X

Blackberry Storm 2 Review

Posted: December 8, 2009
Blackberry Storm 2 Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/43138/blackberry-storm-2-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/184612_LGST/as20091208_gadgetpron.jpg
Video_43138

Kevin Pereira and Olivia Munn review the new Blackberry Storm 2 from RIM, featuring upgraded SurePress touch screen technology, Wi-Fi connectivity, a 3.2 megapixel camera and more for only $180 with a Verizon contract. This could be the holiday storm of the season.

What You Need to Know

  • The phone is 2.4” wide and 4.4” tall
  • It’s only .5” thick
  • It has a 3.25” touch screen, which is fairly large
  • The screen size is exactly the same as the previous model, which is still bright with nice colors
  • The layout with the buttons and everything else is also the same
  • We constantly kept hitting the Voice Dial button on the side, which was annoying
  • Overall, it looks and feels exactly like the first Storm
  • The SurePress touch screen is slightly more accurate and when you’re using it to navigate the screen, but for web browsing, it's merely okay
  • The keyboard is okay when in Landscape; you can type at a somewhat quick speed, because auto-correct is better, but the problem was, we had a lag in software when typing too fast
  • It has multi-touch, but it brings up a really wonky copy and paste feature, which we had a hard time using
  • There’s no pinch and zoom for pictures or web pages, but you can double tap the screen quickly to zoom
  • The phone features a 3.2 megapixel camera with image stabilization, 3G connectivity and html browsing (not the best we’ve seen as far as browsing performance), all of which were available on the last Storm
  • It has Wi-Fi, which was missing in the initial Storm
  • The camera’s image quality was average
  • Really the Storm 2 is the Storm, but with Wi-Fi and an improved touch screen; it's as simple as that
  • The addition of the Wi-Fi and the very small improvement from the touch screen doesn't necessarily make this a better phone


Price

  • BlackBerry has their own app store, the App World, but you aren't going to find a lot of apps for only 99¢
  • The $180 price tag with a 2 year contract isn't worth it for this phone


Overall Rating

  • Don’t Buy (How do we rate gadgets?)
  • If you're on Verizon, we say go with the Droid; it may not be as sleek of a design as the Storm 2 and it is $20 more, but you're getting way more bang for your buck

Want something reviewed on Gadget Pr0n? Email us your suggestions to gadgetpron@g4tv.com.


 

...

Comments are Closed

  • lng

    input this URL:
    ( http://www.ashops.us)
    you can find many cheap and fashion stuff
    (nike jor dan s-h-o-e-s)
    (NBA NFL NHL MLB j-e-r-s-e-y)
    ( lv Chanel Gucci Coach h-a-n-d-b-a-g)
    (cha nel w-a-l-l-e-t)
    (D&G s-u-n-g-l-a-s-s-e-s)
    (ed har dy j-a-c-k-e-t)
    (UG G b-o-o-t)

    WE ACCEPT PYAPAL PAYMENT
    YOU MUST NOT MISS IT!!!

    Posted: August 10, 2010 5:53 PM
    lng
  • d00djoe

    I sort of dissagree with this review... i got the storm 2 as an upgrade from my curve and i'm really impressed with it. I mean sure the internet isn't amazing on it, but its still really awesome phone. And one of the things i agree with on the other posts is that not everyone likes the sure touch screen. personaly i like it a lot but i can be different from person to person. One thing i am impressed with is the music player on it, and the battery life. I've had the phone now for probably 5 or 6 months and i only have to charge the phone every 3 days or so... And i mean this is with me listening to music on it all day and texting at a moderate amount. Over all i don't think this is a good review of the phone, i mean there are some features the should be upgraded but over i really like the phone

    Posted: March 30, 2010 4:57 PM
    d00djoe
  • wayne89

    Liberty Phones Limited. We are all kinds of mobile phones seller and we sell at cheap and affordable prices. all our products are brand new, and comes with all the complete accessories in the box, any interested person can contact us via email at: liberty_phones@hotmail.com

    HTC HD2 for $370usd
    HTC Smart for $390usd
    iPhone 3GS 32GB for $350usd
    Nokia X6 for $360usd
    Motorola MILESTONE for $340usd
    Motorola BACKFLIP (Motus) for $380usd
    Nokia N97 mini RAOUL for $420usd
    Blackberry 9630 TOUR for $350usd
    BlackBerry Storm2 9520 for $370usd
    Samsung I8000 Omnia II for $320usd
    Sony Ericsson Xperia X10 for $400usd

    AND MANY MORE OF YOUR CHOICES AVAILABLE FOR SALES

    HTC HD2 Specifications:

    Power & Battery1
    Battery type: Rechargeable Lithium-ion battery
    Capacity: 1230 mAh
    Talk time:
    * WCDMA: Up to 320 mins
    * GSM: Up to 380 mins

    Windows Mobile� 6.5 Professional
    Storage
    * ROM: 512 MB
    * RAM: 448 MB
    * Expansion slot: microSD memory card (SD 2.0 compatible)

