X

Exclusive Brink Playing Smart Freedom of Movement Preview

Posted: November 30, 2009
Exclusive Brink Playing Smart Freedom of Movement Preview
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/43012/exclusive-brink-playing-smart-freedom-of-movement-preview/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/184010_LGST/brink.jpg
Video_43012
Splash Damage Game Director Paul Wedgwood provides an exclusive preview of the game world, "S.M.A.R.T." movement system and persistent characters in Bethesda's FPS, Brink.

Comments are Closed

  • redeagle830

    and y are u all hating bethesda they make some of the best games out there and they didnt even make this game just publishing it.

    Posted: January 9, 2010 6:54 PM
    redeagle830
  • redeagle830

    how can you compare assasin creed with this

    in assinss creed on a regulary bases it takes sveral tries just to get him were you want him to jump

    any way game looks amazing

    Posted: January 9, 2010 6:51 PM
    redeagle830
  • Jakcass47

    I remember seeing the same kind of potential when I first heard about Borderlands, well over a year ago, and that panned out pretty freaken good, imho, and I just keep thinkin that its a good, good time to be a gamer !!

    Posted: December 5, 2009 8:34 PM
    Jakcass47
  • Wandrecanada

    So I guess no women survived in this dystopia?

    Posted: December 5, 2009 4:03 PM
    Wandrecanada
  • kaskaskruspos

    this game looks like is going to kick ass,
    but i dont like the smart button idea it should be more like mirros edge.

    but still kicks ass.

    Posted: December 5, 2009 12:56 PM
    kaskaskruspos
  • UnionSpartan7

    the story sounds kind of like a futuristic bioshock in a way with the whole deserted thing except above water but this is definitely something that has caught my attention and i love the whole smart movement concept

    Posted: December 3, 2009 4:38 PM
    UnionSpartan7
  • JimDanD

    This game looks really sweet, kind of like warhawk and shadowrun. Unfortunately I cant see it excelling past the popularity of those two games either, but it will surely be a fun game to play. This smart system is probably the best thing going for it, seems like a revolutionary piece of technology for games.

    Posted: December 3, 2009 12:56 PM
    JimDanD
  • TheSledBaron

    Having watched both of the Brink videos today, does anyone else think Wedgewood has a great voice for this kind of thing?

    Posted: December 1, 2009 11:33 PM
    TheSledBaron
  • cheesepwnage

    brinks gona be frieken kick ass!

    Posted: December 1, 2009 7:05 PM
    cheesepwnage
  • haterhater

    Just for the record (which it's already on), Brink is being published by Bethesda, not being developed. It has nothing to do whatsoever with the Maryland based Bethesda team.

    Posted: December 1, 2009 5:40 PM
    haterhater
  • NortheastMonk

    I'm liking it a lot. I hope the charisma of the characters have more appeal then say Oblivion/Fallout 3.

    Posted: December 1, 2009 8:23 AM
    NortheastMonk
  • ralph1628

    But...but I have a Wii

    Posted: December 1, 2009 6:39 AM
    ralph1628
  • uelia

    Can you say seen it, done it , been there? Boring! People wake up and stop buying the same old crap. Because they'll just keep on making it. Use your imagination because there is so video game potential that we will never see if all people buy is more of the same.

    Posted: December 1, 2009 4:19 AM
    uelia
  • TheDrunkardHu

    man, this game looks really nice!! the summary of the story didnt do much for me, but i DO like the smart movement and fps blend they've got going on... i REALLY appreciate that this game will award players online, and off, and im excited for the potential fast gunplay that this title could bring to the online multiplayer table... here's to hoping that this wont be a glitchfest!

    Posted: December 1, 2009 3:00 AM
    TheDrunkardHu
  • dommafia

    wow a lot of u seem to be really confused. There will be avanced techniques for the smart movement system for players that would like to do more advanced movements.

    the simpler mode will be to help newer players get around quicker without getting stuck on terrain and such. This game is going to be a day one purchase, go go tapir power!

    Posted: November 30, 2009 8:55 PM
    dommafia
  • NotTheGuy

    You guys seem to be confusing the publishing arm Bethesda Softworks with the developer Bethesda Game Studios. The developer of this game is Splash Damage.

    Posted: November 30, 2009 7:43 PM
    NotTheGuy
  • Bigparr

    it looks pretty good but usually with great looking innovations also comes great trouble in making it useable.mirrors edge did great with this kind of thing but it doesnt seem like this would work in an actual FPS. mirrors edge had a more linear environment which worked well with the context sensitive controls. but in a more open, varied world, it will be harder for the game to recognize what you want to do and therefore we will probably see a degree of \"sliding into a wall\" instead of climbing it; especially in multiplayer. also please note that Bethesda is not actually the developer here as was Wet.they are only the publisher here and so we can't really expect the same quality as the next Elder Scrolls iteration. it does look very good and i hope it works out well,but i can't help but feel a little concerned

    Posted: November 30, 2009 7:20 PM
  • ThePwny

    Cool gameplay mechanic, right there. I'm going to look more into this. :)

    Posted: November 30, 2009 7:18 PM
    ThePwny
  • YANKEEFAN33

    To erthazus
    how can this game be a fail AC2 had all the free run options on one button and if i say so my self AC2 did great why not combine three trancenting games types Fallout 3, COD 6,AC2 .i think it's pretty ballzy im also happy many shooters are evolving from just \"a Railway shooter\" i think we should all wait and expect something great from bethseda

    Posted: November 30, 2009 5:17 PM
    YANKEEFAN33
  • Erthazus

    OK! Big question.

    Why we are bothering with the controls at all? Why 1 button? Lets make a game where one button - walk,run,shoot,jump,action and e.t.c. or lets make a game without buttons... Ooops... thats a movie. Woop di doo...

    seriously, this Mirrors Edge rip off + Typical 1st person shooter + one button sequence = FAIL

    I miss games where you can play with full capabilities of keyboard and mouse. I WANT TO PLAY but not to watch a damn mediocre movie pressing ONE button for every movement. Atleast ArmA 2 developers are the only that have brains.

    Posted: November 30, 2009 3:56 PM
    Erthazus
AdChoices