X

Verizon Droid Phone Review

Posted: October 29, 2009
Verizon Droid Phone Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/42413/verizon-droid-phone-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/181132_LGST/as20091029_gadgetpron.jpg
Video_42413

Brace yourself! Kevin Pereira and Olivia Munn got their hands on the new Motorola Droid phone for Verizon Wireless. Find out what they discovered from its 3.7" screen, full QWERTY keyboard and voice activated search, all for $200 with a contract.

What You Need To Know

  • The first thing you notice about the Droid is that it's pretty hefty: the phone weighs almost 6 ounces and feels sturdy.
  • It has the same dimensions as the iPhone but with a 3.7" screen.
  • It's the world's thinnest phone with a full sliding QWERTY keyboard.
  • The phone operates on the Android 2.0 (Eclair) OS.
  • It has the largest touch screens we've seen on a phone, making it easier to use.
  • The glass screen is super responsive and is just as good as the other Android phones we've reviewed.
  • But there's still no multi-touch!
  • The full keyboard is good but the directional pad on the ride side gets in the way while you're typing.
  • There's also multi-tasking: just hold down the Home button and you can switch between 6 open apps.
  • Since there are two processors (one for data and the other for voice), it's one of the fastest phones we've ever used.
  • The web browser is also one of the best: It's Flash 10 ready and the giant screen makes for a great experience.
  • You double-tap to zoom, but it would have been perfect with the pinch and zoom feature.
  • The search works by typing your query to universally look through your contacts, media, text or just Google search what you need.
  • The 5 megapixel camera takes okay photos and has a flash.
  • The camcorder is great and records at 720x480 resolution up to 24 fps.
  • Google Maps also has turn by turn voice directions.
  • The Micro SD card can hold up to 32 gigs.

Price

  • $200 with a Verizon contract. The Droid is worth the price with Verizon's 3G coverage.

Rating

Want something reviewed on Gadget Pr0n? Email us your suggestions to gadgetpron@g4tv.com.

...

Comments are Closed

  • imonahorse

    i wonder what they would rate it now that it has multi touch... d-pad is dumb as hell though

    Posted: May 12, 2010 8:27 PM
    imonahorse
  • Xo_Bankai_oX

    I got mine a few weeks ago, It's perfect. Way better than the Iphone. It does support multi-touch (very well I might add), it's just that the apps that come pre-installed on the phone don't support multi-touch. There are some good apps, (like Dolphin Browse and different gallery [pinch and pull your pics]) that support multi-touch. So, this phone basically has it all.

    Posted: December 19, 2009 1:09 AM
    Xo_Bankai_oX
  • hchazari

    The physical keyboard is actually good, a lot of people use it instead after getting used to it. It does support Multi Touch not what Kevin said, its the same thing as the Milestone in Europe that has multi touch. Some people are say that its because Apple has a patent but who knows why didnt enable that feature on the phone since HTC Eris has Multi Touch. But apps that have multi touch are Imagine Multi Touch by Softwareforme.com also PicSayPro has multi touch and Dolphin Browser.

    Posted: December 7, 2009 3:52 AM
    hchazari
  • RiftReaper

    Just thought I would toss out there that an update is suppose to be coming out in december that fixes some of the issues:


    he character count doesn't show up in the messaging tool until you've reached 160 characters.

    • Initiating a three-way call doesn't work properly in certain regions of the country.

    • You can't currently transfer contacts directly via Bluetooth.

    • Camera autofocus doesn't always work on the first try.

    • Sound occasionally echoes back during a voice call.

    • Disconnecting a 2.5-mm headset adaptor can cause the media-playing software to launch automatically.

    • The phone can lock up when you're editing recurring appointments with large invite lists in an Exchange-synched calendar.

    • Videos uploaded to the phone via Bluetooth show an incorrect date and time.

    http://www.pcworld.com/artic le/181778/motorola_droid_updat es_coming_soon.html

    Hopefully the camera fix will resolve the picture quality issue.

    Posted: November 14, 2009 2:14 AM
    RiftReaper
  • Drew50

    damn im glad my contract ends this month this phone has me interested in i just goin hate the data plan coverage hmmm ???

    Posted: November 10, 2009 10:33 PM
    Drew50
  • rapedbyaclown

    Wowwww i'm a big apple man and i mean big big apple man, but listen there is a big mistake in this video and thats the fact that multi touch is supported for the droid look at pic say on the android market. pinch and zoom and it works. i'm actually pretty happy with my droid although i would like to see an iphone on verizon

    Posted: November 7, 2009 1:32 PM
    rapedbyaclown
  • jaysisko

    Doesn't this phone support wi-fi too? I don't see that mentioned in the review at all. That's a pretty big deal for a verizon phone.

    Posted: November 6, 2009 1:34 PM
    jaysisko
  • ninjaninjav

    I frown upon this review, you are comparing multi-touch to multi-tasking, which is a bigger deal, you are comparing a large app store to OPEN SOURCE!!! this is just a bit crazy.