    Network Bands2
    * HSPA/WCDMA: 900/2100 MHz
    * GSM: 850/950/1800/1900 MHz
    Asia Pacific:
    * HSPA/WCDMA: 900/2100 MHz
    * GSM: 850/950/1800/1900 MHz

    Internet3
    * Browser: Opera Mobile
    * 3G:
    Up to 7.2 Mbps download speed
    Up to 2 Mbps upload speed
    * GPRS: Up to 114 kbps download speed
    * EDGE: Up to 560 kbps download speed
    * Wi-Fi�: IEEE 802.11 b/g
    Tethering
    * Internet Sharing through USB or Bluetooth
    * Wi-Fi Router

    Bluetooth
    * Bluetooth� 2.1 with Enhanced Data Rate
    * Supported profiles: A2DP, AVRCP, BIP, BPP, DUN, FTP, GAP, GOEP, HFP, HID, HSP, OPP, PAN, PBAP, SAP, SPP
    Weight: 157 grams (5.54 ounces) with battery
    CPU Processing Speed
    1GHz Snapdragon processor

    EMAIL US IF YOU ARE INTERESTED IN BUYING.
    CONTACT EMAIL: liberty_phones@hotmail.com

    We offer prompt shipping from our Store, The product will arrive at your destination within 2 or 3 Days Via UPS Courier Services.

    THANKS.

    Posted: February 5, 2010 4:23 AM
    wayne89
  • KnightRider2008

    Them complaining about how hard it is to press the screen makes me wonder if the sensitivity settings were out of whack on the phone. This is both the first touch screen and smartphone that I have ever had, and I love it. And pressing the screen is very responsive, unlike what they said in the review.

    Posted: January 25, 2010 7:58 PM
    KnightRider2008
  • hassan001

    Brand new mobile phone unloked , laptop , come with complete

    accessories with one year international warranty.

    Emaill address: Email address: h.hammod@yahoo.com
    h.hammod@live.com

    HTC HD2 $400usd
    Blackberry storm2.....$350usd
    Samsung S9110 watchphone unlocked....$350usd
    Apple iphone 3Gs 32gb........$350usd
    HTC TOUCH PRO2..............$350USD
    Sony Ericsson Xperia X2.....$30usd

    We make shipment via Ups and Fedex shipping company 2days

    deliver worldwide.

    If you are interested in buying our product contact us via


    Emaill address: Email address: h.hammod@yahoo.com
    h.hammod@live.com

    Posted: January 22, 2010 1:48 AM
    hassan001
  • hassan001

    Brand new mobile phone unloked , laptop , come with complete

    accessories with one year international warranty.

    Emaill address: Email address: h.hammod@yahoo.com
    h.hammod@live.com

    HTC HD2 $400usd
    Blackberry storm2.....$350usd
    Samsung S9110 watchphone unlocked....$350usd
    Apple iphone 3Gs 32gb........$350usd
    HTC TOUCH PRO2..............$350USD
    Sony Ericsson Xperia X2.....$30usd

    We make shipment via Ups and Fedex shipping company 2days

    deliver worldwide.

    If you are interested in buying our product contact us via


    Emaill address: Email address: h.hammod@yahoo.com
    h.hammod@live.com

    Posted: January 22, 2010 1:47 AM
    hassan001
  • John Lee

    I don't understand the statement "this is what the S1 should have been" Really?!, cause of that is the case, then shouldn't the iphone 3g shouldn't have been what the iphone should have been? And shouldn't the 3GS be what the 3G should have been? That is a poor choice of words for a review.

    Posted: December 10, 2009 10:41 AM
    John+Lee
  • bigolkev

    Wow that review was harsh!! I have the Storm two and it is actually a great phone!! My wife is a Verizon employee and she had worked with the Droid and Blackberry very closely because we were trying to figure out what to upgrade to. Although the droid is new and cool, there were a lot of things that the storm 2 has that I was looking for!! The storm like any other blackberry has a very difficult learning curve, so much so they offer classes for the blackberry!! I'm sure if they spent a few days with it like I have they'll realize that it is a lot better then they think!!

    Posted: December 10, 2009 9:04 AM
    bigolkev
  • darkhadden

    I agree with some others this is a poor review. I have a lot of experience with iPhones. I have had Blackberries for about 2 years, but the 'traditional' style. The Storm is 'like' an iPhone, but not so much that it is really comparable. It's not MS, it's not Apple. It's BB. It has a learning curve. The one poster above is correct in pointing out the 'sure touch' thing, the clicks to select, is a cool option compared to other 'touch' phones. And the side buttons are totally programmable. I haven't had this 'kept hitting' problem. EVER. The reviewer who kept hitting the side buttons must be retarded or has early Parkinsons. And it is not at all 'heavy'. This is a review fail, after two months with my BB Storm 2 I am 'past' the learning curve and the amount of stuff you can customize (everything, really) is amazing. The keyboard alone, and the auto complete options, are fully customizable. I shut my auto complete off - that's the reason you are getting 'lag' because you 'type too fast' (okay ramrod you're just a typing wizard). I type acceptably, I'm a prolific writer and do lots of 'side' work outside my daily job writing articles or submission documents for pharmaceutical companies. I have had zero trouble typing other than having big thumbs, this causes the touch screen phones to always give me trouble because my thumb wants to cover two letters. The sure type feature actually makes this better for me. The Storm 2 is an awesome phone, and my wife and I got buy one get one free on ours, and then the 'cost' one only cost us $50 after rebates and a discount. Again I say, as someone else mentioned, review fail, and the reviewer is a retard.

