X

Darksiders Review

Posted: January 20, 2010
Darksiders Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/43739/darksiders-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/187620_LGST/xp_darksiders_rev.jpg
Video_43739
Adam Sessler takes a look at Darksiders from THQ in this review. Will another holy war to end all wars get our juices flowing or make us yawn? Find out in this X-Play review of Darksiders.

Comments are Closed

  • lowkevmic

    Well I have both games, and I will have to admit, both games are very fun!! But both for their own reasons!! Darksiders is a great game, for anyone who has played a Zelda or even a God of War game, which are both titles not on the 360!! The animation is clean, the graphics are good, the fighting was fun!! I hate it when people call something repetitive only when they are stuck to the same moves!! In fact Darksiders had a variety of combo moves, if you knew how to do them!! As for Bayonetta, the game is insane!! The action is really non stop, a lot of cutscenes but I still enjoyed them!! All in all both game deserved a 4 or at least a 3 for different reasons!! For Abbie Heppie to put this down as a two out of five, just further lets me know that she is just a journalist, and not a real gamer!!

    Posted: April 15, 2010 11:55 AM
    lowkevmic
  • Tmidiman

    Abbie should get out of the game review business. She's obviouslynot a gamer

    Posted: March 4, 2010 4:43 PM
    Tmidiman
  • Marvelous_Zombie

    Adam is losing more credibility as a reviewer.Not to mention that this review was based on Abbie's opinions about this underated game.It's actually a solid title while Bayonetta focus too much on style and fan service DS mixes hack and slash combat with brainteasers and a few inspired rail shooter levels. highly recommended game.

    Posted: February 26, 2010 5:05 AM
    Marvelous_Zombie
  • Killzone-K

    Yeah, I just got the game and it looks kinda cool, but it needs a little work and more weapons. At first I heard it has co-op but it didn't and looks kinda like a cartoon. Cant wait till part 2 coming in 2012.

    Posted: February 17, 2010 4:45 PM
    Killzone-K
  • TomBV

    you know it wasn't that bad the storyline was actually pretty good i guess it was like a zelda god of war but its not like thats a bad thing

    Posted: February 8, 2010 4:45 PM
    TomBV
  • Tyler-Durden

    Well birds of a feather DO flock together. Its nice that Adam comes to Abbie's defense on this, but that doesn't change the fact that this review is still completely wrong. I am so surprised at Adam for this review. I can't believe that you recommended not to buy this and even gave it a bad score because another game (GOW3) is coming out soon??? If you guys go by that reasoning then you should have given Halo ODST a 2/5 because MW2 came out at the same time. And ODST was just Halo 3 with Horde Mode (stolen from Gears of War).
    If I had to guess it sounds like somebody at G4 is on the Sony payroll.

    Posted: January 25, 2010 8:24 AM
    Tyler-Durden
  • emugod

    Sorry but with money the way it is I'm just going to wait for the next god of war.

    Posted: January 22, 2010 6:22 AM
    emugod
  • ethanlamothe

    I absolutely loved this game, the Zelda type dungeons were a great aspect of the game it took Zelda and made it that much more hardcore, the story was pretty original and the fact of gaining all the items brings a kind of accomplishment only brought buy getting those end game items... just like Zelda :)

    Posted: January 21, 2010 2:04 PM
    ethanlamothe
  • taternuts

    Who cares what they say opinions are a dime a dozen , if you like games like this then you play it , if you don't you pass on it ,and for the people the write opinion about, it's becuase they could not make a game them selves or tried and there game sucks , so it's easy to complain abou some else's game.PLAYSTAYION 3 forever .

    Posted: January 21, 2010 10:20 AM
    taternuts
  • anomaluigi

    Did Adam even play the game or did he just extrapolate from Abbey's review? And since when does combat have to be innovative to be good. Would you say that Uncharted 2's combat was innovative?...yet it got near-perfect scores on many gaming sites. WTF! This game was freakin' awesome! Great pacing and very diverse. Different than GoW, but in a good way.

    Posted: January 21, 2010 9:44 AM
    anomaluigi
  • Lord_of_Vermillion

    Pretty funny how a lot of people that dislike Darksiders like Bayonetta and vice versa. I loved Darksiders but hated Bayonetta (this is coming from someone that loves hack & slash games like DMC, Ninja Gaiden, God of War and even one of Kamiya's previous titles God Hand).

    But I agree on one thing though, Darksiders lacks a "soul". But I thought it was a refreshing and well paced title that was better than the sum of its parts, a shame you didn't find it as enjoyable as I did. But I guess you could say the same about Bayonetta?

    Posted: January 21, 2010 9:08 AM
    Lord_of_Vermillion
  • DukeOfNYaNumba1

    I thought Darksiders didn't look like anything special when I watched gameplay videos on YouTube in the weeks before its release. I didn't just think it didn't look good, I actually thought this game would be a miserable failure of sorts, but to my surprise though everyone gave this game really good reviews. Still, I wasn't sold on it, I still thought it looked like crap, and I'm really curious as to why X-Play's review is such an anomaly though.

    Was I missing something? Is this something in game politics that nobody has picked up on yet? Did the publishers pull an MGS4 style contract on reviewers where they had to contractually agree not to allow certain factors to weigh in on their final review score? After all Konami did have a hand in publishing this in Japan, that wouldn't surprise me when the Konami and THQ people got together that they exchanged stories and strategies and somewhere in there schemed to do fix reviews AGAIN. Or maybe this time around the people of Vigil and THQ just decided to be more original than the game, maybe get some face time with reviewers, take them out for a beer or few, then some lines of cocaine, a hangover, and some missing memories later they get an email showing photos of them screwing farm animals and basically get threatened that unless satisfying reviews turn up they'll share these photos with their wives and world... haha, okay, let my imagination get the better of me, but I do smell something stinks here.

    Still, I chose to pick up Bayonetta and that game has a really solid combat system, and is quite challenging, and it keeps you on your toes all the time, and is so much fun I can hardly imagine Darksiders holds a candle to it in any way. Because of this when I look at a game like Darksiders I ask myself "why bother", looks too slow, lacks style, but that's just how I feel comparing it to Bayonetta.

    Though, I'm not totally cruel, I might try it in the future when the game is $20 or so. I'll at least have to ask myself whether I was right this whole time, and if it turns out I'm mistaken then I guess I'll be glad to be wrong; after all, who doesn't love to play a good game?

    Posted: January 20, 2010 11:42 PM
    DukeOfNYaNumba1
  • spiralking04

    I like Yahtzee's review better.

    Posted: January 20, 2010 7:14 PM
    spiralking04
  • Skions

    i have it and i think its pretty good. but i have to agree that the combat is a little bland

    Posted: January 20, 2010 4:06 PM
    Skions
  • Gyrorobo

    yeah when I saw the first preview of this game I thought it looked pretty cool, not sure if it was going to be a buy or rent. In the end I dont think I will do either I might just borrow it from a friend. With so many other good games coming out soon (mass effect 2, Bioshock 2, FFXIII). But still im not going to shoot it down just because of the mediocre review, I was just really hoping for something more... hard hitting and new for lack of better adjectives but still might play it.

    Posted: January 20, 2010 3:51 PM
    Gyrorobo
AdChoices