X

Sessler's Soapbox: Game Reviews Need Reference

Posted: August 26, 2009
Sessler's Soapbox: Game Reviews Need Reference
http://www.g4tv.com/videos/41014/sesslers-soapbox-game-reviews-need-reference/
http://images.g4tv.com/ImageDb3/174198_LGST/soapbox-reference.jpg
Video_41014
Adam explains that, like art, game critiques must include works of the past and present in order so the reader has a frame of reference.

Comments are Closed

  • SpyHunter07

    Wow I actually understood what he was talking about! Yay for high school AP classes!

    Posted: August 29, 2009 11:48 AM
    SpyHunter07
  • autocrat86

    Adam brings up a good point. How are we supposed to review things if we don't have a standard to judge them by. Gears is recognized as one of the best shooters to date, and its fair to use that game's innovations to judge the progression of others.

    Posted: August 29, 2009 9:55 AM
    autocrat86
  • 6R39

    Adam,Any man given power shows his true colors, and right now you have power. People respect you enough for you to alter there thought and opinions of things. So just remember how you act on tv is how people will remember you.(asuming you care) So make it a good impression so that hopefully-in the future when your probably dead-there wont be as many a**holes in the world.

    Posted: August 29, 2009 9:31 AM
    6R39
  • Wakeman90125

    Someone should "Wiki" that vid incase they arent sure what pretentious means..

    Posted: August 29, 2009 9:12 AM
    Wakeman90125
  • Wakeman90125

    And you wonder why our economy is so bad...

    Posted: August 29, 2009 9:10 AM
    Wakeman90125
  • Shienberg

    Ok.... Im still looking for the cut.

    The one where Adam stopped talking and took the biggest bong hit of his life before he spoke those last seven-odd sentences. Seriously!?! Anyone who compares any aspect of the gaming industry to understanding how to know the true you inside yourself, should throw all of their systems out the window of a very tall building right now!!!

    @Sess
    Mad respect and I appreciate evrything you do (that whole Fable 2 thing notwithstanding. I mean really, youre the guy who sold me on Fallout 3), but I think you made your point way before you started getting introspective. :)

    Posted: August 29, 2009 6:55 AM
    Shienberg
  • Xandros

    Entertaining, as usual.

    You don't need to be on camera to project a persona. Look at how you behave in a job interview versus how you behave at home around friends. How do you behave differently around your friends, than say a police officer. Different situations elicit different personas; we all use them.

    Who is the real you if not the combination of all the different "acts" that you perform every day?

    Posted: August 28, 2009 5:59 AM
    Xandros
  • Flux Indigo

    It is times like this I wish "Meet the Sess", had become an actual show (hint to E!).
    The conundrum of comparison has always been an interest of mine because of, well, what you expressed at the end of the video.
    While I enjoy priviledge of listening to your opinions, if we met at a grocery store, we'd probably talk produce.

    Melons.

    It is one of those arguments where you must accept both the pieces and the whole.
    Any subject as a whole is individual, but when elements of it are examined, you can find other subjects whose elements are quite similar.
    Any person belonging to a group will be similar to those around him and expand out from group to group, however each person's purity as themself should never be questioned.

    This is why you can never have one without the other.
    Delving in for reference is not the same as comparison and yet, the comparison of the parts must be made to make the point.
    The love you feel for a particular title is questioned when placed beside another.
    The parts may be dissected until the overall value of the title is questioned.
    It is up to you to decide if your love for something can be crushed with the knowledge that one of two parts don't work so good and the ability to see one apple not spoiling the entire bunch.

    I mean, how does a film win every award and miss Best Picture?

    Adam, I look forward to this every week and also, thank you for the book recommendations.


    "Glamour cannot exist without personal social envy being a common and widespread emotion." - John Berger

    Posted: August 27, 2009 3:18 PM
    Flux+Indigo
  • stilllife

    The problem about using other videogames to judge a current videogame in a review, is that your review may not resonate with with people who have not played the older game, that you are comparing the newer one to.

    I sometimes review games on Gamespot, just for the hell of it, and the last review I did, which was for Prototype, got me a few PMs later, with people telling me that the fact that I compared the game to Assassin's Creed and Crackdown made them a bit confused with what I was trying to say about Prototype, since they had never played Assassin's Creed, or Crackdown.

    This could be the problem with judging a game on both it's own merits, and based on how much it differs from games that came before, especially when you try to judge a newer game based on a game that may be older, or more obscure game, which a younger audience may not have played.