    Posted: December 10, 2009 8:39 AM
    darkhadden
  • layzie45

    EPIC FAIL ON REVIEW. either you guys are seriously bias , fanboys of the iphone or just did a very bad review for the blackberry storm 2. If you guys are known for giving a fairly detailed specs for gadgets then why fail give off correct specs for this phone.

    Posted: December 9, 2009 10:42 PM
    layzie45
  • nightsnipe

    i have the first storm. i like it had it for a year no major problems. i like the press in screen rather than the iPhone touch, idk why they act like its such a hassel. and when you get used to it typing works perfectly fine. the best part about it is the BBM most of my friends have it and it its a breeze to use and it plays music really well too. the storm 2 looks pretty similar. i'll wait for the 3rd installment to upgrade

    Posted: December 9, 2009 7:41 PM
    nightsnipe
  • optimum5

    .... stupid G4 comments boards, making me do duplicate posts, because it looked like my post wasn't going up... *grumbles*

    Posted: December 9, 2009 4:31 PM
    optimum5
  • optimum5

    The deciding factor as to whether you will like the Storm comes down to this, Sure Press. In a world where everybody seems to be used to the \"traditional\" touch screen, sure press is going to scare A LOT of people away; hence the \"need to press really hard\" comments (I completely disagree). I personally can't properly use my fingers/thumbs on touch screens (always activating something I don't want), and usually need to use a stylus, so I've had problems with phones like the iPhone. The Storm's idea of separating navigation and confirmation is a huge blessing in my eyes.

    Posted: December 9, 2009 4:29 PM
    optimum5
  • optimum5

    What determines whether you will like the BlackBerry Storm or not comes down to one thing, Sure Press. In a world where everybody is so used to the \"traditional\" touch screen, sure press is going to scare A LOT of people away from the Storm. Which explains the \"Spraining your finger to do anything\" or \"Press really hard\" comments (I disagree).

    Me personally, I LOVE the sure press idea of \"separating navigation with confirmation.\" That's the one thing I've always hated with touch screens (PDAs, phones, whatever), is that I have to be so careful about touching the screen, in fear that it'll activate something I do not want it to. I usually go the stylus route, because using my fingers for touch screens just doesn't do it for me. With the Storm however, I don't have that problem. So despite the flaws that the Storm DOES have, it's pretty much the only touch screen phone I could use.

    Posted: December 9, 2009 4:18 PM
    optimum5
  • vferg

    I agree that the Iphone and Driod is much better than this but its not a horrible phone like they are making it out to be. The weight of this phone is pretty ridiculous though. I loved the addition of WiFi since for some reason Verizon CANNOT give me a good signal from my house which is the worst thing in the world considering its where I live! I loved how much faster this phone was over the first and it did not mess freeze once on me in the week I demo'ed it, compare that to the 1st gen and its a almost like a miracle. Touch screen handled much better than the 1st gen as well. Still everything else is the same as every other BB phone, horrible browser that desperately needs an overhaul or can I suggest being scrapped completely? I decided to stick with the BB Tour until we get approved for Droids so although I don't agree with how negative G4 is being towards the phone it definitely has its flaws. Its kind of funny how a phone meant for business purposes is starting to slip in its own field allowing phones like the Droid to come in and offer a better way to do almost everything a BB phone does aside from having an option or system for corporate email setup. If BB doesn't reinvent its self within the next few phones I foresee them ending up in Palms position soon enough.

    Posted: December 9, 2009 3:00 PM
    vferg
  • Zorn84

    Haha why would you get this crap phone when you can pay $20 more for the Droid, or save $80 and get the Eris, which are both WAY better and have a lot more features.

    Posted: December 9, 2009 2:50 PM
    Zorn84
  • cmdluke

    @BONERJAM and Harleydude

    yes, G4 is secretly trying to push iPhones and Droids.

    Posted: December 9, 2009 2:04 PM
    cmdluke
  • BONERJAM

    @Harleydude

    \"This review was a joke and had a hidden agenda.\"

    A hidden agenda? Really? You've got to be kidding.

    Posted: December 9, 2009 2:01 PM
    BONERJAM
  • Harleydude

    What a terrible review. You do know you can set the convenience keys to do nothing or did you not even look at how the phone works. I had to laugh at you pounding the screen and then watch her lightly touch the keys while typing. This review was a joke and had a hidden agenda. Next time, try not to make it so obvious!

    Posted: December 9, 2009 4:37 AM
    Harleydude
  • shadow4u2nv

    Ha, i got the phone cyber Monday for $10 w/ a 2 year plan yay for me

    Posted: December 8, 2009 7:26 PM
    shadow4u2nv
AdChoices