X

Mass Effect 2 Review

Posted: January 29, 2010
Mass Effect 2 Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/43899/mass-effect-2-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/187996_LGST/mass-effect-2.jpg
Video_43899
Adam Sessler reviews one of the most highly anticipated games of 2010: Mass Effect 2 from BioWare. Will this game live up to the hype? Find out in this X-Play review of Mass Effect 2 for the Xbox 360 and PC.

Comments are Closed

  • Alien_Number_Six

    This game deserves 6 out of 5 it is totally bad ass.

    Posted: November 8, 2011 5:32 AM
    Alien_Number_Six
  • Y2Trey

    This review convinced me to try Mass Effect 2. Glad I did, because the game is awesome. It's good to have a action game with a customizable main character that you can make your own. I didn't play the the first Mass Effect because the combat turned me off, but the changes in Mass Effect 2 give it great gameplay along with its great story-telling. I rented it from Blockbuster, but now I plan on buying the game. The many different ways you can play Shepard give it enough replay value for me.

    Posted: June 18, 2010 5:55 PM
    Y2Trey
  • manylaughs

    Great review here. Calls the game a masterpiece and the next Hollywood sci-fi franchise.
    http://www.examiner.com/x-31 370-DC-PC-Game-Examiner~y2010m 1d29-Hollywoods-next-scifi-fra nchise

    Posted: February 11, 2010 1:03 PM
    manylaughs
  • Phategod

    Not female Dog, but (short word for cat) And I love Jack .

    Posted: January 31, 2010 10:47 AM
  • D13247

    Towards the end of this review one of the characters says "you sound like a female dog" I for one am outrage and going to boycott this game for its hate speech (heavy sarcasm).

    WHERE THE TROLLS AT like call of duty 2.

    Posted: January 31, 2010 9:28 AM
    D13247
  • friedchiken14

    gl3bm-

    it is possible to get everyone loyal you just need to have a very high paragon or renegade

    Posted: January 31, 2010 8:33 AM
    friedchiken14
  • kieran601

    @ gl3bm
    You can have everyone loyal to you. I did on my play through. When crew members are arguing you just need to be able to calm them down without taking anyones side.

    @ Zeromus
    First, the Cerberus Network Card is free for ALL players regardless of which versions they bought. Every new copy of the game came with the code. The preorders from Gamestop were for the armor and gun. Zaeed and the Normandy crash site were completely free for those that bought new versions of the game.
    Second, Zaeed isn't monotone at all. He is a calm, veteran warrior who just doesnt get too excited over fighting and impossible odds because hes been through it all already. His accent is great, sounding just like Boba Fett and Jango Fett in Star Wars which he was inspired by. And while at first I thought he may have been rushed due to the ease in which he joins your team, after doing his loyalty quest I can assure you that that is not the case.
    Third, 12gb is not double the size of 9gb. Double 9 would be 18.

    Posted: January 30, 2010 10:45 PM
    kieran601
  • Zeromus

    I'm okay with everyone else's minor complaints but in the game, if you're not into playing the story all over again, this isn't for you. You will be extremely disappointed if you beat the game and decide to continue, you will NOT getting a parade of any sort. Truly, this would be the ideal game if it was coupled with Mass Effect 3, if such a bundle every came into existence. Honestly, I'm have that problem, I put 25 hours into the game (PC) and already I've done all missions, nothing is too hard. I really wish the whopping doubling installation size of 12 GB, over ME1's 9GB was more put in than what it seems. At the beginning, it seems like bioware decided to take the Gears of Wars demo example source projects from the Unreal Dev Kit and threw it in there as an effortless perk, but it's okay, nothing horrible about it. As for the DLC, Zaeed seems a bit rushed in the development process and the voice acting is a bit difficult to understand for him, there isn't that much fluctuation in Zaeed's voice, overall making him very monotone at times. This game is really worth it on the PC, if of course you abide the most ubiquitous rudimentary principle of PC-gaming: Make sure you have the system that can handle it. Other DLCs seem pointless to buy on the Xbox, seeing how they're so minuscule in that it wouldn't bring gameplay or story to life relatively already. These small DLCs like weapons, and armor along with Zaeed all together can be downloaded for free if you have cerberus code, either through purchasing of the limited edtion or pre-order version or purchasing the code itself after registering with EA. Still, with all DLCs the only thing that's worth it is the new heavy weapon that shoots blackholes, cliche but feels new in the game. I don't know the loading times on xbox, but on PC I surprisingly had very low playtime after trying to get everything in the game, so to me as a recommendation to someone just finishing the first one: Make sure the 60 bucks you put into buying this game is just as expendable as this game's replay value.