    If you're interested, here's my review of Prototype at Gamespot:

    [url]http://www.gamespot.com /xbox360/action/prototype/play er_review.html?id=667009&t ag=all-about;review1[/url]

    Warning, the review is rather lengthy.

    Posted: August 27, 2009 11:28 AM
    stilllife
  • Kratier

    I will not bother to comment on the huge circle jerk about sessler in this comment session, i will just respond to the BS that was in the horrible video up top.

    A) Movie critics do not reference to past movies when reviewing a movie. They identify the individual strengths and weaknesses in the film, and rate it by the experience they had when watching it.
    Game reviewers only do this because they think it adds relevance to their reviews, writing skill, and experience as a gamer. Protip: people who end up actually reading game reviews aren't experienced gamers and do not understand the references, it isolates the casual gamers

    B)A common misconception is the angle at which people reference a game to another, a good example is Uncharted reviews having references to Gears of war in it. It can be misconstrued into 1000 different directions from a reference like that.

    C) As i said earlier, reviewers review the individual experience of the movie. You talked about technology as in referring to game engines, actual content in the game rather than the experience of a game.


    Sessler also has been nothing but a media biased puppet for the last 5 years, and i laugh when Adam "I like melons" Sessler tries to appear to be the intellect amongst a huge circle jerk of die hard fanboys.


    Hey Sess why don't you go pretend to buy into Peter Molyneux's hype machine again like a good little corporate lap dog.

    Posted: August 27, 2009 5:21 AM
    Kratier
  • BeeL616

    Good soapbox, and about that deep moment at the end, it almost seems that Adam has been wanting to say that for a while.

    Posted: August 26, 2009 11:54 PM
    BeeL616
  • shadowthunder66

    Brilliant! Felt like I was back in college again listening to someone in media studies with a triple digit IQ for a change. Got both games and have been playing them around the clock and completely agree with you on all points.

    Thanks Adam! Keep up the excellent work and a big thumbs up to you & all at G4 - my favorite channel besides CNN & Comedy Central.

    And yeah - that last 30 seconds reminded me of the stoned speech in "Animal House" about how our universe could be an atom in the fingernail of some huge something that was an atom in a fingernail of a huge something that was...

    Posted: August 26, 2009 11:27 PM
    shadowthunder66
  • dpap777

    I agree with you there Adam, and that information right at the end, blew my face off.

    Posted: August 26, 2009 9:25 PM
    dpap777
  • maxxb117

    That last part was deep.

    Posted: August 26, 2009 9:01 PM
    maxxb117
  • deadpai

    Some nice clarifying going on here.
    I think when most people see past games mentioned in a review for an upcoming game, they think the new game is being compared to them...in a way that lumps them in a category before the game gets a chance to stand out on its own. So it's nice to see it be made clear that the other games are being mentioned as a point of reference...to give the reader an idea of how the game is played/what it's like in general.
    Also...I think that if a reviewer is going to say that one game is ripping off of another, they'd just come right out and say it. They wouldn't be vague about it.
    Anyway, awesome soapbox, Adam!

    Posted: August 26, 2009 7:00 PM
    deadpai
  • SnowmanU

    The end just shattered my entire universe!............do I know me? Flip, it's stuff like that that makes me keep watching these awesome Soapboxes:)

    Posted: August 26, 2009 6:50 PM
    SnowmanU
  • Deaths_Messiah

    I like melons

    Wow Adam you continue to to amaze me with your soapboxes and how always right you are,
    I really like how in the beginning you provided background info on how other types of art and their mediums have previous artworks and philosophies to be referenced too, and how now games don't have most of that and rely on technology and only previous games for a reference like your Gears example.

    Adam keep up the logic and the good sense man

    Posted: August 26, 2009 6:20 PM
    Deaths_Messiah
  • TheMasterAckrovan

    An exceptionally well made soapbox, Adam. I have come to consider you on of the best gaming guru's out there. I hope you'll continue to do what you do until the rest of your hair turns grey and you hide in shame.

    -- The Great Archon

    Posted: August 26, 2009 6:06 PM
    TheMasterAckrovan
  • chuckharms

    As long as you don't bias your reviews Sess (like resident evil 5) they're gonna be good...but gametrailers reviews go wayyyyy from in depth of the game.

    Posted: August 26, 2009 6:01 PM
    chuckharms
  • Theplasmabeam

    Adam is right like pretty much always and fanboys just get so angry they need to see someone for that

    Posted: August 26, 2009 4:43 PM
    Theplasmabeam
AdChoices