
  • CodePlague

    Chris Hardwick needs his own batman signal when he does segments! Look in the sky is it a bird, a plane no its Gadget Pron With CHRIS HARDWICK!

    Posted: April 6, 2010 7:58 PM
    CodePlague
  • M6000

    I think the Ipad is just ok. I'm mean it's not revolutionary or anything it's just average nothing to impressive.

    Posted: April 6, 2010 7:36 PM
    M6000
  • aPoLiS117

    so if "it's not perfect" and you're looking forward to the 2nd generation, then how does this deserve a 4 out of 5? saying many site are switching to html5 does not mean it's ok for it to not include flash support! this review is should not about getting the next one, or if its cool because it's big, it should be about if the product is worth the money! but apparently not :(

    Posted: April 6, 2010 7:16 PM
    aPoLiS117
  • jmllmj

    did you guys see when the dude from Tosh.0 took a 9-iron to his iPad!..haha!..epic!!

    Posted: April 6, 2010 6:26 PM
    jmllmj
  • BigMikeBoro

    I think the iPad is a great idea on what a tablet PC should look like, and I hope that Apple or someone else gets it right next time. It's a beautiful device... that's all it is. It's stuck in the middle of being another hand-held device to the hopes of it being a high-performance laptop. Instead we just got a fancy net-book. Plus Chris Hardwick has always seems pro-Apple. He compares just about everything to the iPhone and never gives a real honest objective review when it comes to Apple. If you want a good review see the comedy music sketch with Kevin Pereira. It gave more information about the iPad then hearing a 38 yr old man cry about how the iPad is different from the iPod/Touch. Which he is right...one's a lot bigger, and of course 6 month from now when a competitor brings out their alternative answer for the tablet world, I'm sure Mr. Hardwick will be comparing it to the JesusPad...

    Posted: April 6, 2010 5:18 PM
    BigMikeBoro
  • player263004

    seems like a cool device, if you got the money buy one i guess, but personally I would just rather get a laptop only because im not made of money and I could get more out of a laptop than with this...but like i said if you have the extra cash i dont see why not.

    oh and chris does seem overly sensitive over a few lousy tweets at least enough to complain more about them than actually reviewing the ipad, i mean come on leave your personal arguments at home

    Posted: April 6, 2010 5:03 PM
    player263004
  • mcgrottys

    i might get the second gen ones and if they can run WoW I'll be hooked.

    Posted: April 6, 2010 4:52 PM
    mcgrottys
  • SgtPepper09

    I dont hate the iPad, I just hate the iPad fever. It really sucks that the iPad doesn't support flash andfor the price tag I think its the least it can do. It would be nice for the iPad to support flash and let the iPhone and iPod touch stay the way they are for now.

    Posted: April 6, 2010 4:50 PM
    SgtPepper09
AdChoices