X

Shuttle SX58H7 Barebones PC Review

Posted: February 11, 2010
Shuttle SX58H7 Barebones PC Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/44191/shuttle-sx58h7-barebones-pc-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/189692_LGST/as20100211_gadgetpron.jpg
Video_44191

Building a powerful PC for your gaming needs is nothing new, but what happens when size matters? Kevin Pereira and Olivia Munn take a look at the Shuttle SX58H7 system that measures only 8" wide with an Intel Core i7 processor, DDR3 memory and more for $600.

What You Need to Know

  • The PC is only 7.5” high and 8” wide
  • It’s a little over 1’ deep
  • It will fit on any desk or is easily carried around to LAN Parties
  • They are sold as bare-bone kits, which means they come with the case, motherboard, power supply, cooling system, and pre-routed cables, but that's it
  • You have to add everything else yourself (processor, RAM, etc)
  • Once you pop the top, the optical drive and hard drive are in a removable slot
  • Pull that away and now you're into the guts of the computer (RAM and processor)
  • The motherboard supports SLI and has two video card slots, but they will need to be single-slot cards
  • The bare-bones kit comes pre-assembled and cable-managed, so it's ready to just drop in your parts
  • We ran the usual 3DMark Vantage tests and got a respectable score out of it, definitely more than we thought
  • It'll run BioShock 2 with absolutely no problem, and even with all settings on high, it looks incredibly smooth
  • This rig should be able to play most any game you can throw at it


Price

  • $600 for the bare-bones kit
  • It’s definitely worth the price
  • Building your own PC in a normal case with the same parts is practically the same price


Overall Rating

Want something reviewed on Gadget Pr0n? Email us your suggestions to gadgetpron@g4tv.com.


 

...

Comments are Closed

  • rikixass

    cwhas2godhands... Sure they are, along with their non-upgradable-obsolete- video cards, processor, ram... Should I continue? I've used a shuttle for the past 3 years. First came across them at work-great solution for a crowded desk. I mean, USB disco ball, pet plant, monitor, keyboard, etc... they all take up too much space.

    Posted: February 19, 2010 10:06 AM
    rikixass
  • PCTech714

    @Johnjohn25: There is no video card included, but it has two PCI-E slots, so you could SLI it. You can get a good i7 processor for about $280 online (2.66GHz, but you could o/c it to 3.6+). The p/s is 500w, which is a little light, but should be adequate for a single GPU.

    For the $600 you're getting a case, cooling solution and motherboard. I like the design of the case, so I'll probably build my next box around it.

    Posted: February 15, 2010 5:54 PM
    PCTech714
  • Johnjohn25

    Um, how come they never mentioned the video card used and correct me if I'm wrong, but while the mobo in the case is compatible with an i7 processor , doesn't the i7 processor itself still cost more then that set up? And how much power is the power supply pushing on it. I'd hate to pick up the package and find out that my video card won't do me any good since there's not enough juice to power it. Poor review guys. I really expected more detail then that. Sure the dimensions are great on a shuttle case but its all about gaming on the PC , I'd be more interesed in what kind of gaming PC can be built from scratch in a shuttle pc more then just shelling out 600 for its size reduction.

    Posted: February 15, 2010 8:27 AM
    Johnjohn25
  • cwhas2godhands

    troopershades,
    agreed, i've played a bit of stalker-clear skies and left4dead on my outdated pc this weekend. i was just trying to point out the high cost of pc's, and their components. PC gaming bleeding out... lower the frakkng cost, or die. no way am i spending the money to upgrade my pc, when i have a 360 and ps3.

    dwnecrid, coolio.

    Posted: February 14, 2010 1:57 PM
    cwhas2godhands
  • SteveKB

    yeah My case was 100 dollars and It's a mid tower yet it's pretty huge, does good cooling though not sure if it's as much as this thing does but I have the biggest computer in town!

    Posted: February 13, 2010 6:06 AM
    SteveKB
  • Kkrazy 615

    What video card was that exactly. i didnt see any label from a company. and i know its nvidia.

    oh btw, the whole 360/ps3 thing...well those are both computers also. just saying....

    Posted: February 13, 2010 3:40 AM
    Kkrazy+615
  • CannibalChef

    I think Kevin has a small penis and olivia knows it...

    Posted: February 12, 2010 7:29 PM
    CannibalChef
  • Lucifer6972

    What happens when size matters? I'll tell you what happens...gossip swrirls around, miyths are often displayed, your boys are more likely yo say, "Dude stop lying, that's not what she said", etc. That's what happens when size matters but since the girls are awfully quiet, legitimizing myths can go real far, such as, "Dude, stop taking Viagra!"


    And for $600?? What the heck?! Good lord...

    Posted: February 12, 2010 6:20 PM
    Lucifer6972
  • SteveKB

    that looks like a nice case to be honest.

    Posted: February 12, 2010 5:22 PM
    SteveKB
  • DwNecrid

    @cwhas
    thats a good price for a pc...
    my pc is alot worse and i got it for 600 couple years ago...
    id take that pc over 360 anyday

    Posted: February 12, 2010 4:55 PM
    DwNecrid
  • cwhas2godhands

    360 elite + ps3 slim = $600
    I'm just saying.

    Posted: February 12, 2010 4:29 PM
    cwhas2godhands
  • Zaxous

    Yeah... it only includes the case, power supply and the motherboard. That's great and all, but the moment I get to finding other components to add in, I have to have the top of the line, which gets expensive. The total cost that I'm looking at is $3844.94 on Newegg. I have a feeling that with the components I selected, however, I'll need a more powerful power supply.

    Posted: February 12, 2010 4:08 PM
    Zaxous
  • BlackLable69

    I don't need a gaming PC....the Rainbow is a symbol of God putting down his Bow of power.

    Posted: February 11, 2010 8:57 PM
    BlackLable69
  • JessicaStar

    Wow! AOTS reviewing computer components? I think it's been a couple years since last I saw that. =D

    Having built my last two comps from Shuttle cases I have to say that they ARE about the size of a Chubby Pug! Very discerning there. Also, while I've resisted crushing on Kevin for years even though he is ridiculously hot, if he likes pugs I'm done. Total stalker mode and fangirl posters on the wall. Well, larger posters...

    Posted: February 11, 2010 7:32 PM
    JessicaStar
  • nexium

    you had to do it did you tom? - NOT lol

    Posted: February 11, 2010 6:25 PM
    nexium
  • nexium

    not so much brenden - no pal o mine

    Posted: February 11, 2010 6:24 PM
    nexium
  • nexium

    silence is golden - fools gold

    Posted: February 11, 2010 6:22 PM
    nexium
AdChoices