X

Zune HD Review

Posted: September 15, 2009
Zune HD Review
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/41369/zune-hd-review/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/176298_LGST/as20090915_gadgetpron.jpg
Video_41369

Move over, Apple because Microsoft releases their new Zune HD today. Fortunately for us, Chris Hardwick and Kevin Pereira review the new media player with its 3.3" multi-touch OLED screen, 720p HD video out and Wi-Fi connectivity, all for $220.

What You Need To Know

  • The Zune HD is one of the smallest and lightest devices we've reviewed: it's only 0.35" inches thick and weights 2.6 ounces.
  • |Its 3.3" OLED screen is 100% better than the old Zune track pad.
  • The touch screen is incredibly responsive both to taps and multi-touch, compared to the iPhone and Palm Pre.
  • The interface is more intuitive and the QuickPlay bar is a nice addition.
  • They've taken a lot of pages from the iPod interface and improved its features.
  • The Zune software is as easy as iTunes to organize and sync your media. You just click and drag your files to sync onto your Zune, or sync it to your computer through the Wi-Fi connection.
  • The software also features a Smart DJ, which figures out what kind of music you like and makes a play list based on that.
  • The Zune pass ($15/month) allows you to play unlimited music on your computer, making the Zune experience much more expansive.
  • The browser and virtual keyboard are good, but both could be a little bigger.
  • The HD radio tuner allows you to tag songs and buy them through the Zune marketplace.
  • The 720p video out can be used with the AV Dock ($90) There are only a few apps available. There is no external speaker.

Price

  • $220 for the 16 gig Zune HD.
  • The Zune is only $10 cheaper than the 32 gig iPod but this might be the better deal for a 16 gig version.

Rating

...

Comments are Closed

  • weedalin

    @cobalt135: As of Zune firmware 4.5, there are no ads on any game (there were previously ads only on the games). So suck it.
    I love my Zune HD and would never swap it for any other PMP.

    Posted: April 13, 2010 4:19 PM
    weedalin
  • slimmer

    Looks interesting, I'm sorta shopping for another itouch (really want it to have a camera though), i'm going to check out more reviews on this new Zune and would really like to see M$ integrate everything with Live like they talked about, Fix NFS car over Live with your Zune while at lunch and when you get home it will be ready , thats just one example .
    This Zune does look nice.

    Posted: November 15, 2009 2:36 PM
    slimmer
  • 420allday

    Chris hardwick is wrong theres a 16 gig iPod i have one and i listin to it all the time he is wrong srry !!!!

    Posted: October 9, 2009 2:11 AM
    420allday
  • TdotFunk

    With the zune pass you can KEEP 10 SONGS a month! Even if you cancel your pass! Shame on the writers for missing this on the review. You said that you can't keep anything. Big error guys... very disappointed.

    Posted: September 22, 2009 8:03 AM
    TdotFunk
  • Viewtifaluja

    It's funny to see those who write "Zune sucks" with no back up points. Is the Zune have a big foothold? Obviously not. Sure, Microsoft was late to the party, but I love my Zune and still use it's software everyday. Having both an iPhone and the 30gig Zune, I enjoy my Zune a lot more, especially with the software. Now with the HD out, I regret my iPhone purchase and will wait for the 64gig to come out and more than likely purchase that. With Microsoft looking more at an Xbox 360 integration, plus all the new features like HD video out and HD radio, I'd love to get my hands on one.

    Posted: September 20, 2009 4:54 AM
    Viewtifaluja
  • bgrindel

    I have the zune 120 gb, it's awesome. Better than the ipod, except for equilizer function. Plus you don't have to deal with conversion to AAC format, Hah!

    Posted: September 17, 2009 8:24 PM
    bgrindel
  • cobalt135

    Come on guys, why didn't you show the lovely ads that come pre-loaded for your pleasure? I am sure it is a preview of the great things to come with this device from Microsoft!

    Posted: September 17, 2009 4:16 PM
    cobalt135
  • leesal3

    say what you want about the zune, but my husbands zune has lasted twice being in iraq, and it's still going with no problems.

    Posted: September 17, 2009 1:25 PM
    leesal3
  • surferdude89

    ps: maruhan2: why does zune suck? This is not a valid opinion or statement since you have failed to address any issues to back up your theory. Also intellectually your comment is not a very valid statement since you have resorted to name calling (especially without proper reason) and have belittled yourself.

    Posted: September 16, 2009 10:05 PM
    surferdude89
  • surferdude89

    Awesome, Thanks for the review.

    Personally I wasnt a huge fan of the original zune, but to me it was just as good as the ipod *gets ready for ipod fans...*

    I wont be getting it for a little while though, maybe christmas. Although does anyone else find it annoying that MS lets you do the tattoo thing with the zune, which is cool, but all they have for the HD are a hand full of either xbox exclusives (nothing wrong with that, just wish the opened it up for more games like MW2 or assassins creed 2 and so on) or a bunch of really ugly artist pics.

    Posted: September 16, 2009 10:01 PM
    surferdude89
  • Blue_Vortex

    Hey Kevin Audio Surf is coming to the Zune (just thought you should know since you were asking the developer to make it for the ipod...)

    Will I be getting the HD? Not this year (and possibly the year after that), My Zune 80 is still working fine (after 2 years) so I think I'll wait until MS releases a Zune HD with 128gs (for a decent price, I don't want to spend more then 300 for a mp3 player).

    Posted: September 16, 2009 3:47 PM
    Blue_Vortex
  • MooKooJoe

    Microsoft is doing stuff right. Whether you like it or not kevin. Also, the Zune Nation is a lot larger than you make it out to be. A lot larger.

    Posted: September 16, 2009 12:56 PM
    MooKooJoe
  • gregrthenson

    so i like... i might get one when i have few extra bucks... the only problem is the 16 gigs... i would have liked it to have the 120gb like on the last one... because i have tons of music and idk if 16 gb will cut it... thats one thing i always laughed at with the iPod touch is the lack of memory... whatever though...

    btw... i've always noticed that people are anti zune just to be anti microsoft... **shrug** ... and these are usually the people that are all about the xbox and eerything else sucks... doesn't make sense but whatever they have their opinion to be anti microsoft yet like something made by microsoft... i guess

    Posted: September 16, 2009 10:04 AM
  • maruhan2

    i'd rather buy cowon than a zune, if it is for music and video
    if it's for features, i'd buy ipod touch

    in short, zune sucks

    Posted: September 16, 2009 2:27 AM
    maruhan2
  • OutlawFirebird

    Sweet, i cant wait till mine arrives.

    Posted: September 15, 2009 11:40 PM
    OutlawFirebird
  • threephasewolf

    I'll wait for them to work any unseen bugs out before buying one. The last two Zunes and software burned most of the people who bought one. With most of the MS stuff that I had to deal with,"if it's new, it's got bugs".

    Posted: September 15, 2009 11:19 PM
    threephasewolf
  • ZetaCrossfire

    The video is not working

    Posted: September 15, 2009 5:49 PM
    ZetaCrossfire
AdChoices