X

Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Review

Posted: March 8, 2010
Battlefield: Bad Company 2 Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/44606/battlefield-bad-company-2-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/190745_LGST/battlefield-bad-company-2.jpg
Video_44606
We review the new first person shooter Battlefield: Bad Company 2. Will this game be able to overcome a weak single-player campaign with awesome mutliplayer? Find out in this X-Play review of Battlefield: Bad Company 2!

Comments are Closed

  • tuckr123

    MW2 IS THE WORST GAME EVER HORRIBLY BROKEN MULTIPLAYER THAT CANT BE FIXED

    BF: BC 2 ALL THE WAY

    Posted: July 24, 2010 7:50 AM
    tuckr123
  • BcLdoubletaperz

    Oh yah xbox version all the way

    Posted: July 1, 2010 11:39 AM
    BcLdoubletaperz
  • BcLdoubletaperz

    Screw you x-play BF BC 2 is the shiznit it's amazing and compared to mw2 it's kicks mw2's ass back to hell were it came from(infinity ward) and the only reason x-play gave mw2 a 5 out of 5 is because activition paid them.Nuff said I'm gonna go play bc bf 2 now.

    Posted: July 1, 2010 11:37 AM
    BcLdoubletaperz
  • Shadow_ben_jamin

    Great review and good score.

    Posted: March 26, 2010 4:50 PM
    Shadow_ben_jamin
  • slaveknight

    lol G4 is just a MW2 fan.. thats all lmao

    Posted: March 21, 2010 8:44 AM
    slaveknight
  • HansVonSatan

    Until they patch Modern warfare 2 ? Worst way to end your review . Idiot Wort could learn a thing or two from Dice , and yeah , I'm a PC gamer .


    Long Live BC2 \m/ !!

    Posted: March 14, 2010 2:01 PM
    HansVonSatan
  • VectorRoll

    I personally prefer the PC version of the game over the Console versions. this review is for the PS3. But Empyu is right. You can spot people. It is geared toward squad play but the squads can help each other if they are full of decent players that pay attention. :)
    Also, I do not play the 360 much, but that console has a better VOIP system with party chat from what I have heard that allows for friends to communicate better across your team. But like I said I do not play the 360 much so I am not sure if that is the case with this game. With the PC version we can text chat to our squad, team, or everyone in the game.
    The games single player is a bit short, but it does leave you hanging at the end. The review is right a bit on the single player part. It does need some more work. But it was still fun and worht playing.
    You know, when it comes to the single player games, for COD it is the only thing that makes me buy the game in that series. That is the only thing, in my opinion, that COD has going for them. They definitely do not have a good multi-player down. Especially in this newest one. Something that the BF series has always excelled in.
    The BC2 game is off the hook in its multi-player. A bit more fast paced that it was in the beta but extremely fun. Unlike MW2 or any other COD where your get bored real quite do to the Wash-And-Repeat feeling that they give with their Prey-And-Spray tactics. In the PC version the improved FOV does make it seem less like a Console version but that feeling is still there a little. Which is not that bad.
    You do need a lot more On-The-Fly Tactics with the Battlefield games. This Destruction does sort of force that on you a bit. Many avid COD fans do need to transition a bit with some practice. But if and when they do, I am sure they will like it. At least some of them.
    The two games are mainly different. The BC series does lean toward a Console style Shooter but they still are different and hold a little of the PC sandbox feelings that we had from the other BF games. I just hope that they do not stray to far from that when it comes to BF3.
    Personally I prefer BF2142 over all the other BF game or other shooter series out there. It still plays the best in regards to how a shooter should play on the PC. BC2 is quite fun and I will be playing it a lot. But when I need my true PC fix I will be going back to BF2142 for that.
    When it comes to the console shooters. The BC series beats them all. In my opinion. BC2 is now the best out there for either the PS3 or 360. Mainly becasue it gives more of a snadbox feeling and meshes both infentry and vehicle play in a more balanced situation. The type of game-play that I prefere. It has that more open environment feeling as well. It is a game that the FPS crowed should pick up and give a shot. I give it a 5 out 5. But that is just me being a BF fan. :)
    I can not stand those shooters where luck is more of a factor over skill that are also place in such small enclosed areas, where the games are way to fast paced and repetitive.
    These are just my opinions though. Everyone has there own likes and dislikes that we should all respect.
    Well that is about it for now. Sorry for the long posting. But I sort of just started to go off in my own little world. :)

    Posted: March 13, 2010 10:04 AM
    VectorRoll
  • SliQuid

    couldnt get into the game..def does not deserve a 4..played much better..campaign is no good and multiplayer is decent..

    Posted: March 12, 2010 6:31 PM
    SliQuid
  • Spybreak

    Disappointed to say the least. I enjoyed the first one so much because of the funny and not so serious single player. Oh well, I'll probably grab it when it goes way down in price since twick fps multiplayer is not an option for me where I live.

    Posted: March 12, 2010 2:51 PM
    Spybreak
  • Komodo

    The SP review sounds like a let down :(
    Still gonna' have to check it out myself... I love a killer SP campaign. Loved the first one anyway.

    Posted: March 11, 2010 2:08 PM
    Komodo
  • CaptainAsian

    lol WUT?? if theres a thing or 2 DICE learned from INFINITY WARD??...i just lost all respect for this show now

    Posted: March 10, 2010 6:32 PM
    CaptainAsian
  • Empyu

    Something was mentioned here that was also said in the written review. The comment about not being able to communicate with everyone on your team.

    I know the game doesn't really tell you this, but you can. By hitting the Back button (on the 360) or Select (for the PS3), you can tell everyone anything that might be important. See a sniper in the distance? Press the button and that sniper will have a red dot on his head for everyone to see. Plus, if anyone manages to kill the guy you spotted, you get xp for it.

    Sometimes I'll spawn as a recon and do what recon people are supposed to do. I find a nice hidden place that's high up, and just spot enemies for my team to take out. Just doing that is more useful than calling in a UAV in Modern Warfare 2.

    Even though you can't talk to everyone, the game still encourages team play more than anything. You get 50xp for killing an enemy soldier, but you get 80xp for reviving a squad mate. At one point I earned 300xp just by dropping a med kit in a room full of wounded soldiers. Yes, killing is important, but it isn't the only means of winning.

    Posted: March 8, 2010 9:22 PM
    Empyu
  • Double Sneaks Mcgee

    Until they patch Modern warfare 2? I dont think theres a patch that can fix something so broken. MW 2 is like a disease that I couldnt get rid of because at the time there was nothing strong enogh to cure it. Now that BC 2 is out I can say with confidence that the verman infested trash that they call MW 2 is out of my system for good. I might get an itch every now and then but after playing 1 round, I will realise why im playing BC 2 instead.

    Posted: March 8, 2010 6:31 PM
    Double+Sneaks+Mcgee
AdChoices