X

Talkabouts: Mass Effect 2 Review

Posted: January 25, 2010
Talkabouts: Mass Effect 2 Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/43898/talkabouts-mass-effect-2-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/188059_LGST/adam-likes-mass-effect-2.jpg
Video_43898
Adam Sessler and Patrick Klepek dissect Mass Effect 2 and dig a little deeper into Adam's review of the game.

Comments are Closed

  • MaxMarston

    just started playing the other day, because i just recently bought a new xbox after my old one died.
    I played the first one until about half way and just gave up because it bored me and it felt clunky, but i loved the characters and universe.
    Now i'm playing this and it is one of the most amazing things ever!!
    i can't stop playing, im about 20 hours in and im crazy in love with it!
    anyone who didn't like the first or is sceptical or whatever, if you don't like RPG's, hell even if you don't games with is Incredible, and i can see myself playing it through a few times and getting all the achievements :P
    thank you that is all :D xx

    Posted: July 4, 2010 5:43 PM
    MaxMarston
  • djd71194

    that is a ugly looking shepard in the background

    Posted: February 10, 2010 5:35 AM
    djd71194
  • HD_VAMPIRE

    Love the new segment. Asked and you guys delivered. Who came up with Talkabouts, i like it.

    Posted: February 1, 2010 10:45 PM
    HD_VAMPIRE
  • SliQuid

    i have to say this game is so awesome its ridiculous..played and finished me1 and about 10hrs only into 2nd. so far so good as i expected. probably one of the most in-depth games as far as story goes made. theres not really much to complain about with this game no matter what kind of gamer you are. one of mine would probably be the mining aspect but im still at the beginning so i dont know if it gets easier or not. with that said thats such a trivial complaint compared to the overall greatness of the game that as i continue to play ill accept it and deal...

    Posted: February 1, 2010 7:22 PM
    SliQuid
  • BeloZero25

    Hear me out.......I will have to admit that before ME1 I really wasn't big into Sci-Fi ...... Well anything really. Not comic books, movies, cartoons, action figures, games, etc. I was told by a close friend of mine, the brilliance of the first game a couple years ago. So I gave it a go and at first I was just impressed by the visuals thinking to myself " yeah it looks great but the story isn't really pulling me in " because at the time, I guess, it was beyond my comprehension level or interest. Then eventually got around to the gameplay and thought " at least it incorporates a cover system like gears of war. Why can he only run for a short time, and what's with all the menus, I just want to change guns?! " Eventually I put it down for a couple of weeks because I became frustrated with the unfamiliarity of it all.
    Yet it was that same frustration that pushed me to play it again in spite of the issues I had before. I was not going to let these issues get in the way of, what turned out to be, ONE OF THE BEST GAMES I HAVE EVER PLAYED IN MY LIFE (I'm 25) I got to know the menus, started to pay closer attention to the story, and eventually played it all the way through feeling completely satisfied. I just completed ME2 , and thought that it was a true masterpiece! Its not without flaws but what is in this world. Its visually stunning and the action has been refined to almost perfection. All while sustaining a captivating story. I love this game, and now after saying all this I have a new found interest in Sci-fi in general!
    Oh and for those who didn't give it a chance for whatever reason, you are truly missing out. I was once like you, narrow minded and judgmental, but I grew out of it. Now I am glad that I did.

    Posted: February 1, 2010 1:31 PM
    BeloZero25
  • Phuk5tar

    How many other game (series) has this amount of nostalgia in its first sequel; released just a couple years apart?

    I've felt nostalgic when I play old FF games. I also felt a little nostalgic with the Halo series (it's always nice to see Master Chief in a new game). I even feel it when I play/see my favorite SNES, or NES titles. However, there is nothing out there that causes me to be so immersed in the characters, story, universe, or possibilities than the Mass Effect series. Where other franchises takes several years over several titles to gain this kind of affinity, Mass Effect does it in two (and was released barely over two years apart).