    Posted: January 30, 2010 8:26 PM
    Zeromus
  • username122

    i say that the game sounds cool but i didn't play the first one so should i buy it?????

    Posted: January 30, 2010 7:45 PM
    username122
  • gl3bm

    one thing that pisses me off is the load screens and the loyalty there is no way you can have everyone loyal that makes me so freaking mad

    Posted: January 30, 2010 3:09 PM
    gl3bm
  • Croswynd

    I only have one major complaint over this game; the missions are too straightfoward. Even the worlds...there's not much to explore, like on the Citadel or Feros in ME1. Everything it just Point A - B (And sometimes, like on Illium) C, and D.

    I miss the side quest and exploration part of the game. I also miss the MAKO a little bit. I would have liked to at least have a -little- MAKO or whatever other vehicle driving sometime in the game (I haven't encountered any if there is).

    But, regardless, this game is awesome and I can not put it down. Looking foward to seeing how it ends. Also; the Salarian Scientist is awesome. He sings.

    Posted: January 30, 2010 12:35 PM
    Croswynd
  • thesilentmole

    I'm really not enjoying ME2 as much as I wanted considering how much I loved (Despite it's numerous issues) the first. It feels like when they went in to start fixing the problems, they started fixing things that weren't even problems and adding new "streamlined" (but terrible) mechanics like ammo and regenerating health. And the planet scanning is the most tedious bullcrap ever. I'd rather pick an entire town full of fruit in Animal Crossing, at least afterwards I'd be effin' rich.

    Posted: January 30, 2010 11:16 AM
    thesilentmole
  • dj8002

    I just played and beat ME1 last weekend and fell instantly in love. Got ME2 at midnight Tuesday and beat it yesterday. My favorite game, ever.

    Posted: January 30, 2010 10:07 AM
    dj8002
  • scantron1

    I RROD'ed today right before getting Thane, at lease Microsoft manned up and are going to fix it for free.

    Posted: January 30, 2010 9:05 AM
    scantron1
  • moose_

    The original Mass Effect was my favorite game on Xbox 360. Now the title belongs to Mass Effect 2. The game is outstanding.

    @hoof_hearted4

    The PC version = Incredibadass

    Posted: January 30, 2010 7:58 AM
    moose_
  • hoof_hearted4

    anyone know how the PC version of this game is?

    Posted: January 30, 2010 12:25 AM
    hoof_hearted4
  • cowardsmoo

    Hey did anyone get pre order amour because I keep checking my private terminal and there is no mail for the Armour. However I haven't done any main story missions is this the reason why?

    Posted: January 30, 2010 12:19 AM
    cowardsmoo
  • CALiiGeDDon

    i still havn't played this game yet....just got the first one 3 weeks ago and wasn't expecting to like it at all.....man was i wrong. I want to finish this game up completely before i move on to 2

    Posted: January 29, 2010 11:50 PM
    CALiiGeDDon
  • cwhas2godhands

    I miss my mako :(

    Posted: January 29, 2010 10:27 PM
    cwhas2godhands
  • crashrouge

    Instead of wasting time talking about this how about we do something humanitarium with our time like holding a charity convention to raise enough money to buy the host of X-play a neck. Whats-his-name? Adam Hessler, I believe it is. The guy has no neck.

    Posted: January 29, 2010 8:06 PM
    crashrouge
AdChoices