X

Star Trek Online MMO Preview

Posted: January 14, 2010
Star Trek Online MMO Preview
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/43725/star-trek-online-mmo-preview/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/187326_LGST/star-trek-online.jpg
Video_43725
Morgan Webb gives you a preview of the new PC MMO Star Trek Online from Cryptic Studios. Executive Producer Craig Zinkievich details what kinds of characters and classes you can play as in the game and how the game fits into the Star Trek universe.

Games in this Video:

Star Trek Online (PC)

Comments are Closed

  • xavrikx

    I've been playing this game since open Beta started an I have to say this is easily a revolutionary game in ubterfacem ground ad even space combat. Granted when beta launched there was consideriblly a large amount of bugs and they had quite a bit of bugs to fix. In 2-3 weeks they have released atleast 2-3GBS o fixed bugs and new content.

    All in all, the game has great potentonal and the amount of bugs and contet they have fixed shows how dedicated the DEV team is to making this gam work. Don't take my word for it, don'listen to Archer, I really suggest you all just get all get a free trial and give it a try, plus the Officer crew levling system is really great, and with this you are never alone in ground combat.

    Try it out, it's wonderful.

    Posted: February 2, 2010 3:07 PM
    xavrikx
  • mutcase82

    Take anything writen prior to the 21st with a sceptical look. A patch came out late Wednesday night and changed the whole feel of the game.

    Cursor, good job reporting buggs and they will fix them but right now their main objective is to get the game stable for open play for actual paying customers. If they don't fix, or answer your bug report does not mean they don't know about it. I have over 200 bug reports in and only 2 have ever been answered, but about half them have been fixed. Also more stuff is planned to be release after launch so don't be dissaponted if a race or something is not there when you firt get the game. (ie romulans and remans)

    Best option is not to belive me. or anyone else. Try the game yourself and judge for yourself.

    On a side note Archer saw the early beta before they really did anything. His opinion is just that an opinion of Beta not the game itself.

    Posted: January 22, 2010 8:19 PM
    mutcase82
  • Curs0r

    Update: Since the last I posted here I've submitted 3 bug tickets, all unanswered or even acknowledged by the staff. There is absolutely no way they can get all the over 500,000 reported bugs fixed in the next 2 weeks. I gave them the benefit of the doubt but now I'm seriously considering canceling my preorder.

    Posted: January 20, 2010 9:45 AM
    Curs0r
  • Bobandben

    I was really looking forward to this :/, it looked really good, and I couldn't wait to get on the bridge outfitting my stuff, talking to my friends wandering where to explore next! but now after more bad reviews than good, I'm not sure, but they can always make improvements

    :o

    Posted: January 19, 2010 9:17 AM
    Bobandben
  • Spazatron

    The game just downright sucks. I played open beta and this game is horrid. Even if they made it a FTP game I still wouldn't buy it. Pretty much what archer says is true about the game.

    Posted: January 18, 2010 6:49 PM
    Spazatron
  • rybak

    I have to agree with negative reviews. Granted, this is Beta, and there will be the usual quirky things that will go on during Beta, but this close to the release date, I expected more.

    Posted: January 17, 2010 9:15 PM
    rybak
  • Curs0r

    I sat and played with the open beta for 3 hours last night, I have to say this is pathetic. As mentioned in the video clip it seems the only part the developers really cared about was character creation, and the game itself gets boring and repetitive really really fast. No starfleet academy, no crew of human players, no option to be a member of the romulan empire because of the timeline selection, they left out the rank of commodore entirely, and the overall model was just a bit too thin. There is no apparent objective to this beyond becoming admiral and simply continuing to change out ship components and bridge personnel. No doubt many will cheer for the uniform customization, which I feel is completely idiotic. If everyone wears something different it's hardly a uniform is it?

    Posted: January 17, 2010 12:05 PM
    Curs0r
  • Vescovo08

    I'm not even a trekky and this mmo looks great! Ilove mmorpgs i liked the star trek movie and like i said im not even a trekky. I will be buying this game right when it comes out.

    Posted: January 16, 2010 10:14 AM
    Vescovo08
  • elmo360

    ok i am somewhat of a noob when it comes to star trek, i am more of a star wars man myself :), but i must say this game looks good . my only question is weather or not someone who is not familiar with this universe still enjoy this game. thanks for the feed back.

    Posted: January 16, 2010 2:47 AM
    elmo360
  • Aklidien

    Does anyone know the class of the ship shown at 00:25? That is one sexy looking ship =D

    Posted: January 16, 2010 12:36 AM
    Aklidien
  • zhin

    Ignore archer 63. obviously he hasn't been trying out the full extent the "beta" content has yet.

    Its a beta for crying out loud! it isn't perfect just yet till launch.

    *Many have already cancelled their pre-orders based on the open Beta content.
    Link to that claim please or don't post rumours and fake accusations thank you.

    To all others, try it out and see for your self if its worth your time. if there is just a little sci-fi in you i promise you wont be disappointed :)

    Posted: January 15, 2010 7:10 PM
    zhin
  • archer63

    Sorry to say this is one of the worse MMOs I've seen. Many have already cancelled their pre-orders based on the open Beta content. This is more of a bad SyFy channel B science fiction movie rather than Trek. You are rather limited in only doing missions in order to visit a planet. If you don;t take a mission you can't explore. And even that is limited.

    The map system lacks labels, and even coordinates so you can tell friends I'm at xxx,yyy,zzz. Plus scanning only tells you there is something out there, not its postion or anything else. As one who has played and tested games for over 20 years, this is not the product that was advertised.

    As for space combat, its not bad, but not too many tactics you can do. Kepp spinning your ship to lessen damage, and keep firing. No option to cut and run if the battle gets too heated.

    Now for the avatar movement, it is very clunky, using the old WASD keys. If you want to move using your mouse, have fun...you gotta hold both mouse buttons down to move, and you still have to use the keys to move. No user friendly.

    The only thing I can say about this if this was the foundation of the game, instead of the end product, it would look promising. otherwise, don;t bother, wait for a few months and see if they revamp the game.

    Posted: January 15, 2010 12:38 PM
    archer63
  • crwatkins

    I have been beta testing this game for a few weeks now. It shows a lot of promise and hopefully will become a great alternative to those that don't like or need a break from WoW.

    Posted: January 14, 2010 8:00 PM
    crwatkins
  • BigBuddyWill

    So far, this game is good and fun.

    Posted: January 14, 2010 7:54 PM
    BigBuddyWill
AdChoices