X

Final Fantasy XIII Review

Posted: March 11, 2010
Final Fantasy XIII Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/44696/final-fantasy-xiii-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/204543_LGST/final-fantasy-13.jpg
Video_44696
Adam Sessler reviews the highly anticipated game Final Fantasy XIII for the PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360. Will an improved battle system make this 60+ hour game a must play? Find out in this X-Play review of Final Fantasy XIII.

Comments are Closed

  • Kill Audio

    This seems like a "Love it or Hate it" type of game. If you played the previous Final Fantasy titles it seems you will be disappointed, and if you never played a Final Fantasy game in your life it seems people will love it as an entrance to the game series. Now I haven't played it yet but from what everyone has been saying I may not touch it. Seeing as how I played previous games like FF7, Tactics(Not really the series but still good), and other previous games in the series, I feel disappointed in not having any inns, shops, towns, or anything like that. This feels like a downgrade from the other previous titles. Why not have towns or people interacting with one another rather than cutscenes or enemies? Getting rid of something like that is like throwing away a HUGE amount of ideas, sidequests, and replay value of the game. Sort of makes the game feel like going down one path and never branching off or going away from it, even for a littl bit.

    Take FF7 for example, towns like Midgar and others in the game played a HUGE part of the story and to interact and hear about how the people feel built on the story. Also when you go to Kalm in Disc 3 you can try to beat Ruby and Emerald Weapon (American Version Only) for some goodies. Sure you may not need to do it, but you at least have the ability to do something rather than just going by the story; this helps the replay value a LOT! Gold Saucer also is another example to take a break from the norm and gain more helpful items when progressing. It's elements like these that have always made the games better and wanting players to come back for more.

    Look, i'm not saying FFXIII is bad seeing as how I haven't played it yet, but it seems like a huge disappointment on how they worked ONLY on story and gameplay mechanics; it's nice to know that they improved their original mechanics to make it more 'modern' but by removing main elements that were once revolutionary in the series seems like a shame and an unfinished project.

    Posted: April 3, 2010 9:39 AM
    Kill+Audio
  • Cm20013

    This game rocks!

    Posted: March 30, 2010 4:31 PM
    Cm20013
  • Levi1976

    "The game the genre needs." What sanctimonious tool wrote that? Even in the review he says it takes 25 hours to get going, repetitive enemies for 25 hours, no change of path for 25 hours, side quests feel like an afterthought, and a poor story to boot?!?!?!?! I claim malarkey on a 4 out of 5......malarkey!

    Posted: March 28, 2010 3:55 PM
    Levi1976
  • Levi1976

    Also, it's cool if some one isn't a fan of Final Fantasy, but since fans of FF have kept the series going now for what 20 years or so, maybe they should try to make them happy too.

    Posted: March 28, 2010 12:23 AM
    Levi1976
  • Levi1976

    After playing this game, I want some one to punch me in the stomach just so I can kill the mental numbness that has taken over my brain. 4 out of 5 seems WAY to high to me. A bunch of my friends were in denial too while playing this game. They kept telling me it would get better, it really would, but in the end they were all just liars. One guy actually said "It's a good game so long as you pretend it's not a Final Fantasy game"!?!?! I'm sorry but with games like Dragon Age, Fallout 3 and Mass Effect 2 out there, you shouldn't have to lie to yourself to be able to finish a game. To me it feels like it's half of a Final Fantasy game. It's like they took some of the coolest parts of the series and left them on the cutting room floor. There's a good 20 hours of garbage before this game gets okay. Even then it's not a good game, it's just not as dull as watching some one knit a scarf. Thing is though had I watched some one knit a scarf I wouldn't have BLOWN 60 bucks on a drink coaster. There are too many good games out there to waste time on this game. The story is goofy, the characters are terrible and the battle system is just you coaching the combatants. When I hear some one say anything good about this game I can see that look in their eyes that says "I didn't just get ripped off, really I didn't please God tell me I didn't just get ripped off!!!!!"

    Posted: March 28, 2010 12:20 AM
    Levi1976
  • vlweb3d

    MASS EFFECT!

    Posted: March 17, 2010 9:02 AM
  • animehermit

    the review also didn't mention the number of save points in the game, lierally every 5 minutes theres a save point, which is nice if your on the go. also i wouldn't say that the first 25 hours is bad, just more straight forward, but the combat is always fun, which is what i think is the prime selling point of XIII.

    Posted: March 15, 2010 3:23 PM
    animehermit
  • Teddybear996

    I agree a 4/5 was fair kind of disappointed that after 13 the game play didn't change much i do wish that you had more freedom during a battle other then that its a great game music nice, graphics amazing, story great, and game play good.

    Posted: March 13, 2010 2:44 PM
    Teddybear996
  • DrowNoble

    I think it was a mistake to go away from the tried and true formula of previous FF games. Should be turn-based combat with a central protagonist and main antagonist. Radically changing the combat and core story elements is going to alienate longtime FF games. Saying that the game "needs" to be different from previous titles shows that Adam wasn't really a fan of the previous games to begin with.

    Final Fantasy is NOT Mass Effect and is unfair to compare the two. FF7 and 10 were outstanding rpg's, they should go back to the concept of those two games rather that redoing virtually everything and ending up with less than expected.

    A solid 2/5.

    Posted: March 13, 2010 1:19 PM
    DrowNoble
  • SheoDagana

    As I said in the written review, I think 4/5 is a very fair summary of this game. It's not as impressive as past titles, but the combat system is still a ton of fun. There's something about the game that makes me keep wanting to play it, and I decided it has to be the combat... they've kind've evolved several things from the previous titles.

    Oh, the Crystarium system though... a Sphere grid by any other name, is still just a Sphere Grid.

    Posted: March 12, 2010 9:03 PM
    SheoDagana
  • ppastorr

    Wow they got rid of most of the exploration and side missions?? i put hundreds of hours in ten just for all of the side missions and secrets. I want to explore, maybe smaller areas, but i want more, small areas to search. mass effect 2 still was to small for me. i wanted larger space stations, they all felt like tiny ships. Exploration and discovery are huge in RPG's, at least for me. i want to go see something epic hidden away in the game, and feel like only a small number of the players who played the game saw it, even if 90% did. We as humans still have the urge to explore, even more so now with video games, where there are no consequences. they removed death as an road block in FFxIII, that makes me wanna explore even more now that there is no risk, but alas there is nothing to see.

    Posted: March 12, 2010 2:34 PM
    ppastorr
  • Thee Cakee

    This is like a 100% right on review.
    Sadly, im only in 11hours.

    Posted: March 12, 2010 10:18 AM
    Thee+Cakee
  • ARKARON

    Sweet i think its a 5/5+ 10/10 but with type of game with so many changes from the rest of ff its understandable not every one gonna think so. Good review and the 4\5 will do for me!

    Posted: March 11, 2010 10:51 PM
  • tony1449

    I saw the feedback thingy about this review so now i feel like a insiders :D

    Posted: March 11, 2010 5:25 PM
    tony1449
  • tony1449

    Ehhh ?

    Posted: March 11, 2010 5:23 PM
    tony1449
  • Lanmo

    Great job on the review.
    That was a lot to break down and explain in such a short time.

    Posted: March 11, 2010 5:22 PM
    Lanmo
AdChoices