X

Silent Hill: Shattered Memories Review

Posted: December 10, 2009
Silent Hill: Shattered Memories Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/43131/silent-hill-shattered-memories-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/163091_LGST/silent-hill-shattered-memories.jpg
Video_43131
A reimagining of the original Silent Hill has made its way to the Nintendo Wii and Adam Sessler has the review of Silent Hill: Shattered Memories. Is this survival horror game a fun adventure? Find out in this review.

Comments are Closed

  • jakq85

    I love X-play, but to say that a horror game is tedious bull without a combat system and trial and error gameplay?! Pfft, tell that to Amnesia: The Dark Descent.

    Posted: February 14, 2012 6:42 AM
    jakq85
  • ClaudeRuff

    Let's do the math, play the game...

    2 out of 5

    Play the game again, another...

    2 out of 5

    Complete all 5 endings...

    10 out of 5

    I think I broke it.

    Posted: January 9, 2010 10:24 PM
    ClaudeRuff
  • KiramidHead

    I haven't finished the game yet, and as a fan of the series, I'm really enjoying it so far. The lack of combat doesn't really bother me, as the games were always more about psychological horror, not action. And,DragonRider6, getting jumped by a monster while solving a puzzle would only annoy me in the extreme.

    Posted: January 9, 2010 7:03 AM
    KiramidHead
  • Klepto_Bysmal

    Registered just to say Adam, this is the single-dumbest review you've made in recent memory, only dwarfed in stupidity by the comments so far. You seem to not understand that a "reimagining" does not mean a "remake" and that a psychological game will be based on psychological horror, not excessive gore.

    Combat would have been nice, except that the enemies in the game cannot be killed. What then, smacking them around so they lay down for ten seconds? Why even have the combat at that point? The flares do that well enough, especially when dropped in doorways. Also, where would the tension be if the enemies could be killed? Once you've killed everything there's even less tension than the real world sections in Shattered Memories.

    And controls, I'll be blunt. If you have problems with the controls in this game, stop eating the controller. That's the only reason I can think of for anyone having problems with the controls short of trying to play hanging upside-down facing away from the TV. I'm on my second run and have had zero issues with anything control-wise; the flashlight, throwing off enemies, nothing has been an issue so far.

    Posted: December 31, 2009 12:24 PM
    Klepto_Bysmal
  • Jables_the_Zombie

    I give it a solid 1 out of 5 and that's being generous. For the main reasons the story is lame, the controls aren't very solid, the graphics aren't terrible but there's something weird about them they reminded me of Eternal Darkness back on the Game cube also the puzzles are just weak and are nothing more then a chore that will take you 30 seconds to 1 minute to finish and do, The exploration of Silent Hill is also a waste which i don't really understand why for this i mean 10 years ago back on the PlayStation 1 (Or psx) you could freely run through the entire town(minus the parts of roads which were collapsed of course) and that's just sad with the power and graphics of today's consoles that developers cant even take the time to do that.However, I did sort of like the therapy sessions parts although the therapist was a complete a**hole and the soundtrack is like always good even if it sounds like remixes from previous Silent Hill games. Overall this game is just about an epic fail the lack of exploration and combat, weak puzzle designs, wonky controls and dreadfully boring story and game play. It could have been so much better if they didn't slap Silent Hill or touch a game which was just an awesome experience and actually scary and ruin it in a heart beat making a shattered memory. This is just my opinion of course i mean no harm or foul by what i say just this game was bad.

    Posted: December 14, 2009 8:20 PM
    Jables_the_Zombie
  • DragonRider6

    Ok some things they need to add to actually make a survival horror game scary. First, when you die don' t make them come back to life in the same place. This will actually make u feel like you running for you life in a unknown place. Second, Make it scary!!!!!!! Third, Mess with them physiologically. Don't just make it so you hear a noise behind you, make it come out and kil you while your a doing a puzzle or something.

    Most of these are pretty basic except for the first. that one is major. You have to make the player feel like they are running for their life. Don't give them one second to breath of explore.

    Posted: December 14, 2009 2:40 PM
    DragonRider6
  • EdSabre

    Agree with most of this. Love the story, characters, and atmosphere. However, removing combat and only having enemies appear in scripted chase sequences takes alot of the tension away. Not only that, the chase scenes are horrible due to the controls and the fact that it's so easy to get turned around and head in the wrong direction. Still, they tried alot of new things, some things worked, others didnt. As a big fan of Silent Hill, I did enjoy this entry and I hope they take the good elements they created and use them to create a better title in the series later on.

    Posted: December 10, 2009 7:53 PM
    EdSabre
AdChoices