    Posted: January 31, 2010 7:10 PM
    Phuk5tar
  • friedchiken14

    i own uncharted 2 and rented me2 and me2 is better but uncharted 2 still has the best graphics ever

    Posted: January 31, 2010 9:21 AM
    friedchiken14
  • Metalstorm98

    I <3 Tali... thats all i have to say

    Posted: January 30, 2010 7:40 PM
    Metalstorm98
  • pcalahan

    Seriously?

    What on Earth has disappointed you about this game? It's amazing. I'm 36 hours in and I haven't even finished recruiting the rest of the characters. Good Lord, man, get with the greatness!

    Also, it's far and away an improvement over the first Mass Effect, mechanically and artistically.

    5 of 5. Dig it.

    Posted: January 30, 2010 5:49 PM
    pcalahan
  • hoof_hearted4

    how is this game on the PC?

    Posted: January 30, 2010 3:14 PM
    hoof_hearted4
  • gl3bm

    i havent even mined yet i probably need to

    Posted: January 30, 2010 3:12 PM
    gl3bm
  • Slayer9393

    Adam hyped it up too much for me and I ended up being disappointed.

    Posted: January 30, 2010 1:53 PM
    Slayer9393
  • Zack_Nero

    January is not off to a good start, year 2010 is off to a great start.

    Posted: January 30, 2010 12:31 PM
    Zack_Nero
  • Mancer1516

    Well no more mako is a plus, mining is a chore, that follows MMORPG formula of busy work. Tech and biotic powers spice up the combat. The Illusive man > the council. Just all around a great game.

    Though there is just one thing I would like to add. Back on the SNES star trek the next generation had a top down 2d ship combat, while simple was a lot of fun. They should do something like that to break up the tedium of mining.

    Posted: January 30, 2010 11:53 AM
    Mancer1516
  • rayken15

    I think bringing in the last save added a lot, but it wouldn't ruin it by any means without the save. It's just that a suprising amount of little subplots (and your decisions you made in them) carry over. Which is really cool.

    Posted: January 30, 2010 10:19 AM
    rayken15
  • crr72n

    This game is awesome I'm loving every minute of it and I'm about 12 hours in!

    Posted: January 30, 2010 9:56 AM
    crr72n
  • A_Can

    For a second there I thought he was just going to interview himself. With like him normal on one side and the Adam with an awsome beard and wig on the other.

    Posted: January 30, 2010 6:45 AM
    A_Can
  • kayderek18

    I have to say I played Paragon and my love scene was not so much sexual as it was just emotional. Surprised the hell out of me but given who i was with i kinda liked it better as it was.

    Posted: January 29, 2010 10:51 PM
    kayderek18
  • jedimasterchief9

    This is more of a comment to Adam Sessler, in all of his discussion of Mass Effect, he mentions how Bioware and Besthesda are pushing the RPG genre forward. Yet Fable 2 won GOTY of 2008. I am not trying to cause a flame war. I just got Fable 2 (and am loving it). I've beaten Fallout 3. I have not played ME2 yet. So is there just something I'm missing? Adam, if I recall correctly, reviewed Fable 2 (5/5). So does he just not connect with fable 2 as much or is fable 2 just evolutionary, not revolutionary?

    Posted: January 29, 2010 3:56 PM
    jedimasterchief9
  • dwplive

    Mass effect 2 is better than uncharted 2.. but obviously that is just opinion. But in my opinion the depth of mass effect 2 cannot be paralleled by a shooter like uncharted, even though said shooter has a good story. It's not a fair comparison. Mass effect is a galaxy that comes alive with different races, species, all of whose interaction with humans makes the tale thrilling and engaging. You can (and should) spend hours exploring the codex learning all about the galaxies races, wars, and history. It is awesome what bioware have done, and I am about 20 hours in so far and loving the experience. I thought mass effect was one of the best games I ever played on any system, and mass effect 2 is blowing that experience right out of the water. The mythology that bioware have created for this series is second to none, and that include star wars, star trek, or any game on any system... ever... simply brilliant.

    Posted: January 29, 2010 11:39 AM
    dwplive
AdChoices