    Posted: November 2, 2009 7:45 PM
    ninjaninjav
  • J_Boolihans

    Europe's version of the Droid, The Milestone, is set to be released with multi-touch.

    I also wanted to say that I also like having a directional pad, I think it makes scrolling more effortless.

    I don't think the Droid is that ugly.

    Posted: November 2, 2009 8:59 AM
    J_Boolihans
  • Gnslngr77

    it may not be the greatest looking but it does have personality, 5mp and only takes okay pictures? the camera was a big plus for me when i planned on getting it but i suppose it still has that big beautiful 3.7 inch screen. the keyboard may be cramped but all keyboards need time to get use to and for the multi touch, if you dont have a touch screen phone don't complain, they cant take away what you never had

    Posted: October 31, 2009 2:47 PM
    Gnslngr77
  • TareX

    And the directional pad is for gaming. I for one find it ESSENTIAL for widescreen PSX/SNES/GBA/MAME emulation.

    Posted: October 31, 2009 12:47 AM
    TareX
  • TareX

    OH MY GOD OH MY GOD OH MY GOD...

    Enough with the "but it doesn't have multitouch!!!!!".... I can't believe how much I had to hear that. Multitouch is:

    1) Supported by both the hardware and the software.
    2) Available through a hack.
    3) Is the harder way to zoom on a webpage or an image (needs TWO HANDS, one to hold the phone, and the other to pinch the screen).

    I mean the ONLY significant importance of multitouch is to type slightly faster on a soft keyboard... guess what, THIS HAS A PHYSICAL KEYBOARD.

    Please, I can't believe how "multitouch" was made to be the center point of criticism to this phone in the video... oh and it's "boxy and not stylish". However, you did manage to marginalize things like Navigation...etc. WOW. You guys really ARE fanboys. There really is no comparison between the iPhone and the Droid. Is the Droid ugly? Yes a bit. Does that make the iPhone a better phone? Not by ANY STRETCH OF IMAGINATION.

    Posted: October 31, 2009 12:45 AM
    TareX
  • johnperkins21

    The Droid does indeed support multi-touch. The browser doesn't have pinch to zoom, but there's nothing stopping a developer from adding it to their own browser.

    Posted: October 30, 2009 8:23 PM
    johnperkins21
  • awwwsnap

    "you guys complained about multi touch. Apple patent it."

    Multitouch is on Zune, Pre, and others. I know you arent a patent attorney but no apple did not patent it. Their patent only covers the locking multitouch into one direction. That little slide that lets you go only horizontal or vertical. And the pinch maneuver.

    The thing is apple is already infringing on patents by the university of delaware. And the maneuvers in question may not even be legitimately patented by apple because they were publicly demonstrated by other companies and universities. If you have proof of concept before the patent was filed it is invalid.

    Ultimately its just lawyers trying to hedge an advantage in a competitive market and it will boil down to a attorney cold war or a judicial decision on some legalese minutia noone understands anyway.

    Posted: October 30, 2009 12:55 PM
    awwwsnap
  • deleted_A580CDF3-D4DB-44FB-844F-71C3FCD81CC7

    looks cool, but the keys are definetly flushed and cramped. I don't own an iPhone, if I had to choose I would go w/ th Droid. Verizon is the superior over at&t.

    Posted: October 30, 2009 10:08 AM
    deleted_A580CDF3-D4DB-44FB-844F-71C3FCD81CC7
  • sketchyj

    on the fact that it has no multi touch i feel that it will cause the website has it up on the wheel as if saying that it is coming

    Posted: October 30, 2009 7:49 AM
    sketchyj
  • jailbreakjimxd

    According to Droids twitter feed... Multi touch is available...
    "
    Phrozendemon: @DroidDoes Does the MultiTouch let u pinch to zoom?
    Droid: @Phrozendemon yes, to Multitouch
    "
    http://twitter.com/DroidDoes

    Posted: October 30, 2009 5:49 AM
    jailbreakjimxd
  • Getaphixx

    Crap.. Gloves suck..

    Posted: October 29, 2009 11:37 PM
    Getaphixx
  • Getaphixx

    First off.. That whole keyboard complaining thing..

    Areeeeeeeeeee you saying that designers should of done a better job with designing the phone or are you comparing it with the iPhone..

    I'll assume the later..

    *Now my take on the review as compared to the iPhone..*

    1. What in gods name are you talking about flat keyboard.. Hmmmm dosen't the iPhone have no keys and the ones they do are as flat as they come.. wait they're pixels..

    2. I REALLY look forward to the directional pad.. For MANY MANY people who's work involves wearing gloves... THE IPHONE WON'T WORK WITH GLOVES! This allows someone who wears gloves to not have to stop.. take off their gloves and browse the phone for contancts, apps, maps.. I think that design is PERFECT!!

    I'm REALLY looking forward to getting this phone!

    Posted: October 29, 2009 11:20 PM
    Getaphixx
  • Mikado20

    The Droid looks awesome!
    Since my contract expired for Verizon, I might get the phone. Thanks for the review.

    Posted: October 29, 2009 10:47 PM
    Mikado20
AdChoices