X

Dante's Inferno Review

Posted: February 8, 2010
Dante's Inferno Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/44052/dantes-inferno-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/189297_LGST/xp_dantes_rev.jpg
Video_44052
Come along with us for a jaunt through hell as Adam Sessler reviews Visceral Games's new title Dante's Inferno. Will this be just another God of War clone or something more? Find out in this X-Play review of Dante's Inferno.

Comments are Closed

  • cbarry05

    Dante I mean up there

    Posted: May 13, 2010 10:51 AM
    cbarry05
  • cbarry05

    I played it on PSP and it was a good game. Not as good as GOW but if Kratos had a brother it would be Kratos.

    Posted: May 13, 2010 10:50 AM
    cbarry05
  • VizardKon85

    Holy God of War III comes out next month ! I thought March was 1 month before June!

    Posted: February 16, 2010 3:33 PM
    VizardKon85
  • VizardKon85

    They make it sound like it being like God of War is a bad thing! So waht now there is something I can play that is similar to but not God of War II before it comes out next month

    Posted: February 16, 2010 3:31 PM
    VizardKon85
  • Lord_Cool

    I think the review was fair in that if it hadn't had the amazing backdrop for the setting then the game probably would have gotten a 2/5 I can understand why people are a bit confused with the review. It's a good GOW clone with an interesting setting. Without that it would be nothing!

    Posted: February 13, 2010 12:57 AM
    Lord_Cool
  • Oinkness

    Crap review is crap

    Easily 5/5 in my book, though I judge games on how fun they are. When you start reviewing stuff based on whether it's influenced by something else as a negative point, your job becomes far too easy and pointless.

    Posted: February 13, 2010 12:41 AM
  • Xodi

    So many references to GoW, makes me want to vomit. We can all admit that the game play is very similar to the style of GoW, and you mentioned it quite frequently, but this isnt GoW this is Dante's Inferno. Hack n Slash or not this game was great, story was sound and the fighting and the skills were superb. Its sickening that all anyone can talk about is how much its like GoW. Enough already, its something we already know, the game was easily a 3.5 to a 4. Many were drawn to this game because of the Comedy. So to some game play matters very little. Still even for those who couldn't care less for a story and want to rip the crap out of demons well this game has it.

    For those that are TL:DR stop crying about how much of this is a GoW Ripoff. You fanboys will get your precious pile of crap soon. :)

    Posted: February 12, 2010 10:12 AM
    Xodi
  • Ralsticon

    funny how everyone is so quick to cry unoriginality at Dante's Inferno, but when God of War stole most of it's gameplay and design from Devil May Cry it was "groundbreaking and innovative". (and no I'm not bashing GoW)

    Posted: February 11, 2010 11:41 PM
    Ralsticon
  • SirWaysted

    I was amazed on how much DI was compared to GOW when I played thge game. Thats not really such a bad thing though since GOW is a classic game. DI has nice graphics with decent gamplay and a nice morbid storyline. I myself am looking forward to completeing this game. Onne last thing... what game now adays is compared to something else? Overall everything has already been done.

    Posted: February 10, 2010 3:45 PM
    SirWaysted
  • Nightshade386

    The biggest problem with reviewing a game like this is judging it on it's own merits vs that which it borrowed from somewhere else. A lot of sites are dinging it for being a God of War clone. That being said, every FPS borrows from the successful formula of the first Doom, and yet no one dings Call of Duty or Halo for that fact. So I'm not sure if it's really fair to ding a game that borrows successful elements from another game and puts their own twist on it. However, I'd like to see the game do something new on top of that, and I'm not really seeing that aside from the separate leveling paths based on the game's morality system.

    Posted: February 10, 2010 10:34 AM
    Nightshade386
  • DamReal

    Well Adam I'm disappointed in your review! Your comparing a Next Gen Game like this to a last Gen console game in God of War? Sure the fighting style and what not is the same but graphically wise Dante's beats it hands down!@ And you throw in the camera bs come on GOW pt1 and pt 2 was fully of bugs and camera glitches! And FYI not everybody played GOW or owned a Ps2! I for one only played GOW1 and not 2! Me thinks your saving your stroke and influence to the gaming masses for GOW 3 and i think that right there is bias BS!

    You gave GOW 1 and 2 5/5 ! Yet 2 was the same as 1~ Yet you Soap Box Dante's cloning was wrong? Lets see you give GOW 3 a 5 / 5 hmmm so you can prove my point!

    Avatar is a clone of Fern Gully but that's doesn't make Avatar any less good !

    GOW is just a rip off of CastleVania and Rygar ! Wonder what you though of Battle of Olympus in comparison to Link :The Legend of Zelda - yet i found Battle of Olympus better for Nintendo call me
    crazy !

    I respect you thought but 3 /5 was weak sauce on your part IMO !

    Posted: February 9, 2010 4:00 PM
    DamReal
  • CheddarBBQ

    Yes, it is remarkably like God of War, but God of War was one of my favorite games ever. The problem is, Dante in this doesn't stand out among common characters as much as Kratos did. Still, I like it. The only problem I have with the score was that X-Men Origins: Wolverine, which also ripped off God of War's style in a way, was nowhere near as good as this, but it got a 4. It would probably be better to use a 10-point score system in cases like this, in which GoW gets a 10, DI gets a 7 or 8, and Wolverine gets a 5 or 6.

    Posted: February 9, 2010 1:48 PM
    CheddarBBQ
  • jazBuddha

    I never got to play god of war because i only have a 360 and my ps2 crapped out before the first one came out, so this sounds like something i might want to check out. (I read the whole written review)

    Posted: February 8, 2010 8:53 PM
    jazBuddha
  • Trityler

    lol "the real Dante is spinning in his grave so fast, it's making a little whirring sound." No one should be mad at 3/5 review. I can think of several games XPlay has given a 3/5 that I have spent many hours enjoying. Everyone needs to chill.

    Posted: February 8, 2010 8:00 PM
    Trityler
  • moviecritic77

    I hate Dante's Inferno. Both the book and video game. This is a game from Hell and it should be banned from the USA, Europe, and every other country that worships God. I'm telling people will start worshipping Satan because of this game and churchs everywhere will protest till this game is banned. We don't want to play some mysterious sinner we want to play as a symbol of good like Michael and the other archangels. This game should be condemned to hell.

    Posted: February 8, 2010 6:58 PM
    moviecritic77
  • EpicAmbu

    LoL that was a super short review Adam,

    but back to the game, I would give it a lower grade, but that is just prvly cuz i luv the poem so much other than that the game play is solid, still the story bugs me .

    I still don't know how a wimpy guy and a poet walking through an energy-less hell, transforms to crazy blood fest.

    but i guess that is y ur the critic, i think i might be a little to bias when it comes to stuff that i like this much

    Posted: February 8, 2010 5:39 PM
    EpicAmbu
AdChoices