X

Talkabouts: Mass Effect 2 Review

Posted: January 25, 2010
Talkabouts: Mass Effect 2 Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/43898/talkabouts-mass-effect-2-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/188059_LGST/adam-likes-mass-effect-2.jpg
Video_43898
Adam Sessler and Patrick Klepek dissect Mass Effect 2 and dig a little deeper into Adam's review of the game.

Comments are Closed

  • Tmidiman

    @ Lucifer6972

    I've only played madden on the 360 these last few years, but honestly I was never impressed with it even in the SNES days. The animation has always lacked along with the play control. I'll give it a try on the Wii.

    Generally the reviews on X-Play make sense even if you don't agree. BUT, there are rare times when I wonder if they are playing the same game. Or like I posted, why some devs can get away with bad game play while others are treated harshly.

    Integrity is the word I'm looking for and on that I am moving X-play from an A to a C+.

    Posted: January 29, 2010 9:48 AM
    Tmidiman
  • Lucifer6972

    @Tmidiman

    I heard and read some nice reviews on Darksiders, yet X-Play does get a bad rap for being inconsistent at times. So they gotta be careful on that cause people will overgeneralize things when it don't make no sense.

    You don't like Madden on the Wii? I like it! Well, to be fair, I did gave it a chance and it was one of the old-school ones, a couple years back. Let's just say when you make Rex Grossman look good, you'll be pleasantly happy with the results no matter what...sadly.

    Posted: January 29, 2010 8:16 AM
    Lucifer6972
  • Tmidiman

    Honestly I'd rather talk about the Darksiders review.

    2 out of 5!? Really! There were a ton of things that were better than Zelda:TP. More action, the character spoke, etc. The puzzles were great as well. So does Z:TP get a lower rating now? I just didn't getthat X-Play review. I mean ok I though a 4 or maybe a high 3 out of 5.

    This leads to something else. Can Nintendo just phone in a game and get a great review? I mean Look at Madden. I know, I know, but seriously. The game has not improved very much, but every year they get at least a 4. Now I didn't expect the game to drastically change to some extent because football is what it is. BUT, the animation and play control has always been poor in that game, yet every year it's treated like is "very good" when it's was only ok. And BTW the play control for New Super Mario Wii was sluggish and Nintendo got a pass on that.

    I guess overall I wonder if X-Play (and yes even my fellow gamers) allows some devs to just phone games in and not really try to do something better.

    It's just interesting. Madden does the same thing every year, with sluggish play control, and is considered great. Now Dynasty Warriors does the same thing every iteration, with great game conrol, and it's considered bad.

    Now you see what I'm saying. I'm getting mixed messages. Why do some games get a pass and others don't?

    And no I don't buy DW every year.

    Posted: January 28, 2010 5:00 PM
    Tmidiman
  • learnedfist

    I'm about 6 hours into this, so I've barely scratched the surface, but I am loving every minute. One thing's already clear to me. Bioware put a lot of effort into refining every aspect of the game from the shooter mechanics, to the story, to the incredible visuals, which at times rival what you'd expect to see in a big budget Hollywood movie. Gaming is an expensive hobby (or in my case, addiction), but games like this make me feel good about plunking my money down.

    Posted: January 28, 2010 3:21 PM
    learnedfist
  • camman111

    I find something weird. Adam said he was able to choose a fair amount of things but in my game I also didnt import and I didnt get to chose anything about my ME2 world. A fair amount of things were set in stone

    Posted: January 28, 2010 2:46 PM
    camman111
  • Playstation3Player

    Adam Sessler, I have a question that I want you to answer: Which game do you think is better, Uncharted 2 or Mass Effect 2? You should do a segment on your show because this would a pretty good debate. Although Uncharted 2 clearly wins

    Posted: January 28, 2010 2:39 PM
    Playstation3Player
  • Playstation3Player

    I have played the first one and it is not that great. IGN gave this a 9.6 overall and Uncharted 2 a 9.5. WTF. Tell me how this game is better than Uncharted 2. It isn't, and I can play it on my pc so it isn't like it is a xbox exclusive fanboys.

    Posted: January 28, 2010 2:37 PM
    Playstation3Player
  • Sonoran hotdog

    Are the enviroments more interesting in this one? or are they like the last one where you have a blocky gray surface and a red sky?

    Posted: January 28, 2010 1:19 PM
    Sonoran+hotdog
  • Sonoran hotdog

    I get the feeling that adam likes this game

    Posted: January 28, 2010 1:07 PM
    Sonoran+hotdog
  • PopReference

    LOVE Mass Effect 2.

    I really like the nostalgia situations of when you met some side character from ME1, one that may or may not have lived through your encounter based on your choices. Like: "Wow, I now that guy." Then you go up to them and say something like: "I thought I told you to stay out of trouble." XD

    Also, I might be wierd but I don't mind the mineing minerals sub-mini-game part. I also like exploreing the planets and reading the breif bio/geography and history that goes wiht each planet.

    ME2 is like a gift to the world of the SF geeks that can't get enough of tech talk and theocratical astronomy.

    Posted: January 28, 2010 1:07 PM
    PopReference
  • Greibach

    As someone who did import their save (In fact I actually ran through ME1 again a week before to ensure things were how I wanted), I have seen several instances where there are specific references to how I chose to do things. Although some or all of these things might be there for non-imported characters, having my specific actions referenced always very fun, and definitely creates deeper immersion for me. For example, when I went to Illium, I was presented with a dialog set about the Rachni Queen, and her gratitude that I spared her (race), and that in the final confrontation they would bring ruin upon our enemies. I don't know if you get that without an import, but either way, knowing that my choice may bring about something that AWESOME was veeery satisfying. I think that they did a great job of making all the minor details feel very good for people with imports, while not making them so huge that they impede first-timers or people who lost their saves. Also, you can totally be a space lesbian =P

    Posted: January 28, 2010 12:24 PM
    Greibach
  • solidnovember88

    this game makes me wish i had an xbox. I played the first one and liked it til a driving mission...then i was like what just happened. This is not very fun. hehe

    Posted: January 28, 2010 12:01 PM
    solidnovember88
  • Aristofiles

    Damn you Yanks. Someone over there "forgot" to send away the collectors editions of the game to sweden so all we who went ahed and pre-ordered it haveto wait untill next week to get ouer games. To bad since it sounds awsome =(

    Posted: January 28, 2010 11:50 AM
    Aristofiles
AdChoices