X

Palm Pre Plus Review

Posted: March 16, 2010
Palm Pre Plus Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/44778/palm-pre-plus-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/205170_LGST/gadget.jpg
Video_44778

If you love your Verizon service and the Palm Web OS, then check out the Palm Pre Plus with its revamped full QWERTY keyboard and twice as much storage capacity. Chris Hardwick and Alison Haislip review this updated Palm Pre that runs $30 with a Verizon contract.

What You Need to Know

  • The Pre Plus is exactly the same as the original Pre, which means it weighs as much as an iPhone.
  • It has a smaller feel than the Droid or iPhone, but that means the touch screen is smaller, too.
  • They got rid of the Home button for a sleeker feel.
  • They also improved the keyboard with more space and "clickier" keys.
  • These improvements really helped the phone handling.
  • Finger swipes and gestures are easier without the button and it fits easier in your pocket.
  • The keyboard feels easier to use, but we still wish they would include a virtual keyboard in the case you don't want to open the phone.
  • Even the slider feels sturdier than the original.
  • The Pre Plus has double the storage at 16 gigs and the Ram.
  • Launching apps is faster for the most part, though normal apps like the browser and Google Maps still open in the same time.
  • You will see a difference in larger apps like Assassin's Creed.
  • When it comes to multi-tasking, Web OS is still our favorite operating system because of the card system.
  • The Plus can run more than twice the apps at the same time than the original Pre.
  • The touch screen still has a little lag to it, but it works well.
  • New features include the Pre Plus becoming a wi-fi hot spot for up to 5 devices.
  • This app is easy to use and gives good download speeds, but it's $40 more with a 5 gigabyte data cap.
  • 3D games run a lot faster and graphics look smoother.
  • It's much more of an iPhone like experience.
  • Flash has been enabled for all Web OS devices and it runs especially well on the Pre Plus.

Price

Rating

  • 5 Seals of Approval out of 5. (How do we rate gadgets?)
  • It's one of the cheapest smart phones on the market and one of the best.

Want something reviewed on Gadget Pr0n? Email us your suggestions to gadgetpron@g4tv.com.

...

Comments are Closed

  • Rupesh

    I have got the new "Palm Pre plus" the hotspot is great. It comes with pre-installed application on both the Pre Plus and Pixi Plus. The keypad is great it has made gaming and text work easy. The screen shows the clear picture.So it becomes more interesting to play game. To know more visit :http://www.gsmcellulars.com/p alm-pre-plus-review.html. It's good for 3o bucks

    Posted: June 17, 2010 11:56 PM
  • xboxslives

    Pre Plus has a great deal now on Verizon New Contract or upgrade it's $49.99 Buy Get One Free & they dropped the $30 hotspot fee to $0 now that is a deal for the best OS now the pre design that is another topic but the OS is the best

    Posted: April 6, 2010 5:49 PM
    xboxslives
  • rlopin

    Mobile HotSpot is now FREEEEEE!!!!!!

    It's such a good deal people actually thought it was an April Fool's joke when Verizon announced it on April 1st.

    Posted: April 2, 2010 5:29 PM
    rlopin
  • GamerNx

    awesome musical improv

    Posted: March 26, 2010 12:11 PM
    GamerNx
  • Ps3nation

    30$!! In Canada it would be $500 up here we get ripped off big time with phones our data plans are the worst in the world our communications industry is still in 1999 we have a long way to go if we are going to catch up to the rest of the world in communications.

    Posted: March 26, 2010 4:43 AM
    Ps3nation
  • SSGSTrunks

    Does the hot spot app cost $40, or is it $40 a month?

    Posted: March 25, 2010 8:47 AM
    SSGSTrunks
  • Esspytood

    i'm a little curious...

    Posted: March 23, 2010 2:51 PM
    Esspytood
  • ajac09

    and another thing they didnt mention the sprint pre has a better battery life ...... we ran one side by side with everything running the sprint one lasted an hour longer then the verzion one guess that what happens when you add in more hardware and use the same battery.

    Posted: March 22, 2010 10:19 AM
    ajac09
  • infinitytomorrow

    "runs twice as many apps as the Pre"

    yeah but they have the least number of apps out of Apple and Android. so double 2 apps is still like 4 apps

    Posted: March 21, 2010 10:15 PM
    infinitytomorrow
  • StripperBelow

    Pre plus not a bad phone.. but on my first day its battery is crap. 5 hours run time and thats it! AND it takes 4 hours to charge!!! WFT. Verizon said give it a day let if die and recharge it 2-3 times. ummm no help. main reason...you cannot turn off 3G its on 24/7. Ill be taking it back Sunday and going back to my LG flip phone it next month when the new HTCs come out.

    Posted: March 21, 2010 4:28 AM
    StripperBelow
  • Flipz15

    @Symicide

    I'm confused... it's just a plain black bar of soap, I really think fugly was an entirely wrong word to use here. If by fugly, you mean "boring", then that's a little more understandable.

    Posted: March 19, 2010 3:07 PM
    Flipz15
  • ajac09

    and yet still selling better on sprint then verzion lol

    Posted: March 19, 2010 8:26 AM
    ajac09
  • triccio

    I've read that this phone would be a "downgrade" for experienced "iphone, blackberry, or general smartphone users."

    Posted: March 19, 2010 3:07 AM
    triccio
  • cool8man

    Definitely still the best multitasking phone on the market. The webOS card system is awesome. Palm did a great job, this phone deserves to be the first 5/5 ever.

    Posted: March 19, 2010 12:21 AM
    cool8man
  • alexdotlee

    if you go on amazon, you can still get it for $30.00 if you have a family plan or something, there is an option for it.

    Posted: March 18, 2010 2:45 PM
    alexdotlee
  • Symicide

    eh, I'm not really into functionality except when it comes to camera phones. LOVE MY Sony Ericsson C905a!!! Anyways my opinion its a pretty fugly phone.

    Posted: March 18, 2010 2:21 PM
    Symicide
  • RandyMercer

    First Ever 5/5 it must be amazing. I want one.

    Posted: March 18, 2010 12:14 PM
    RandyMercer
  • manta173

    So aside from price, how does it stack up to other verizon smart phones *cough* droid *cough*... and why isn't that a part of your review? Seriously with all the smart phones out there how could you not compare it to the others on its network, or even just the leading phone on that network.

    Posted: March 18, 2010 7:07 AM
    manta173
  • KnuxSonic

    Actually, flash is NOT enabled on the Pre yet... they must have just taken that off the PR spec list.

    Posted: March 17, 2010 5:20 PM
    KnuxSonic
  • Boogie1188

    You can't get it at Verizon for that price.

    Posted: March 17, 2010 4:04 PM
    Boogie1188
AdChoices